Chevrolet C2500 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Chevrolet C2500 Silverado 5.7 gas V8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.7 gas V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

This is a really good truck

Faults:

Wear and tear on the interior, especially the console and door panels.

Hesitation at around 20 mph, like it's not sure what gear it wants to be in (although I'm told this is a common fault of Chevy trucks to this day).

Factory tape player not playing tapes right.

General Comments:

This truck was fairly well maintained over the years by the last owner and still runs very well and has plenty of oomph for the mileage.

Gas mileage is decent for a full-size truck.

I'm surprised after 14 years the power doodads (this truck has nearly all of them) still work (although I did put in a new CD player to replace the tape player).

I think the dashboard parts on these models are cheaply made compared to the rest of the truck.

We take our baby with us and the Evenflo car seat works much better in the extended cab's back seat than the Graco baby seats, so that makes an awkward task much more tolerable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2008

2003 Chevrolet C2500 LS Duramax Diesel 6.6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance83200 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Making us consider a Ford Diesel next

Faults:

38,000 wheel hub went out $700.

47,000 ignition switch x 2.

58,000 rear seal which now Chevy said they just leak.

61,000 the #4 glow plug went out.

61,000 dealer said I needed to replace the Pittman and idler arm.

70,000 got a recall/extension on Bosch fuel injectors.

Passenger window motor now has gone out at 79,000 miles.

The dash peeling and headliner on driver side beginning to sag. Paint also chips very easily on this year model.

General Comments:

I have been a Chevy owner for 38 years.

For the price this truck has me in the shop too much.

On a positive it is good on fuel mileage. 17 town 21 hwy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th November, 2007

29th Nov 2007, 20:31

I do not know if I am still a chevy man myself. I had few chevy trucks myself same good K2500 truck and Suburban GAS same bad C/K 1500 truck Gas/week transmissions.

Because of gas price I bought a k2500 truck I love it when it work, but it let me down too many times. I give and I give till I cannot find a competent shop that will do work on diesel. I ended up with toyota tundra.

1988 Chevrolet C2500 Cheyenne 5.7 V8 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49818 miles
Most recent distance64100 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A good reliable work horse

Faults:

Other than general maintenance this truck has been pretty reliable. Many of the things that I have had to replace were simply due to the fact that it is almost a 20 year old truck.

I replaced the front brake pads shortly after purchasing it. With only 50K miles they may have been original.

Rear wheel cylinder leak and needed replaced at 55K. Also replaced rear break lines due to rust. Window weather stripping at same time due to dry rot.

Driver side door handle broke at 57K. Less than $10 to fix. Around the same time the head light switch went. Around $15 Part.

This truck has the typical drive shaft ping or clunk. A little grease on the yoke where the the drive shaft goes into the transmission every 10-12K miles fixes it. At worst it is just annoying.

For being as old as it is it does not leak any fluids.

Strangely the only area of rust on the whole truck is in the driver side cab corner.

This truck is fairly easy to work on. Even though it is fuel injected the system is fairly simple and everything is easily accessible.

General Comments:

This truck has done everything I have asked of it and more. The 350 with the throttle body fuel injection is no hot rod motor, but the truck still has plenty of power. On several occasions I have pulled a small car on a trailer totaling around 5000 lbs. The truck handled it easily. I have also had close to 3000 lbs in the bed and the truck did not do bad.

Truck starts easy even in the winter after setting for a few weeks.

I average 15-18 mpg depending on the driving conditions. For a 4000 pound vehicle that is not bad. Having 3.42:1 gears helps.

Comfort wise I have always preferred a bench seat. I like the truck for long rides because of the big seat and the leg room.

There are few things I do not like about the truck.

The paint is poor quality and the interior seams cheap in the dash area.

Due to having a 34 gallon gas tank on the driver side the truck sags slightly that way due to the weight over the years. This is mainly when the tank is full.

Truck did not come with air conditioning.

I have been very happy and will likely keep this truck for many years due to its low mileage and the fact that it would cost nearly $30k to replace it. With a little maintenance these trucks will run for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

17th Feb 2009, 19:58

I agree, I love the truck!!!

2005 Chevrolet C2500 LS 6.0 gas from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.0 gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance44352 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Best value, comfort, and power in a Heavy Duty truck

Faults:

Every six to 10 thousand miles the steering shaft has to be regreased due to faulty seals. GM has not yet recalled.

The shocks had to be replaced at approx. 25000 miles.

Drivers door check strap failed at 44000 miles.

General Comments:

Even though the bugs are being worked out on this truck, for a gas motor this truck is what its name reflects. Heavy Duty. I have used this truck to its max. potential and it still runs like a deere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

1995 Chevrolet C2500 7.4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 7.4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Its very nice for its age and mileage

Faults:

The first general thing was getting it tuned up - very first thing that happened was the serpentine belt snapped. Then I had to redo the front end bearings rotors etc. Then the carrier bearing went out. That's all, no engine trouble whatsoever.

Holds together very well. Will never ever buy a Ford again. Ford Gas trucks seem to die at 150,000 miles, if they even make it to that.

General Comments:

This truck has a lot of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

25th Feb 2013, 11:43

Ford trucks of the same year would not die at 150,000 miles. The Ford 460 CID V8 will last just as long as any Chevy 454, and the Ford Windsor engines have a legendary reliability and longevity reputation.

Newer Ford trucks though, that's probably a different story.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews