1985 Chevrolet C10 Custom Deluxe 350 from North America

Summary:

Black Betty

Faults:

When I first got the truck, the starter was bad.

1 year after buying the truck, I had to replace the alternator and replace the starter again.

The dash lights quit working in 2007.

The oil pressure gauge and fuel gauge quit working earlier this year.

General Comments:

This truck is awesome. It is just a two wheel drive, but I don't care, I love this thing and drive her everyday. I will fix her up someday and have it in brand new condition.

I think this truck looks good with the black exterior and black interior, although it can get pretty hot during summer with no air conditioning.

The truck is the custom deluxe model, so it's pretty basic.

I took the front clip off of my previous truck, which was a 1986 Silverado, because I liked the dual head lamp look. I will be getting a new paint job though, because it looks odd driving around in a black truck with a grey front clip.

All in all, I love this truck, and she is my daily driver, work truck, and my baby all in one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2010

1985 Chevrolet C10 Silverado 5.7 liter V8 from North America

Summary:

An American classic truck that is still truckin'

Faults:

The driver side window motor broke and the window would not go up. It was replaced.

Had to replace A/C pump because the Freon was leaking.

General Comments:

My Grandpa bought this car in 1985, brand new. It was passed down to us when he died. He took really good care of it, so it runs great now. He also bought all the high-end options back in 1985, like the A/C, AM/FM Stereo Radio with cassette, the 8 feet. bed, power windows and locks, chrome bumpers, tilt steering wheel, cruise control, the Quartz clock, all the extra gauges, etc.

It still runs great even with all those miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2010

20th Sep 2011, 16:50

It's up to 204440 miles now!!

24th Jan 2012, 16:36

Now it is over 204,700 miles!!

1985 Chevrolet C10 Full Size Pickup 5.0 305 from North America

Summary:

Awesome, but then there's the gas..

Faults:

First, the back up switch was broken, had to find one of those.

The radiator was shot, the seat has a big tear in it, the dash is cracked, and the windshield is cracked too.

General Comments:

The truck is a 3 speed on the tree, so it's hard to find parts for.

But it was cheap and I love it.

The engine is a beast! Really comfortable seats and a lot of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2006

4th Dec 2006, 07:27

If you knew your trucks, you would know that in 1985 there wasn't a C10 or any type of full size Chevy that has a 3 on the tree, and yours should have the same transmission; then it would be a four on the floor.

29th Apr 2008, 21:40

That's not true.

I have a 85 c10 and it's a three on the tree.

Really "fun" to find parts for it.

4th Nov 2009, 08:50

Dude, I just got this truck, how is it on gas, cause my gauge is reading wrong all the time?

1st Dec 2010, 10:05

Well I just got mine about a month ago, and the LOVE it. IT'S GOT BALLS, but be prepared to watch the gas gauge fly down to E when driving; it gets crap gas mileage.

10th Oct 2011, 16:59

I have a few of these 85 C10s, and they all have 3 on the tree.

12th Jun 2012, 22:01

That is not true, I have an 85 three speed auto on the column!

1985 Chevrolet C10 Custom Deluxe 5.7 350 from North America

Summary:

A bad '85 that gets all the ladies.

Faults:

I blew the stock 302 up, replaced it with a 350.

New paint job. The tailgate decided to rust.

Can't keep enough fuses in it.

Sucks gas beyond belief and burns oil occasionally.

Seats have worn a bit due to wear.

General Comments:

Truck performs well when it wants to.

I've done many modifications to it with no problem.

I like the fact that my 1985 truck can beat out any 2001 truck on the strip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

15th Feb 2011, 15:48

The rite 350 can put out way more than 345 HP.

20th Mar 2012, 00:03

Was reading your page. I've got a 1985 Chevy C10 V8 350. The truck is in fantastic shape. It was in a garage for 12 years or longer. The truck stalls while driving, and stalls at an idle. I can run for a day, then it won't start.

Changed starter, coil, exhaust, battery, plugs, wires, caps, and other electronic parts.

Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing the stalling? Would love to keep it running. It has only 44369 miles on it, with original tires and brakes.

Any help, I would be very grateful.

Thanks, Steve, Connecticut.

25th Jan 2013, 18:01

I put a 350 bored out 30 in mine. I'm pushing a little over 500hp and 650lb of torque. Everything I have in it is after market, meant for the drag strip. It's my daily driver right now, and you know when I'm coming down the street!

19th Apr 2013, 08:25

It sounds like you have covered the basics thoroughly. With the low mileage and the fact it has been sitting in the garage for so long, I would change all of the seals to ensure you don't have a vacuum leak. Next I would check the carburetor and distributor.

Good luck, I love my truck!

15th Feb 2014, 00:35

If your gas tank is still original, put a new one in. It might have rust and water vapor in it. A new fuel pump, filter, new carburetor, and it will run like brand new.

Tony.

1985 Chevrolet C10 Custom Deluxe 305 ci 5.0L from North America

Summary:

It's a money pit

Faults:

Well, the first thing that happened, one week after purchase was the electronic system. The battery cables, alternator and battery went out. Two weeks ago the radiator went out. I am on my second engine, and third carburator, and fourth distributor cap.

General Comments:

When I purchased this truck it had been lowered but no other modifications had been made. The only reason it is fun to drive now is that I have installed a 300 horsepower motor in it. Who ever the engineers at GM were that thought it was a good idea to put a 16 gallon gas tank on a full size truck, well...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

31st Jul 2001, 10:14

Exactly! The water pump needs replacement constantly. The trany needs rebuilding every 50k-80k. Needs lots of other things from time-to-time. Money pit indeed!

19th May 2009, 21:08

True.

29th Oct 2012, 13:14

I couldn't agree with you more about the gas tanks. I have a 1985 C10 (short bed). I'm getting ready to replace the passenger side fuel tank. This truck drinks some gas. I have the 5.0 V8 and I'm getting 7 - 10 MPG. Now that I have discover a 20 gallon tank won't fit on the SWB C10, fixing the other tank is a must. The truck was given to me by an older Uncle, so I can't complain about a free item. It runs like a champ. After I do a full tune up, I'm looking for better results with new E3 spark plugs, wires, cap & rotor, filters, and vacuum lines.

2nd Jun 2013, 13:13

I believe a larger tank from the same year Blazer will bolt up. Just get the mounting straps and hardware off the donor vehicle.