1996 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America - Comments

9th Aug 2002, 10:49

I guess I better hold my tongue on what I think of the owner.

First off, replacing parts without even knowing if they were the problem?? Costly, of course! Why didn't he just buy a scanner to SEE what the problem is.

New tires after 6K miles? $25 pep boys tires don't wear out that fast.

This was a new vehicle, and there was no warranty?? I can do all my own work should I care too, but on a new vehicle am I gonna waste more time and money doing my OWN repairs? I think not! CD player, ABS light, 1500 mile brakes, none of that taken to the dealer for a fix?

Conclusion: Owner is unique, if unique means drives vehicle hard, isn't competent enough to do own work on vehicle, and cannot be trusted in any way, shape, or form to write an accurate, fair, vehicle review that is actually indicative of how well a vehicle is built. Any sane, rational person would have had the problems fixed by a dealer, not just ignored them.

Tell tale sign of an incompetent mechanic (whether backyard or professional) is someone that throws parts and money at a problem, instead of knowing how, or taking the time to accurately diagnose the problem. That is who wrote this review.

9th Aug 2002, 15:08

I can't believe you put that much into the car right off the bat... especially when things started going wrong with it just hundreds of miles into the ownership. Ever hear of a thing called a warranty?? That's why you get them, and if you bought it without one then I don't feel bad for you at all!! Two years ago I bought a 93 Shadow and it even came with a warranty because these things happen sometimes. Good luck with the Nissen, they're great cars and all till something goes wrong with them. Expensive parts for the import cars. There's NOTHING wrong with Chevy products, you just happened to get a bad one that you foolishly kept and dumped money into. Both the car dealership and garage are laughing all the way to the bank with you.

23rd Aug 2002, 13:30

I have a 1996 Blazer LS 4x4. I bought it used with 37,000 miles on it and I have never had a problem with the Blazer. I have put 46,000 miles on it since I had it and I have not had to buy the first thing for it. I think that the owners of the Blazer just were hard on it. If You Play You Pay.

9th Sep 2002, 02:36

I feel for the owner. Owning a 98 4x4 Blazer, I can attest to the fact that neither Chevrolet or GM will stand behind this vehicle. From the issues with Dex-cool sludge (which they admit to being a unique problem with this vehicle, but won't repair) to the Check Engine light staying on with codes that aren't in the GM diagnostic book, to the interior falling apart, this vehicle is a lemon. Best of luck trying to dump it on some other sucker.

18th May 2003, 16:47

It's pretty obvious that the owner is pretty incompetent. I own a Blazer and have not had any problems with it. It almost has 100,000 miles on it. Guess the difference between me and the incompetent owner is that I know how to take care of a car. Ever hear of a recommended maintenance schedule? Some people just shouldn't own cars or voice their opinions.

18th May 2003, 17:59

I'm 47 years old & have owned nothing but chevys all my life. But this is my last. The blazer is a money pit. No one mentioned the 100,000 mile antifreeze. It will blow your engine when it clogs it up. Chevrolet should be ashamed of themselves.

29th Jul 2003, 23:27

Well I have a 1996 Blazer and I have 130,000 on it and I have not replaced anything on it yet. That's right. No major repairs other than regular stuff like oil changes and belts and two Bat. I love my truck. I never get stuck. I even pulled a bus from a ditch in the winter. No leaks and no overhauls. What are you people doing with your Blazers? Drive like crazy man and pay like a crazy man. drive like a mice and you never pay that price.:)

17th Aug 2003, 16:23

I must say the Chevy truck is nice looking and I have had no major problems with it. Except after my warranty was done the electronics for the seat went out thank goodness it went out to where I can reach the pedals. Also I have this annoying squealing every time I turn the truck on. I had the belt changed that's what I was told was the problem and it lasted for about 2 months then the squealing has come back. The check engine light kept coming on and I took it in and they cleaned some sensors, that helped, but then it would come on again. Till finally I figured out it was Wesco gas and so I started using Shells and it has never come on again. Now just recently my rear windshield wiper will not move it just budges a little, but it will not wipe. Oh it's a 96 Chevy blazer I have only had it for 21/2 years. Other than all of this it is very comfortable.

26th Aug 2003, 19:36

1996 Blazer... Had the problems with the check engine light, Alternator, Battery, took 3 yrs for the rattle in doors to go away. AC and of course the brake (front) problems. O Yea, I had the coolant problems too.

Resale value appears to be VERY POOR.

15th Aug 2004, 23:19

My '96 Blazer has over 411,000 kilometers on it (over 250,000 miles) and has been wonderful. And I say that facing a fuel pump replacement this week -- the first time anything in fuel system has been a problem. Yes, I've followed the maintenance recommended and replaced bearings and ball joints, but this puppy just goes and goes and I'll be happy to drive her for another 400,000 kms here in Canada and in the U.S. where she's visited 43 states and driven through every major desert without a whimper. Only other significant replacement is the alternator, and they'll always need replacement some day. If your 'check engine light' comes on, change your gas supplier -- that's what it took for me. The brakes have always been more than reliable even when hauling heavy loads and trailers. Change your oil regularly and wash it at least weekly, especially in the dead cold of winter and you'll be a happy Blazer owner.

15th Oct 2007, 18:43

I recently bought a 1996 blazer LS 4x4. I took it for a test drive and it ran great. it looked in really great shape. A couple of weeks later on a few hour highway trip the engine light came on. The vehicle after that when stopped would shift hard into 2nd gear. On the way home it went out, and then came back on when I was 1/4 mile from home. I have a ODBII code reader which I used and the code said it was a transmission fluid pressure sensor problem. I took it to a very trustworthy transmission shop where I live for them to check it out. They informed me from the start that these Chevy trannies are pretty much crap. The owner has a Z71 pick up that had the same problem. It has 170,000 km's or 100,000 miles on it, but in the condition it was in and the previous owners, I highly doubt it was driven hard or poorly maintained. These trannies are so bad that there are upgrades that you can buy to install to improve the quality of the transmission so it's better than the original. This was recommended instead of buying rebuilt where your getting the same old crap. It wasn't cheap, but here's hoping it'll last long enough to get my money's worth out of it.