1983 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.0 Crossfire Injection from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Crossfire Injection Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

One Great Camaro Z28 LU5 Motor

Faults:

I have never had any Problems with my Camaro. I am the second owner, and the previous owner has not had problems as well. It is a well built car. The LU5 motor must have been one of the most successful motors that GM had made for this year Camaro.

General Comments:

This is a fast car for a stock car. With a couple of modifications, you will be chasing the cops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2005

2nd Feb 2005, 16:37

The LU5 motor had 165 hp, less than a late model Muztang six cylinder.

Writing more than one review of this car does not make it any better!

1983 Chevrolet Camaro LT 5.7 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 350 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175294 miles
Most recent distance361859 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Best ever

Faults:

Seat belt won't retract from roof on driver side,

Owner says the transmission cooler needs to be replaced,

Windsheild is busted,

Interior needs to be redone, thanks to mice,

Defrost is the only thing that works Contact me for any kind of info on that matter,

Minor rust on front of hood.

General Comments:

This berlinetta I haven't drove yet, I have yet to replace engine and tranny with 350 with a turbo 700, there was no engine or tranny when I got it..

I have read that this car handles awesome.

MPG Sucks..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

1983 Chevrolet Camaro 5.0 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance68957 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevelle

Summary:

An extremely fast car for the price

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong with my 83 camaro is the ignition coil has been replaced twice.

The only other thing that has gone wrong with the car is that the heads had to be replaced when I bought it.

General Comments:

This is the fastest camaro in this city, and I wouldn't sell it for the world.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired68526 miles
Most recent distance68529 miles

Summary:

Fast and fun, but with work

Faults:

Steering column busted out.

Timing belt thrown off.

Power window's motors burned out.

Gas shocks on hood and hatch replaced.

General Comments:

Fast car, sounds good, T-tops a plus, fun to drive when running, but rusted easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Crazy insane styling and performance

Faults:

Starter was just replaced.

Rear End rattles a bit.

Header gaskets

Collector gaskets.

Camaro print seats are showing wear (lots)

Heater is stuck on full blast

Piston and Oil rings.

General Comments:

For $900 Canadian, this car has never left me on the side of the road, and the tired 350 still has enough thunder left in it to roast the odd rice rocket. Top speed in my car (at red line) was 210 km per hour. Cornering is a lot of fun with this car, however you seem to have to keep the throttle mashed down quite a bit to keep the front end from diving too much... this car is like a skate board!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 liter 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter 350 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro Z28

Summary:

Tons of power, a great car, and a cool car to pick up chicks in ;)

Faults:

The heater core sprang a leak.

The speedo reads 15 mph too slow.

Only bad problem is the transmission. Sometimes when you shift to 3rd, there's nothing there; hard to explain, but overall it's not a bad car.

General Comments:

The 350 engine is all done up; racing cam, Edelbrock Performer intake, Holley double pumper 750cfm carb.

It has chrome valve covers and a chrome air filter setup.

Mustangs don't have a chance at beating me, unless they have a blower and NOS.

The car burns 2nd gear posi shots as far as you can see. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 2.8 173 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 173 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43045 miles
Most recent distance44081 miles

Summary:

Dad bought brand new, gave to mom in 1990, and she gave it to me for my 16 birthday. Am very happy

Faults:

The Camaro caught on fire due to chipmunks, in May of 2002, after three months I had the interior restored from fire damage. Carburetor went inin September of 2002 and was replaced.

General Comments:

After interior restoration, and carburetor replacement, this car runs like a Nascar. Other than the fact it has a miss it runs very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

26th Feb 2003, 08:10

How much horse power does it have???

9th Jul 2009, 21:40

How on earth did chipmunks catch your car on fire!?!?!?! WTF!!!

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 V8 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 350 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Gas eater, but worth the power it delivers

Faults:

Turn signals went out. (Previous owner got into a wreck)

Horn quit working. (Previous owner)

Reverse lights quit working. (Previous owner again)

Engine block started getting a knock. (I know the problem, and its easy to fix, I just forget the name of the part at the moment)

Sun damage.

Driver side door handle on the inside stopped working.

General Comments:

The car has a beautiful engine. Its not a new-day engine with computers and such in it, its the old style with the good old distributer in it. The 5.7 liter V8 350 block gives nice power, but for unexperienced drives, a bit too much. Spinning the tires isn't too difficult.

The inside is a little uncomfortable, but you get used to it quickly. Its mainly because of how low the seats are.

It is a good car overall, and it looks great. Mine is black with gold accent colors, and always makes my heart race when the sun hits it at the right angle so you get the sparkles off the roof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

16th Oct 2002, 22:19

Your Car must Smoke like mine does.

28th Aug 2004, 21:23

When the 350 was put in camaro's, gm motorsports technology group could put in a 350 to take the place of the 305 in 82 to 87 camaro's.

4th Jan 2008, 19:58

I bought a 83 chevy camaro Z28 from my dad that has a wicked motor in it I guess. I talked to him and he said he had it out at the track and ran a 10.39 something like that. The only thing I want to know is how rare is a 83 chevy camaro with a factory 5 speed in it?

1st Mar 2013, 06:21

Your car might have ran a 10.39... in the 1/8th mile! These Camaro's are SLOW. I know, because I have one... A 5 speed in an 83 isn't anything rare at all. Actually, it is quite common. Mine is also an 83 with a 5 speed. These are the crappy Non World Class T5's that everyone says are junk and nobody wants. I have no reasons not to believe them, because mine pops out of first gear and grinds 2-4. Nothing special about these cars, I don't care how much anyone thinks so... They were built cheaply, and it shows.

16th May 2013, 17:35

These are good cars. I hear a few complaints about the lack of power it delivers. Well what do you expect in 1983? Nothing was pushing 400 HP like today's cars are. These were for decent gas mileage with just enough power.

I have a 350 in mine, but I also have the LG4 that came in it, and I get offers to sell or trade for it.

It's funny that you guys are complaining about how it's not fast, but then say it's a gas hog! Last I checked, HP drinks A LOT of gas if carbed. Again, the new vehicles can get good HP and MPG, but it's computer controlled, which is why mine suits me great. It's a good car once you get to know it.

I see triple the 3rd gen Camaros over 3rd gen Mustangs, and the value will soon rise once the warranties for these new 400-600HP new cars are over and they are paying $100 an hour to find a simple problem.

I'm keeping mine. I pay $40.00 full coverage and my registration is $54.00 a year. I'm hooked, and I finally realized less is more. PEACE.

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

The camshaft wore out so it was replaced and a hole rusted through an exhaust pipe so it was patched. We rebuilt the transmission, but it still worked.

General Comments:

I like it's style and the name. The mileage is not very great, but the sound is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

1983 Chevrolet Camaro Base Level 2.5 L4 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 L4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Not a bad first car

Faults:

Ignition coil, right after I bought it.

Whole exhaust system.

Water pump.

Starter (twice).

Intermittent starting problems, besides when the starter broke.

General Comments:

I really do miss this piece of crap.

Despite some of the junk I went through with it, it held up okay. It got me back and forth to Maine, twice.

For $800 bucks, I really can't complain.

Finally, if anyone out there is looking at older Camaros built, say, between '82 and '85, don't ever buy a 4 cylinder Camaro, ever. It's just wrong.

Oh yeah, I bought the car in January of 2000, and got rid of it in November of the same year. Mainly due to the fact that the brake lines exploded (which nearly killed me) on a trip to a friends house, and the engine seized up the following morning. May she rest in peace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews