1982 Chevrolet Camaro Sport Coupe 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


An absolute piece of junk, but I loved it, and I'd buy another.


When I first bought the car, many, many things were wrong.

I needed to replace the fuel pump to get it running when I first bought it, which was a rather quick and inexpensive fix.

There idle was very rough, which was something I was never able to fix.

The seats were in absolutely awful shape, which I remedied with the addition of seat covers. Even after adding the covers, the seats were quite uncomfortable.

About a week after I bought the car, the battery died because some idiot (me) left the dome light on.

The transmission was slipping when I purchased it, and I didn't have the money nor the desire to replace it.

Needed to replace the starter, which was a pain.

Engine finally seized at 327,502 kilometres, and I sold it to a scrap yard for $250.

This car had been abused, and it showed. Many interior parts were broken, and the outside was rusted pretty bad around the wheel wells and on the doors.

General Comments:

This was my first car. I had been in love with Camaros all my life, as my father had owned a '70 1/2 Z28 (possibly the finest Camaro ever made), and my goal was to get one of my own. Unfortunately, only having $650 (I argued the owner down to this price) to spend, a newer Camaro was out of the question, so I went with the next best thing, which, admittedly, caused a lot of heartache, but was worth every dime.

The 4-cylinder (approximately 90 horsepower) engine on the base Sport Coupe was incredibly weak- very little passing power on the freeway, and just plain slow altogether. Personally, I think the idea of making a 4-cylinder model was some kind of a (very unfunny) joke on GM's part. This car had no go at all.

Seemingly the name 'Camaro' means 'high insurance' in French, because I still paid through the nose to insure this car while I owned it (I was a new driver at the time).

Having said that, however, it was a Camaro, and even though this one was rusty and slow, you could still see, if you looked closely, what the car must've looked like the day it was driven off the lot for the first time.

I'll never forget my candy apple red Camaro; it was my first experience with this legendary nameplate, but definitely not my last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1982 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 305 ci V8 LG4 from North America


I love this car


My berlinetta camaro had an bad electrical fire, melting just about everything in the front leaving only the engine and transmission, it also broke and smoked damaged the front windshield, warped the hood and damaged the driver side fender, and the fire dept screwed up the whole dash front and top, also the inner fenders were melted.

Iam planning on fixing up the car even though I know it will cost some $$$$ but I love this car it was my first car and my baby! do you know where I could find cheap prices for parts?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

8th Aug 2004, 18:42

Have you tried EBAY?

1982 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 2.8 V6 from North America


Be careful buying a high mileage Camaro


The differential started making a howling noise that got worse, so I had the rear end rebuilt only 6 months after I bought this money pit.

The transmission went after I had owned the car no more than 9 months.

The starter went out after about 1 year.

The water pump went out after about the first month I owned it.

The power window on the passenger side worked only occasionally.

The check engine light went on and would never go off. The local Chevrolet dealer mechanics never could fix that problem. I fixed it by taking the bulb out so it wouldn't drive me crazy.

The alternator went out after about 1 year.

The battery went dead the first day I drove it home.

Oil leaks from the oil pan gasket seals.

Many rattles.

General Comments:

These Camaros are great looking cars. They also handle very nice, even the non Z-28 models. Did I mention that girls like these cars, especially the IROC-Z-28.

My Camaro was purchased while I was in high school and while it looked nice, the V6 engine was very weak. The car had very poor acceleration. Which was somewhat embarrassing with the great performance look of the car. Get a V8. You will be much happier.

My Camaro was plagued with problems from day one it seemed. It was a nice handling car, I will definitely give the car credit there. I believe my Camaro was a lemon. Friends of mine in high school owned similar Camaros and none of them had the problems I had.

I would buy another Camaro. This time I would buy a IROC Z-28 1988 to 1990 model. It would have to be a one owner very low mileage car however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2001

12th Apr 2011, 13:04

My Camaro is a 1982, a now 30 year old car. It has had the stock engine replaced with a 383 stroker and handles like a champ. Inherently GM vehicles through the 70s and 80s have a terrible problem with the frames rotting out (I got lucky my frame is in great shape). As these cars are now 20-30 years old, when purchasing one you should expect to put some money into it to make it what you want it to be. Also, remember if it was considered a performance car when it was produced, chances are all the owners throughout its life treated it like one. The end result is whether you buy a car new or old having a vehicle will always cost you money.

I do agree the 82-92 Camaros are great looking cars. I do agree that the stock engines left much to be desired. I found the interior to be rather dramatic and kind of neat looking. The 1982 Camaro in my opinion out handles a lot of today's vehicles on the track.

The doors are heavy, so do expect to replace the hinge pins and bushings at some point, the power window switches are on the console which, with the lack of cupholders makes them vulnerable to being spilled on. The ground wires inside the doors may have to be replaced at some point for the power windows to continue to function. There is not a lot of room underneath the hatch if you choose to keep a spare tire handy, T tops almost always start to leak at some point and the replacement seals are not cheap.

If you have the time and money, an older Camaro can be a bundle of fun to fix up and restore. They can also be great track cars.

I would buy one again, however make sure the very first thing that is checked is the frame for rust and rot.

Hope this posting helps.

12th Apr 2011, 14:40

I have had Camaros and they are unibody. If you put in a big block, look for issues twisting the unibody. If they have rot, pass them up. I bought a Chevelle this time with a full frame vs adding frame connectors on another Camaro.

1982 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 305 V8 from North America


445,114 miles and still going...


I have replaced many minor parts like the battery, brakes, tires, cables, alternator, etc. Although this car has an astonishing - 445,114 miles on it as of yesterday. I think that speaks highly of my car. It still drives as strong as when I bought it 10 years ago. This baby just will not die.

I don't push the car hard at all anymore. I treat this ride like a 98 year old man. It deserves respect.

General Comments:

445,114 miles. It still drives just fine. I can't say a word bad about my 1982 Camaro. Yeah sure, I wish the A/C worked. My car is an old man now, but an unbelievably healthy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

13th Oct 2001, 20:50

445,114 miles?!

What the frick are you feeding that beast?!

9th Jan 2003, 19:01

What is your secret!?

9th Mar 2003, 18:06

Wow, 400000 miles! my dad has never had a car last over 135000 miles on it. It must have a pretty whooped engine though.

9th Mar 2003, 18:41

The secret to getting 444000 miles on an engine is to own a Chevy.

My Chevy has 400000 miles on her and she has not quit!!