2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500 Z71 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Could have been a great vehicle, but it isn't

Faults:

Leaking water into the carpet from the mid-gate whenever it rains.

General Comments:

This has been the only problem, but a serious one. The harder it rains, the more it leaks. We have even had standing water at one point. The dealership has had to seal the mid-gate and other areas they "think" the leak is coming from as well as replace the carpet under the front seats three times. They claim they are battling the manufacturing of the vehicle and can't fix it. We have contacted Chevy about this and have not received a call back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

13th Sep 2005, 07:39

This summer I bought a 2002 Z71 1500 and love it. After driving it for one month, I noticed the front end shook when I hit 65-70 on the highway. I took it back to the dealer and they replaced a ball joint, a couple brake calipers, brake pads, and re-balnced the tires. It rides like new now!!

6th Jan 2009, 20:46

I have the same problem as another post with my 2002 Avalanche; at 70 mph the truck shakes, not at 69 or 71. I thought this was the weirdest thing. Now I know it's not an isolated incident. Taking the truck in this week for a tune-up, we'll see what they say.

The truck has over 100k miles on it and has been the best vehicle, I am very happy with it. We commute in it 34 miles one way every day. It seems maintenance work is cheaper on this Chevy than on my Honda van, and that has me loving the Avalanche even more!

21st Apr 2011, 10:07

I am on my way to buy a Chevy 2002 Avalanche Z71 for 7000.00$Can and I don't know if I am doing a good thing because I am more into the Ford 150 truck. Can you tell me if its a good move? Is there anything I should know about this vehicle?

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500 Z71 4x4 5.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Awesome, Versatile Ride That Stomps The Competition

Faults:

Warranty items under 36k:

Radio lights failed.

Front axle leak.

Driver seat headrest.

Loose headlight.

Under-hood light.

Fog lights.

Non-warranty items over 36k:

None.

General Comments:

I don't see a problem with the fuel economy; we get 18-22 MPG highway, and 16-18 city, and this is a huge three ton vehicle! Compare that to those smaller Asian SUVs!

This has been a very low-maintenance vehicle to own, and my local GM dealer is very trustworthy for service.

I believe the GM full-size truck platform is the best, easier to maintain/repair, and to go smaller is penny wise and pound foolish for the sake of 2MPG.

Very smooth and pleasing to drive, and safe.

NOT FOR SALE! EVER!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche Z-71 5.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Great vehicle, but expensive to operate with gas prices today

Faults:

New tires needed at 35,000 miles. Lousy wear.

Steel belts were protruding from three of the tires.

Spare tire was two sizes smaller than those on vehicle.

General Comments:

Great ride, especially on Freeway.

Bad design on the center console as anything left on it in even a slight turn will be on the floor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

6th Sep 2004, 18:36

Chevy's are trucks, not tires. Replace the cheap Generals with Goodyear or Michelin and you will love your AV again.

3rd Jun 2014, 20:27

Odd that your spare was a different size on the 2002. I suspect your vehicle was either bought used or someone switched the tire on you. The dealer or someone switched the glass rear "gate" on me. It was cracked in the corner, but unlike the rest of the vehicle, the glass was heavily tinted. The dealer gave me another.

I bought mine new and still have the original spare, and it is the same size. It is hell on tires, and I am about to buy another set here in 2014. Only have about 103,000 miles, but haven't driven it much in last couple of years.

The 4-wheel drive has been out, but so far no problem on the 2-wheel drive. I am not sure I need to spend the bucks on fixing the 4x4 feature.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews