1984 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1984 Chevrolet Camaro z28 5.0 305 V8 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance123500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Seeing it says a lot, driving it says it all

Faults:

-Alternator belt at 121,000 miles.

-AC belt at 121,000 miles.

-Starter at 121,000 miles.

General Comments:

Alternator belt, AC belt and starter went bad all within the same week, including a blown tire. I got all of those things fixed and the car is still running very well.

I bought the car for $1100 after it was sitting for many years in a different state. All four tires were cracked badly, the battery was dead and the struts needed replaced. Despite the car sitting for so many years it was jump started, warmed up and ran great.

I live in the southern area of PA and have driven the car to Washington D.C. (2 hours there 3 hours back), Germansville PA (2 1/2 hours there 3 1/2 hours back. I have driven it in rainy summer weather and snowy, ice cold winter weather and it has never left me anywhere.

The car is fast and handles like a dream. Car and Driver magazine rated it the best handling car of 1984. Even today the look of the European based design turns heads.

I plan on keeping this car forever. I want to completely restore it and pass it down through my family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

2nd Mar 2005, 17:36

How can it take you an hour longer to get back from someplace than it took you to get there?

Do you get lost?

26th Nov 2005, 18:26

Likely the reason for the extra hour for the reverse trip would be rush-hour traffic flow at the end of the day??

1984 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Excellent Vehicle

Faults:

Before I bought the car the owner had put a new engine in it. Obviously because of age. The only problem is that since they only made about 4,400 Camaro Berlinetta in 1984, it's hard to find parts for it.

General Comments:

The Camaro is an excellent vehicle. I rely on it every day to go to work-It has never let me down. I will conitinue to buy Chevrolets forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

1984 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.0L 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L 305 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

High quality car for the amount you spend on it

Faults:

The only thing that has happened to my car since I had it is a front end alignment, its starting to burn a very little amount of oil, and my clutch needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is my favorite car and I don't think I would any other type of car. The performance that comes from the is very impressive, It has been very reliable so far and I don't think I will ever decide to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

1984 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.0L High Output from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L High Output Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105954 miles
Most recent distance106233 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Couldn't hurt to have a few more horses under the hood

Faults:

My transmission came unbolted at 105003 mile's.

I had to replace all the emissions lines and am still looking for an engine fuel evaporation valve that is no longer made.

General Comments:

Other than poor maintaining of the car it is a Real good runner.

The engine is real strong and has a lot of pull in it still.

The block was replaced by the dealer due to the original owners request. It was replaced with a 1987 Iroc single rear seal block.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2002

1984 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Sport Coupe L69 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission L69 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

One bad mother..

Faults:

The fan quit and I had to replace it.

The electric locks are shot. (easy fix)

Engine needs revving usually to start car. For some reason the ignition start doesn't work very often and when it is cold, don't count on it!

General Comments:

I love my Camaro because of it's awesome "Bad boy" looks and it's great handling.

My engine is pretty nice. It's not the most reliable one on the road, but when it's rockin' get out of the way!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

1984 Chevrolet Camaro Sport Coupe 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired128987 kilometres
Most recent distance140749 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Too Slow to Go

Faults:

The battery died twice, I guess for not using it so much. The quality of the seats were very poor, because they started to tear away. The drive shaft twisted at about 137000 kilometers. It doesn't have much power as I thought it would, but I plan to upgrade. Mostly when starting the car the buzzer was the most annoying noise.

General Comments:

It's a nice car to go driving around in, but is not meant for racing if it's a 2.8L V6 Automatic or manual, you would need a 5.7L 350 Cubic Inch engine to actually have fun with power and speed. This car was good to get around in, and it's pretty reliable to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews