1992 Chevrolet Beretta GT 3.1L V6 from North America


Don't hesitate - buy it!!!


At 86100 miles the main power steering hose blew up and I couldn't steer at all for a while.

Had to change brakes.

Had to change a rim (it was bent up - so it leaked air)

Other than changing the fluids under the hood (and flushing some system) I haven't had any other problems at all.

General Comments:

I love my car. I am Junior in high school and this is my first car taht I bought for myself. These cars have been my favorite cars for a long time. My '92 GT is a really fast car. It acceleratas really fast and the engine sounds outstanding. The engine design is very neat. The only bad design is that the angle of steering isn't big enough for the front wheels. The inside is very comfortable. Very roomy and accommodating. I highly recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Beretta GT 3.1 V6 from North America


It's definitely a great car for not being an all-out sports car


Power steering line.

Exhaust system... mainly to upgrade, original was still OK.

Normal maintenance - oil, brakes, transmission fluid and filter.

General Comments:

I bought this Beretta GT from a friend who "needed" to get rid of it to get a 1992 VW Corrado...

The paint is good, exterior is still like new, and he had a new (60,000miles) 3.1L V6 at 170,000 miles.

Ut runs great, handles great, still looks almost new (the paint on the rims is starting to fade a little), and this is the part you wouldn't believe... $800!!! I still currently own and drive a 1986 Camaro IROC-Z, it's not as fast, but for the performance, gas mileage, and looks, I would have easily bought it for $1800... I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.1 multi-port fuel injection from North America


These are great cars for getting around town, good performance, and handling


Various radiator hoses have sprung leaks, and needed replacing.

Crank sensor went bad, resulting in a no start.

Lower passenger side engine mount broke.

General Comments:

Although the problems I listed may seem bad or unreliable, I really think this car is a great buy for the money. It is 10 years old, and one can only guess how the previous owner took care of it.

My car is in very good condition, I haven't experiences some of the problems that other Beretta owners have IE: seat wear (mine still look new), falling headliner, or fading paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

26th May 2004, 05:15

I have a 1990 Beretta 3.1 with a bad crank sensor, When I went to replace it, I broke it off about an 1/8" off inside the motor, any ideas on how to get it out? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you,


1992 Chevrolet Beretta GT 3.1L V6 from North America


A reliable, decent, zippy, surprise for your money


My coolant hoses went one by one, but that's my fault for not replacing them all when the first one went.

I have been trying to figure out why the "low coolant" indicator keeps coming on even though I am losing no coolant.

General Comments:

As the owner of two Corvettes I was mightily surprised by the Beretta. Don't get me wrong, it's no corvette, but it is quick, responsive and well powered for it's size and weight.

I was expecting a family car that slogged it's way through traffic. It manages pretty well on the highway and in traffic.

I paid $3,000 for it used. I consider it a steal. Were Chevy to resurrect this model I would give it a serious look. I think Chevy doesn't realize that this model is "the one that got away."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

7th Sep 2004, 23:37

You should try getting a new raidator cap that might do the trick, my aunt bought my old beretta and it was doing the same thing so far that has worked. Also when I owned the car it did the same thing and we replaced a fan relay sensor. hope that helps.

1992 Chevrolet Beretta GTZ 2.3 HO Quad 4 from North America


This car excels in styling, performance, and safety


The car's ABS light came on while driving and the ABS activated during most stops. A simple and very quick cleaning of the sensors solved this problem, which has not recurred. I bet a lot of people pay for sensor replacement if taken to the shop. But 9 times out of 10 I bet it is just these sensors getting dirty.

Also put had a new Cat, muffler, and oxygen sensor put on for $150.

General Comments:

I picked up this car for $3000 from a car lot. I must say this is a lot of car for that kind of money. Being that the exterior and interior are perfect I would have no problems paying for a new engine if I had too. ABS and a Driver's Air Bag are standard on these cars from '92 up. So you take those items, a great looking car that includes ground effects, tail spoiler, and matching painted 16 inch wheels. (All standard on GTZ). A great looking interior complete with racing seats, power windows, locks, cruise, AC, sunroof, split folding rear seats... (most of these are standard on GTZ). And under the hood you get a Brute of a 4 cylinder engine. The Quad 4 motor doesn't seem to match the car well, being that the interior and exterior look so civilized. The Quad 4 is great for normal city driving, but get on it and it creates quite a racaous. But you are rewarded with generous pull well past 6000 rpms. Also, use premium fuel and high performance spark plugs and expect to get 30+ MPG. The V6 GTZ is much more somber in its delivery. It is very capable, but there are of course trade offs. The v6 is not available with a 5-speed, which is a big negative for anyone looking for a performance oriented ride. Also the V6 has considerably lower fuel economy numbers. Last thing I will mention is the suspension. Which is quite stiff. It should please anyone looking for some performance in the corners. It has no problems holding the road.

In conclusion, I feel this is a great car for a younger person because it excels in styling, performance, and safety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

31st Oct 2002, 20:47

This review is incorrect. The V6 did, in fact, come with a 5-speed option.

21st Feb 2003, 16:43

No, you're incorrect, the GTZ NEVER came with a 5 speed 3.1L engine.

Check out beretta.net if you don't believe me.

31st Dec 2004, 16:21

The Beretta GTZ did in-fact come with a 5-speed transmission, with the 3.1L V-6 engine.

8th Mar 2005, 02:14

Actually, the v6 GTZ's absolutely did not have the 5 speed option. The author of the review is correct. I run a Beretta oriented website, and I can most assuredly say there was no 5 speed v6 GTZ, not from the factory anyways. There have however been owners who have performed manual transmission swaps.

31st Jan 2006, 19:20

No you are incorrect. the GTZ never came with a 3.1 5-speed, but the GT's did.

19th May 2006, 22:42

I am a longtime beretta enthusiast. Anyone who says the 3.1 gtz's came with 5 speeds are fighting a losing argument.

29th May 2006, 21:19

No V6 5 speed GTZ. No auto GTZ with quad four. Only a 3.1 with auto in GTZ form. But the GT is a different story. We have a 1990 Beretta 3.1 5 speed GT.

5th Jun 2007, 04:00

Who cares Beretta's are lame. Mine pretty much fell apart.

27th Jan 2009, 22:59

As an owner of a 1991 V6 GTZ back in the day, I am with the group that goes with saying there was never a 5spd option with the V6. I know for sure in 90 and 91 as I have the original brochure books for both years. If you doubt those of us standing by that, just go pick up a repair manual at the library or simply go to a dealer. You'll see the GTZ never came with a 5spd mated to the V6. If you still doubt then go show us proof.