2009 Chevrolet Aveo LT 1.6 gasoline from North America

Summary:

A great car as a daily driver!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car... we love it.

General Comments:

This is my second Aveo we have purchased for the family. These cars are extremely fuel efficient and are inexpensive compared to other sub compact cars. This car offers great incentives through your local dealer. We purchased a brand new LT2 Aveo 5 hatchback with all options except sunroof for 12995 before tax, lic. reg. The car even has leatherette surfaces and it looks nothing like an economy car. It handles well and easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2009

24th Dec 2009, 01:28

Is this a review from an owner or an ad from a dealer?

24th Dec 2009, 15:19

You must have never kept any of your Aveo's past 40,000 miles, the point at which nearly all Aveo's snap their timing belts and ruin their engines.

16th Feb 2010, 19:41

I am the original writer of this article. No I do not work for a dealership. and both cars have been excellent. No problems whatsoever. One has 14K and the other 4K...so we will just wait and see. I will keep everyone updated... as of now NO PROBLEMS.. KNOCK ON WOOD LOL.

25th Jan 2011, 10:55

Having a terrible time with our new 2011 Aveo while driving on the slick highways here in Michigan. Have seen comments about snow tires, but the roads aren't snowy, they're icy. Am thinking about a couple of 50 pound bags of salt in the trunk to weigh the car down for the winter, lest I end up in a ditch.

What do you think?

25th Jan 2011, 18:06

Everyone will suggest winter tires. They're supposed to help on ice, too. I can't afford them, so I'm stuck with all season. I get by with adjusting my driving style. I'm unconvinced that winter tires are the ultimate solution to winter driving. It seems that's all you hear lately. I drive a really small car, a Toyota Echo.

26th Jan 2011, 18:08

Considering the Aveo is front-wheel drive, I think putting that much weight over the rear wheels would be the absolute worst thing you could do. Not only are you taking weight off of the drive wheels (which is just going to make you get stuck even easier), but you're also taking weight of the steering wheels. You're guaranteed to end up in the ditch if you put sandbags in the trunk.

4th Jul 2011, 03:30

Original poster here. We still have both Aveo 5s. One has 35k, and the other had 11k. None had any work done, just basic maintenance. Still running strong! Thinking of trading in for a 2012 Sonic.

11th May 2013, 17:32

Original owner here... still own both Aveos. One has 65k and another 25k. Both run well, one had the A/C stop working, but was fixed under warranty. No issues yet.

18th Nov 2014, 03:45

2009 Aveo.

Sorry, 108,000 miles with no snapped timing belt.

Sorry to rain on your parade.

2009 Chevrolet Aveo LS hatchback 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Material form of everything good in the auto industry!

Faults:

The only problem I have had is that the driver's door is a little fickle. After getting snow tires, the door took a little more effort to close. Not a big deal. It may have been caused by the cold (~5 degrees).

Shifting is a little annoying. Instead of shifting into reverse like on my previous vehicle (Nissan D21 pickup), you have to lift a small piece on the shifter and move it to the upper left area of the pattern.

Lights were set too high and I've been flashed constantly (trying to fix that problem now).

The fuel efficient engine takes a long time to heat up. It takes at least 10 minutes to actually get warm air to come out the vents.

General Comments:

The handling is extremely great. It maneuvers almost like a go-kart, and because of its small size, has very little inertia to overcome.

Visibility is perfect. That's right; perfect. I've driven a Camry, Nissan D21, Prius, Trailblazer, and Corolla, and this has the best visibility possible. You honestly have to try to back into something.

The manual transmission is plain idiot proof. Shifting is smooth without burning out the clutch, and it's relatively easy to get to the speed limit (and a little above).

Leg room is more than adequate.

Even without ABS, this car can handle snow and ice like no other. Camry can't touch this thing on snow. Prius? Prius traction control leaves it a sitting duck for skidding motorists.

Sound system is very good (and even comes with an aux input)

Ecotec engine can run in a higher gear at low speeds than any other car. if you're going 25 mph in 4th gear, a light will tell you to up-shift, and the car will still keep running smooth.

Beautiful color scheme on the inside.

Awesome gas mileage. The 11 gallon tank can get me far further than the 18.5 gallon tank on the Camry or D21.

Dome light is powerful. Finally a dome light that actually illuminates something.

Korean. Too bad such a great car has to be stained with a golden bow-tie.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2009

10th Dec 2009, 16:02

If you prefer a Korean car over a Chevy model with a bow-tie that "stains" it, Why'd you go to a Chevrolet dealer to buy from in the first place and not KIA or Hyundai?

10th Dec 2009, 18:16

25 mph and you can shift into fifth gear? The overall gearing must be ridiculously low. Try gunning it at highway speeds and you'll hear the motor incessantly.

14th Dec 2009, 16:06

Gearing is not actually that low. On a Corolla, the engine usually is around 3300 rpms at 70mph. On a Camry, it is around 2900 at 70. With this car, the rpms are about 3100 at 70. The Aveo is able to stay stable at very low rpms, but obviously lacks power (in fifth, going from 25 to 30 takes a while).

I'm not completely certain, but the variable valve timing in the engine might have something to do with its ability to run at a lower engine speeds.

Reason why I have this car instead of a Hyundai or Kia is because of GM credits of some sort (family member bought it). This is one example (Prism is another) where an American company sells a car in its name, but didn't actually make the car.

15th Dec 2009, 11:34

"Korean. Too bad such a great car has to be stained with a golden bow-tie."

Some might say "Too bad Chevy has to go to Korea in order to market an inexpensive car."

Me, I would take a 1957 Chevy over an Aveo any day - just as long as it wasn't my daily driver, of course! :)