1997 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 3 of 24

1997 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 V6 Vortec from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Vortec Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Horrible

Faults:

My ball joints are a never ending fix.

My heater motor stopped working.

Rivets broke off driver door window motor.

Starter cracked.

Flywheel worn down.

Rattle in the front.

Good in snow ha.

General Comments:

The car is unusually comfortable, but I think the reason they put such great seats is because everything else is crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2009

1997 Chevrolet Blazer from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Worst choice I made buying a vehicle

Faults:

Just bought my Blazer 2 weeks ago. 2 days after I bought it, I noticed something leaking on my driveway, so I bring it to the dealership I bought it at, and it is missing a gasket cover. Had that put on, and then yesterday... on my way to the grocery store with my children, my 97 Blazer I just bought started making a howling noise and I smelled something burning. I pulled over to see what the smell was and walked around to find the problem... Well I saw smoke coming from underneath in the back. Now it is back at the dealership.

Also my ABS brake light comes on all the time, I have a floater needle for my gas gauge! It goes up and down every few minutes while I'm driving. The radio/CD player turns off when I brake.

I have never had so many problems with a vehicle ever!! I do not recommend anyone buy one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2009

7th Sep 2009, 07:36

The car is 12 years old with 116K on it, you can't complain about it when you buy a car that old and with high mileage. Buy a new one, and if you get the same problems, then you can complain.

26th Oct 2009, 07:22

My 1997 Chev Blazer is Fun, Fun, Fun, and more Fun.

I bought it used, fixed up, used and fixed up some more. I cannot go much faster than 60 mph and it uses a lot of gas, but it brings back memories of my AMC Eagle, the little monster that lets you make your own road anywhere you go.

My Blazer is old and used, but it gets me where I have to go (eventually). It keeps me warm in winter and cool in summer - I love it. It is my "better than nothing car." So when I get another 5 grand saved up, my next vehicle, yep you guessed it, will probably be another Blazer.

26th Oct 2009, 07:32

Couldn't agree more, come on geez, 1997 that is like buying an antique already. I bought mine for a little over 3 thousand, I know it was a little more than I wanted to pay, but it has been faithful to me for the past four years, no problems. Keep it well oiled, take it every six months to a Quick Stop or Jiffy Lube. If you take of your automobile, it will take care of you.

Make sure you've got antifreeze for the winter and drained in the summer, i.e., the people at the maintenance shops go out of their way to help you keep your auto on the road. It isn't rocket science. What does a '97 cost these days - 2 to 3 thousand?? Sounds like you usually get what you pay for, sometimes you get more for you $ and sometimes less depending on how the previous owners took care of the auto before you bought it.

I love my Blazer, I make my own trails everywhere I go, and since I live in the country, over and up mountains, it works for me, my dogs and my friends.

27th Oct 2009, 10:18

I am in the camp that believes you really cannot complain about the reliability of a 12 year old car with over 100,000 miles on it.

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 gas from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChevrolet TrailBlazer

Summary:

Overall not a bad vehicle. Great off-road & in snow

Faults:

Fuel pump, A/C compressor, heater core, piston slap, engine codes.

Most of these problems were right after we bought it. It has been pretty much trouble free in the last 32,000 miles.

General Comments:

The engines are lacking power.

Good gas mileage, comfortable, good looks, great off-road vehicle, & tough.

Drives & handles good.

Good room interior.

Auto transmissions need aftermarket coolers if you want max performance out of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2009

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 89 reviews