Chevrolet C2500 Reviews

2001 Chevrolet C2500 HD 6.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carDodge D250

Summary:

Nice, but very expensive to maintain and operate

Faults:

Engine and transmission over heat with heavy load. Engine blew at 130000. Transmission failed under heavy load. Transfer case oil pump made a hole in the case and caused the oil to leak out. Total replacement costs of engine, transmission and transfer case = $18,000.

Recently changed the radiator to enhance engine coolant. Changing the oil pan for the transmission to enhance cooling of the transmission.

Seats were leather and wore out.

General Comments:

Truck is very powerful and can haul a lot of weight.

It is very user friendly in the interior.

Leather seats were nice until they wore out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2010

1992 Chevrolet C2500 350 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired148 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPontiac Chieftain

Summary:

It's a great truck, but needs work

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck so far.

General Comments:

I like this truck, but the gas pedal is hard to push. I have to put my whole weight in to get it to go, and I weigh 110 pounds.

The radio is broken, and I don't know if the heater is working.

It has an exhaust leak.

The seats are really comfy, but has a big rip in it.

The steering wheel has a lot of play; it's annoying and fun at the same time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2010

7th Dec 2010, 18:45

Sounds like a beater work truck to me!

I've had few of these myself.

Just buy a $40 CD player, and get someone to install it for a case of beers.

Change the oil every few months and keep driving it.

As long as it has a 4.3, 305 or 350 under the hood, there is nothing to worry about.

These old trucks will run forever, the perfect work truck.

Chevy makes em best!

1998 Chevrolet C2500 Silverado Extra Cab 4X4 5.7 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.7 Vortec Don't Know
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I love it, and I'll still have it 20 years from now

Faults:

The air conditioning freezes up when used at a low setting.

I have to manually take it off A/C & allow the fan to blow on high until it thaws. Then I can put it back on A/C. It doesn't freeze up if on high.

The center console is not very good quality, & I've had to replace the console door.

Drivers side inside door handle assembly had to be replaced at 100 thousand miles. It just snapped & flopped around.

The stitching on the passengers side head rest came undone & I had to have it restitched.

General Comments:

I love my Silverado. It's a head turner. I've spend thousands on it to keep it as new as possible. My only complaint would be road noise. It's not as quiet a ride as I'd like it to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2010

31st Oct 2010, 00:37

Can't beat a Chevy... I completely agree. You may have to deal with a broken door handle or something, but much cheaper than replacing an engine or transmission. I've had nothing but luck with all my GMC products. As far as the road noise, keep in mind it's a pickup, they tend to be a lot noisier than cars.

31st Oct 2010, 11:09

I bought one new in 2004, and it's a great full size truck. I am not selling mine either. I have bought new brake pads and tires, and tow.

1994 Chevrolet C2500 SLT 6.2 turbo diesel from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.2 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Will never, ever purchase another Chevy pickup, buyers beware!

Faults:

You name it, it has gone wrong. The engine went out at about 26000 miles, then the tranny went out. Overhauled the engine and put in a new GM approved tranny.

The engine is still holding OK, but the second tranny went out just about 1000 miles out of warranty. Installed a used tranny from a Suburban, and it is holding.

Lots of injection pump problems, replaced it 3 times, then discovered the pump driver is a weak spot. We have learned how to replace the driver without having to replace the entire pump. This has been done twice.

Electrical problems with the vehicle. You'll be driving along and it will just shut off. Sometimes it will restart, and sometimes it won't.

Throttle has stuck too many times to recall.

Fan hub has broken and threw off belts 5 times (poor engineering). I would get a panic attack every time I had to drive the *&%! thing.

This pickup is a true lemon. I can't wait until I can take it to the car crusher, because I will enjoy seeing it crushed. I will not sell it to anyone, because no one should have to endure a vehicle like this one! One of Chevrolet's worst.

General Comments:

The pickup is beautiful and comfortable. Drives nice, although the turning is horrific. A semi can turn shorter, no kidding. I have driven both.

Mechanically it is not trustworthy. Very unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2010

30th Sep 2010, 18:24

Are you sure the information is accurate? A diesel engine dying at 26,000 miles and a tranny shortly thereafter? Come to think of it, I've never even heard of a single car with that many serious problems (no matter how low I go), and let alone a Chevy diesel? It also was owned for 8 years? If I had a vehicle with that many severe problems, it would be gone before the one year anniversary. I'm assuming it was severely mistreated or an EXTREMELY rare anomaly (or just a very crooked mechanic).

I'd want to see the evidence behind this before I let it influence whether or not I buy a Chevy truck.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews