2002 Chevrolet Avalanche K1500 5.3L V8 from North America


Great if you need the power and space, but a GAS HOG!!


Driver door power window motor failed at 35,000 miles.

Driving light had wiring problem and was replaced at 35,000 miles.

Windshield washer pump motor failed somewhere between 44,000 and 67,000 miles.

General Comments:

The Avalanche is about 85% Suburban. It has great power and a smooth, "un-truck-like" ride. But unless you need the hauling power and comfortable seating for five or six people, I would stay away from this vehicle. But if you need the above features, this is a great truck/SUV combo.

I bought this truck when I had a wife and five kids and now that I am divorced with only two kids living with me, it is WAY TOO MUCH vehicle.

It's too long to fit in a standard garage without leaving more than a couple of inches up front and at the garage door. The mileage, averaging only about 14 mpg, is atrociously low. It's wide and long and difficult to park in most parking spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

15th Jun 2004, 15:30

Complaining about the gas mileage? Well what did ya expect with something that weighs over 2 tons. I don't know why GM doesn't use their diesel engine in something other than a truck.

7th Aug 2004, 15:20

I have a 2002 Avalanche and can't think of a better vehicle to own. I get approximately 17mpg and I drive a mix of city/highway.. It is smooth, comfortable, roomy, and definitely changeable to my differing needs. I have a wife and 3 boys, and it is awesome. My last vehicle was a 1994 Suburban which was getting about 12 mpg with 225,000 miles on it, so anything was an improvement, but this is incredible. We like it so much my wife wants one also.

16th Jun 2005, 11:46

We are the owner's of a 2002 Avalanche 4x4.

We love everything about it, hauling grain, camping, long trip's,14 city,18 to 19 highway.

We have had only one problem. The transfer case control mod had to be replaced at 65000.

The only reason we will not buy another Avalanche is due to the fact that a goose neck trailer will not tow due to the short box.

Other than that we love everything about our's.

3rd Feb 2007, 21:51

I have a 2004 Avalanche 1500. Love the truck. I am just wondering where these folks live that they are getting 18-19 MPG on the highway. I get 14.5 tops. Now haveing said that, the truck actually weighs over 2 tons so one should expect that it would consume more fuel. I took a trip from the Washington, DC area to Orlando and on average, I got the advertised 14.5 MPG on the trip.

1st Nov 2007, 13:54

I had a '03 and I fell in-love with it, a year later I went through middle age crisis, lol, and traded her in for a '04 converitable, it took me another year to realized my wife and 3 preteen children all don't fit in my convertible, and I needed a truck so bad to haul stuff to the dump stuff, so went back and traded the convertible for '05 Avalanche', I loved it so much I shipped it to Maui, now she has been all over this island, even places where only a few has gone before. So far I just hit the 30k mark so haven't notice any problems yet, knocking on woods, so all and all so far for me... I am a CHEVYMAN...

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Z66 5.3 liter from North America


As a truck its great; as a SUV its better


The plastic cladding pulled away from the side, albeit you had to look very closely to tell. Dealer immediately ordered replacement part; fixed at no cost to me.

General Comments:

The Avalanche is an excellent all-purpose vehicle. I can configure it to do just about anything I want. It hauls 5 very comfortably; I can use it for weekend hauling chores; I can haul over-sized objects with minimal conversion effort. I added the Bedslide, which increases the vehicle's utility exponentially. Although most reviews claim lower gas mileage, I average 16.5 and over 20 on highway trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2004

4th Jul 2005, 17:18

Based on your review and title, it appears that you give kudo's to the truck yet you give it a negative rating. If plastic cladding gives a truck a bad rating, how would anyone rate a Dodge or Ford which have numerous mechanical failures???

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Z66 305 V8 from North America


Expensive, but worth every penny



General Comments:

I love the way this truck looks.

The 4 doors come in handy and there is plenty of room in the back seat for 2 big passengers or 3 regular sized people.

This vehicle handles well and is surprisingly quiet.

The leather seats are fantastic. These seats are all electric and are amazingly adjustable. They even come with their own heater built into the seat.

I can't say enough about this truck. I love to drive it and my friends kids go out of their way to get a ride in such an "awesome" truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003