1994 Chevrolet C1500 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1994 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 5.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance285000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

If I could find another with fewer than 70,000 miles on it, I would gladly buy it

Faults:

I had to replace the engine at 175,000 miles, but that was due to a bad water pump, not the engine itself.

The alternator has been replaced on 3 separate occasions.

Transmission rebuilt at 215,000 miles.

Fuel pump replaced at 275,000 miles.

Electrical short somewhere that causes the breaker for the horn, dashboard lights, and taillights to blow. I have replaced that breaker with thermal breaker, but have been unable to find the short.

The ball joint separated from the A frame on the front left tire at 285,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has been a great truck despite all of the things that have been repaired or replaced. You expect these types of repairs out of an eight year old vehicle with almost 300,000 miles.

The comfort of the captains chairs was superior to that of most living room furniture I have owned.

There was plenty of power to spare and more speed than expected from a full size pick-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

1994 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado Ext. Cab V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

An Overall Great Truck!

Faults:

Muffler System needed replaced.

Headlight switch had to be replaced.

Normal Maintenance.

General Comments:

I love this truck!

It has been very reliable for the last 5 years that I have owned it.

The cabin is roomy and comfortable.

It drives very well and is quiet.

No engine trouble what so ever, other than normal maintenance.

The Vortec V6 engine is the bomb!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

5th May 2004, 19:51

Too bad in 1994 Chevrolet didnt make a vortec V6.

16th Mar 2005, 14:50

I have a vortec v6 and it is the best truck I have had.

6th Oct 2009, 08:04

Uh, 1994 was the first year of the Vortec.

11th Feb 2014, 19:59

I have a 1994 Chevy 4.3L and it's a Vortec. I need another motor with all the parts, so when the parts on this one go out, I can change them over.

1994 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 4x4 5.7 (350ci) from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 (350ci) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance193000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Toughest truck on the road

Faults:

There was a transmission leak when I purchased the truck, and took the dealer three tries to find it was leaking out of the electrical connection.

I had a spark plug wire go bad.

The paint chipped behind the wheels from the spray of the big tires. My fault for not using mud flaps.

General Comments:

They don't build trucks like this one anymore. The truck has lots of power, but likes the gas too. But gas mileage isn't everything.

This truck can go though a ton of mud and snow with great ground clearance.

These trucks can handle 3,400000kms no problem and just keep going.

I think these trucks are the best looking ones Chevrolet ever made and are 5 times as tough as the new ones.

The interior is well laied out the seats look like they never been sat in, but the only thing it with the power lock and window buttons need some lights in the for a night.

Tough as nails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

14th Sep 2007, 13:10

Also, if your truck is 4X4, it's a K1500, not a C1500.

1994 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A part of the family

Faults:

Transmission at 71000. Replaced with GM SERTA. No problems. Installed cooler.

3 alternators.

Heads at 75000. Rebuilt by dealer.

Factory leather and seat tracks badly worn. Seats rock like a home recliner.

Front end still tight. Steering is wearing out. The truck wanders and is not very responsive to inputs. Steering box replaced at 75000.

Every light assembly in the front end replaced due to age. The Fl. sun finally destroyed the plastic. Third light cover suffered the same fate. Grille replaced as well.

Back slider leaked and latch almost broke. Replaced with one piece slider with better latch.

Truck pulls to right when braking. Problem has existed since new.

A/C emits strange noise when turned on. Sounds like a pulley is going.

Tan carpets and trucks don't mix!!!

Fuel mileage, while never great, has steadily gotten worse over the past 2 years. I now get an average of 13 on the road.

A beast to park in cities.

A third door would be a God send.

General Comments:

Overall, this is a tough truck. The front bumper, especially. It took a direct hit from a concrete barrier and sustained only a minor bending and scratch. Things just don't seem to fall off.

The ride used to be very supple for a truck. It can be brought back again relatively cheaply.

All parts seem to be on the lower end of the price scale. Aftermarket parts are plentiful.

Great buy overall, if you can deal with the drawbacks that owning a truck entails. I would recommend the 96-99. They have the better VORTEC engine and also offer the third door option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

12th Aug 2007, 14:32

UPDATE:

Bad fuel mileage due to torque converter not locking up. Solution: replaced the brake light switch.

Replaced both front rotors with Cryo Slot performance parts along with Hawk truck pads. Much improvement.

Replaced the steering box and idler arm. Wandering problem traced to a loose intermediate shaft. Tightened bolts, steering about 75% better.

Runs like crap when cold. Replaced the temperature sensor. Not as pronounced now.

Brake shudder from drums. Problem is cheap drums and pads. Solution is turning OEM drums and putting on premium shoes.

Truck now has 211,000 miles and runs about as well as can be expected.

16th Aug 2012, 20:46

I have a 94 Silverado 350 TBI with 424,000, yes that's four hundred twenty four thousand. And still driving it. Never been into the motor. Never replaced valve cover seals. Have proof. 919-434-8479.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews