2002 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

American reliability!

Faults:

Fuel Injectors plugged up last year at 20000 miles.

General Comments:

I have driven other GM cars and trucks, and by far, this one has been the most reliable of all of them! Not one single defect, and everything still runs nicely.

When the fuel injectors got plugged up (fuel economy went from 20mpg highway to 15mpg), the dealer put in some cleaners, which are available at any parts store. Not one single part in this truck has gone bad, nor is anything going bad.

It is a 2-door LS, with no power door locks or power windows, and 2WD. I've hauled things from the store in it, I've carpooled with 4 others (it only holds 4 - driver + 3 others) comfortably, I've taken family dog to vet, and it has also gone to a family reunion in North Carolina.

The engine is strong and quick, does not miss a beat. Brakes are strong, and will stop it in an instant! All in all, this was a dream to use!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

2002 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

Doesn't fit the SUV stereotype

Faults:

When I make a left turn, the car makes a loud popping noise. I've seen that some other people have the same problem, what is it?

The left passenger door won't open from the outside.

The car has trouble starting sometimes, I'll turn the key and it won't do anything. The lights will be on though, so I know the battery isn't dead, and there's always enough gas. It just waits until it's ready to start.

The front passenger window makes loud popping noises and jiggles some when it goes up or down.

The exterior also seems to be falling apart quiet fast for a 2002.

General Comments:

This car is slow when accelerating. And things keep popping up.

For an SUV I think it gets good gas mileage though, but has a lot or outside noise. Does anybody else have the problems I'm having?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 07:21

Yes, I have had the same problem with it falling apart. The driver side door on my 4-door Blazer literally feel off about a year after I bought it. It was missing the bolt in the door to hold it on.

10th Mar 2005, 18:11

Check the power window motor in the door. Mine made popping noises before it spun and broke the rivets holding it on.

1/4" or 5/16" bolts will do the trick, but use short ones.

25th Nov 2006, 08:17

The popping noise when you turn is probably a CV joint. You want to get that fixed!!

24th Sep 2008, 21:15

It's only a CV joint if it's a 4x4 model. Mine is 2wd and has that noise from the front end. I was told it's the ball joints, but I'm too cheap to fix it.

As far as it not starting, the dealer told me it's the park/neutral safety switch. The car thinks it's in gear because of the bad design of the switch; shift it into gear and back into Park, then try starting it. If that works, you just have to live with it.

I have had the switch replaced three times. First time I paid, other two were done under what they called "parts warranty" and it was free. They told me it's normal and to deal with it.

Other than that no problems. Have 70K on it now. I'll drive it till it explodes.

2002 Chevrolet Blazer from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance16789 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

Gas gage doesn't work properly after it's under half a tank. I'm never really sure how much gas I have left. The dealership has worked on it twice, but it's still not working. I just keep track of the miles now.

The brakes were not adjusted properly when I first got the vehicle, but the dealership fixed that problem.

General Comments:

I really love my Blazer. I've seen a lot of complaints on here about the Blazer so I feel pretty blessed to have had a good experience with it. It's a comfortable ride and I've really enjoyed it. I do want to move up to a bigger vehicle though when my lease is up. I have the two door and after having a Jeep with four doors it's been hard to adjust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

17th Jul 2004, 09:15

Have a 2000 blazer. Sure there are a few problems that occur, but everything at one time or another need maintenance. I either downloaded specs or had friends help me with brakes, alternator, gages and just about anything I needed to fix my truck. Though with the engine or trans, I will not do that, but I have 130k on my 2000 and they seem to be fine.

28th Oct 2004, 17:12

I have a 2001 Chevy Blazer w/51000 miles. I live in the country and have had to replace the original battery and some recall work on the signal lights and a hood squeak. I have driven from Texas to Florida to Oklahoma and have no complaints for what I put it through on a daily basis. Good vehicle. If you listen it will tell you what is wrong.

2002 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A dependable family SUV

Faults:

Nothing. The vehicle was bought new.

General Comments:

Dependable all around SUV.

Good gas mileage considering it's a 4wd. (About 20 mpg on the highway)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2002 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance50 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Overpriced for equipment specs

Faults:

Gets bad gas mileage at 15-20 mpg.

Headlights are not as strong as its competitors.

ZR2 suspension is a bumpy ride, but worth it in the snow when it is fun to drive.

General Comments:

This SUV can tackle most duties.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 17 reviews