1995 Chevrolet Astro Reviews

1995 Chevrolet Astro 4.6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

The Astro kicks butt

Faults:

Rear end went out at 220000.

Steering box is loose.

Rust on hatch is spreading badly.

General Comments:

This van is a monster!! I can pass anybody from the light, I haul a full load of wood at least 10 miles every day, I pull trailers with 2 and 3 snowmobiles, and the truck has no problems. Best vehicle Chevy put out in 1995 I think.

Eats gas, but handles like a dream. I love this truck. I think they should be called trucks, because they certainly are as durable, long lasting and dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2011

1995 Chevrolet Astro 4.6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles

Summary:

Outstanding!

Faults:

Alternator - Replaced 3 years ago.

Tune Up - Done when purchased - Vehicle had sat for a year.

Battery - It is to be expected.

Seats starting to wear - Used as a work van.

Back door gasket leaks - Only real complaint.

General Comments:

I purchased my 1995 Astro Van in 2004 for $900, and I have not regretted it for one mile. This van has been dependable, and has not required very much maintenance.

I replaced the rear shock with air-ride shocks, due to the fact that I was using the van as a work van and had it overloaded.

I am in the process of locating and replacing the rear window gaskets on the Dutch Doors, due to the fact that they have started to leak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2011

1995 Chevrolet Astro 4.6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

Astro kicks ass

Faults:

My astro van has served me well, I have over 240.000 miles on it, and I can still pass everybody on the road, should the need arise :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2010

1995 Chevrolet Astro from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

General Comments:

For those of you with EGR valve problems, I always use Lucas or Amsoil fuel conditioner and don't have these problems with carbon build up. It is also good in general for fuel injectors, pumps, filters and anything else in the fuel system. I also use a K&N air filter as well, and my throttle body has always been clean when I inspected it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2009

1995 Chevrolet Astro V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance435000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

435000 extremely hard miles, replaced the engine and transmission at 220000. Literally drove it into the ground.

2nd transmission went at 435000. We donated it to the vocational school late last year, they rebuilt the tranny and sold it for 1500.00.

I still see it around town about 2-3 times a month.

It will not die.

Mechanical failures: power steering pump; bearing in the alternator, fixed it for less than a dollar; front brake rotors 4 times, turned rotors every time I replaced the pads; one power window motor, one switch for same; replaced the side door, that was my fault I broke the latching mechanism.

General Comments:

I drove it into the ground and it kept on going.

I changed the oil every 3000 like clockwork.

I have another one now with over 120000 miles on it, and it keeps rolling along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2009

1995 Chevrolet Astro LT 4.3L Vortec V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.3L Vortec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

High maintenance

Faults:

Fuel pump failed at 170,000. Replaced with original OEM pump and sending unit.

Alternator failed at 171,000.

Water pump failed at 173,500.

Fuse-able link behind battery that feeds all electrical parts inside of van shorted out, leading to a nightmare job of diagnosing what was wrong (should have been a recall by GM as it's a fire hazard) - 177,000.

Fuel pump failed at 184,000. Replaced fuel pump, again.

Fuel pump relays failed at 186,000. Replaced both.

Plastic fuel lines leading into injector assembly leaked at 185,000, causing a flooding condition. While working under the intake manifold, I realized the fuel pressure regulator was leaking. Replaced both the cheap plastic fuel lines and fuel pressure regulator.

Usual power windows and power locks don't work.

The above does not include standard maintenance such as oil changes, terrible spark plug changes, etc.

General Comments:

High maintenance vehicle, however I do admire the rock solid drive train and reliable 4.3L Vortec. I say high maintenance because many of the issues I have are also experienced by other Astro owners.

If it wasn't for the issues with fuel delivery, I would rate this van much higher. However, for the average Joe having to replace 2 fuel pumps within 2 years is unacceptable, considering a shop would charge about $700.00 bucks for each pump replacement.

Comfy seats!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2009

13th Mar 2011, 20:47

My opinion is a very good car. I have replace the fuel pump, fuel lines and fuel injector (Spyder) once.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews