1998 Chevrolet C1500 Reviews

1998 Chevrolet C1500 Z-71 5.7 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Glad I replaced the engine, it's a great truck

Faults:

Oil pump pressure relief valve failed open, blew the engine on low oil pressure (my son was driving the truck at the time).

Replaced a great engine with 142K.

General Comments:

Great truck. New 5.7 crate engine less than $2000 from a dealer, another $1000 to install.

Have oil pump and PCV checked by 120k miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2010

1998 Chevrolet C1500 Ext Cab 350 vortec from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Only one thing has gone bad on my truck. At 182000 miles I blew a transfer case gasket. Other than it is a very reliable and good vehicle. It has been through a lot; I'm only 17 years old, and all adults know kids rag their truck. I have straight pipes on it and let's just say I like everybody to hear me coming. But it has been through a lot, and it is still holding up very well.

General Comments:

I like how much power the motor comes with as stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2009

1998 Chevrolet C1500 Z71 305 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 305 Don't Know
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance183454 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Every man should have one!!!

Faults:

My gas millage is terrible! And it feels like the E brake is on. I think I have a tranny problem; can anyone help me? I went to local garage and it is reading a tranny code.

General Comments:

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2009

1998 Chevrolet C1500 CK 1500 V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Above average truck with it's share of problems

Faults:

Manifold Intake Gasket at 90,000.

Windshield wipers.

Rear taillight keeps blowing.

General Comments:

Other than the problems listed, Great Truck. I drive over 100 miles a day in gridlock traffic in Atlanta and I love my Truck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2008

16th Feb 2010, 10:33

I owned a 1998 1500 Chevy Cargo Van for 10 years (5.0 litre motor), and it was a good money maker for my HVAC service business... but... the quality could have been better.

Had numerous troubles with it during its 130,000 mile life before I gave it away to a friend, but the A/C cooled extremely well -- especially after I made a partition between the cab and cargo area out of 2" styrofoam.

Specific annoying problems were : The side sliding door stuck often, the walls of the cargo area were paper thin and showed dents from things inside hitting against it, intake manifold gaskets leaked, radiator only made it to 70,000 miles, fuel pump left me stranded in 15 f. outside temps. at 80,000 miles, and some others.

No rust on the van.

Motor didn't burn a drop of oil, and was strong for a 305 cid and pulling 1000 lbs of cargo all the time.

All in all, I'd give it a 7 out of 10.

1998 Chevrolet C1500 silverdo 4\4 z71 5.7 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired265000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres

Summary:

Unpredictable

Faults:

Water pump 267,000 front brake sensors 269.000 top of rail on box rusted completely out 270.000 coolant leak 270.000.

General Comments:

The rusted box is a common factor here in Canada and I feel this has been known by the manufacturer for some time now .

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007

1998 Chevrolet C1500 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Very happy

General Comments:

I live in Canada and 6 months ago purchased a 1998 Silverado 1500, automatic with 4WD,. I am extremely happy with it. Unfortunately I must sell. I was very close to selling, but a prospective buyer backed out saying that his son had warned him of serious transmission? Has anyone heard of this? Please give comments on your experiences with this model. I want to be able to answer this comment if it comes again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2006

1998 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 5.7L - 350 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L - 350 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

Reliability very poor and expensive to operate

Faults:

Air Conditioner compressor had to be replaced at at 48,000.

Master Cylinder replaced at 75,000.

Engine required all new lifters, done under extended warranty at 78,000.

At 78,000 miles vehicle also had Tie Rod End, Pitman Arm and Ball Joint replaced.

Interior vehicle trim is fragile and expensive to repair.

General Comments:

Total repair costs of this vehicle have been approximately $3800.00 over a 30 month period - consider this truck has been babied.

Truck has exceptional handling at highway speeds and is super comfortable on long trips.

As one would expect, economy is very poor at around 14mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

19th Apr 2005, 12:05

Its 7 years old dude- it needs maintenance.

11th Apr 2006, 21:56

Mine hasn't had any of those problems, 97k and running strong. Once I had a squeaky belt, but that's it.

10th Feb 2007, 01:36

Mine has 150k and other than tune-ups I have only replaced:

The battery...$68

Motor starter...$80

Idle air controller..$70.

Now compare it to my Dodge Caravan previously owned.

At 128k I had to fix or repair the van in the following sequence:

By 40k: factory radio and rear wiper motor went out

60k: Air Conditioning system

70k: cam-shaft and valve covers oil seals

75k: water pump, timing chain and crank-shaft seal

80k: left front axle

90k the infamous transmission!!!

95k motor mounts

100k passenger side axle

120k again the water pump and tensioner

128k again the transmission!!! (got rid of it)

This was my first Dodge vehicle and I swear, it will be the last one.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews