1989 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1989 Chevrolet Blazer s10 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

It runs

Faults:

Firstly, the radiator. several oil leaks needs new engine this one tiredand needs a new one. overall a good little truck.

General Comments:

I love this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Blazer S-10 4.3 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

A good daily driver and 4x4

Faults:

My fuel pump stopped around 167,000 miles.

The distributor and coil had to be replaced at 180,000 miles.

I've had problems shifting in and out of four wheel drive.

The engine leaks oil real bad from all over.

General Comments:

The truck has many miles on it, so things are going to go wrong with it.

There should have been more room in the engine compartment for work to be done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Blazer Tahoe Edition 2.8L F/I from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L F/I Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired142456 miles
Most recent distance144569 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Good everyday driving car

Faults:

It needed all of the following replaced:

Alternator.

Power steering.

Exhaust.

Throttle body.

Injectors.

Blower motor.

Belt.

Oil pan.

Rear main engine seal.

Rear right wheel (bent).

Rear window lift arms.

Routine maintenance:

Plugs.

Wires.

Distributor.

Rotor.

General Comments:

Not bad, fun to drive, but a bit expensive to keep it running OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Blazer Tahoe 2 Door 2WD 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

14 years old and still kicking!!

Faults:

Steering had to be fixed ($8)

Steering wheel column bolt replaced (??)

Power lock had to be replaced ($5)

Glove box had to be replaced ($25)

Window gear replaced (??)

Tires need rotation/replacement still.

General Comments:

I bought this truck to replace my 1992 Plymouth Laser (that I destroyed on Halloween night...). I payed $1,500, figuring that it would last a year or so. It was a little beat up, but the roof liner and the windshield were replaced by the dealership for free.

The only true problem was the steering going out. Part of the steering was about gone, if it wasn't replaced I would have completely lost steering while driving. That was a total of $8 and 20 minutes.

The rest of the problems are due to previous owners neglect. This truck seriously kicks some butt. Better acceleration than my POS car had, plenty of room for my dual subs, and a little seat modification allowed me to put my 4-way and mono amps on the back of my front seats (they can't be seen at all, and heat is no problem). I was planning on purchasing a newer Blazer (or possibly a Tahoe), but I might keep this one for a while. All it needs is a new paint job and some nice big FAT tires. I hope Chevy lives up to the reputation they have created. It would suck to drive by a broken down 2003 in 10 years with my 1989 Blazer :P.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Blazer S-10 4 x 4 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

Fun and cheap

Faults:

Broken door handles fixed.

Distributer cap fixed.

A/C broke.

Vents broke.

Steering coulomb rebuilt.

General Comments:

Great first car fun.

I use it to off road when Bord and is lots of fun.

High centered 3 times and nothing hapned.

Done really crazy stuff.

Easy to learn a clutch on.

Holds its own on the road whether dirt or paved.

And great to put a sound system in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

1989 Chevrolet Blazer s10 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance190003 miles

Summary:

Great bargain 4x4 SUV

Faults:

Air conditioning sensor.

Fan blower motor.

Headliner.

Transmission rebuild at 189,000.

Thermostat.

Ignition coil.

Distributor.

Door handles.

Cruise control out.

General Comments:

Even though my Blazer has been through a number of repairs now, I still recommend the vehicle. It still gets 21 mpg which is the original EPA estimate and is much better than many similar type vehicles (like a Honda Passport) on cruising on the freeway.

The 4.3 liter S10 Blazer is an excellent bargain 4X4 SUV for those of us who can't afford more than 5,000 dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

3rd Jan 2003, 22:43

Hey whats up I also own a 1989 blazer it's an awesome truck and my first one also. my blower mower and heater core broke, but was an easy project to replace. I love this truck the 4 wheeler drive and the 4.3 engine runs just as strong as the 350 rocket engine I got in my car. I won't trade this truck for nothing in the world.

16th Jan 2003, 09:43

Blazer's are one of my favorite vehicles. I own a 1989 S-10 truck (since brand new) and it is still going strong after 198000 miles. I am in the market to get an older Blazer (1991-94 4 door 4x4) and reading these comments is very helpful. I have always wanted a Blazer and I'm this much closer to getting one. Keep on trucking. Like a rock. - Jim in So Calif.

8th Dec 2005, 11:21

I bought a 1991 S10 Blazer 4x4 in 1994 and it now has 244,000 miles on it. Original engine, transmission, and only misc repairs (alternator, water pump, etc) I highly recommend this make/year. I hope my keeps going...b/c I will miss it if it when it stops!

20th Jan 2006, 22:13

I also have a 89 S10 Blazer 4X4 2 door. I raised the torsion bars up 2 inches, and put a 2 inch shackle lift on the back. I also put a set of 33 inch Super Swampers on it.

I have had a few problems out of it. I replaced the front left CV shaft and wheel bearing. I just recently blew the 300,000 mile 4.3 up, and am thinking about putting a 350 TBI in it.

Overall it's the best truck around.

To see pictures, check out www.cardomain.com member ID muddyblazeron33s.

21st May 2006, 19:31

I had a 1991 2dr 4X4 blazer I loved it. It had the 4.3 with 198k miles on it. It ran great. But the only bad thing was the rust on it. It basically rotted away on me, so I had to junk it.

18th Jan 2007, 07:42

I own a 1989 s10 2dr. 2wd. It is an awsome truck, but will be replacing the motor on 1/20/2007. Does any one have any comments to help out?

1989 Chevrolet Blazer S10 Tahoe 4.3L 4x4 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3L 4x4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

The best deal on wheels!

Faults:

One Problem I have encountered is a little bit of rust underneath the tailgate. Other than that, the truck is flawless.

General Comments:

This truck is my first truck and I would not mind if it's the last. I simply love it's dependablity.

The truck will not die. It presently has racked up 167,000 miles and shows no signs of quitting. I bought it for a mere $2,000 thinking it was going to be a lemon, but it turned out to be the best deal I ever came across. I have had it for about half a year and have had to put no money into it, other than gas.

The back-seats are more comfortable then my sofa, friends often call "Shotgun" for the back-seats because of this. The bucket seats in the front of the truck are also very comfortable.

It gets pretty good gas mileage, about 17 miles per gallon. The trucks 4x4 is awesome. I take it on the beach all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

1989 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

A good solid piece of American metal

Faults:

The starter has been replaced once, other than that just regular maintenance has been performed.

General Comments:

I have not found a force strong enough to stop my 89 S-10 Blazer. With my truck I have taken out a Maxima and an E-350. As well as concrete walls, livestock, 6 inch curbs, and much more, with no more than a few scratches on the bumpers. Short of driving off a cliff I don't think I can hurt this thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews