1987 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1987 Chevrolet Camaro IROC-Z 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

The poor man's Ferrari!

Faults:

Rebuild motor.

Exhaust manifold gasket.

Main gasket.

PVC valve.

Starter.

Starts very poorly (long crank time).

Gets a lot of attention (in a bad way - ex. car thief's).

General Comments:

This car has given me a lot of trouble, but I could not stand to get rid of it.

The car handles amazingly.

Lots of power when you push the pedal to the floor.

A super easy car to build up to go really really fast.

Gets lots of the right attention (ex. girls).

Extremely sharp looking car.

Very comfortable car for driving long distances in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

1987 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 5.0 305, V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 305, V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance57320 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

She is fast and mean, but I love her anyway..

Faults:

The windshield motor needs to be replaced.

The interior looks like a smoker lost control of his cherry more than a few times.

The paint is old and in the process of being replaced.

Needs new engine mounts and requires a lot of attention to minor corrections.

General Comments:

I like being able to take a turn at a quick pace and have the car hold like super-glue; and that is exactly what I get from driving this car. It's acceleration will throw your head back and makes getting on the freeways of L.A. no problem.

Definitely a car that could be major pimp-mobile if the time is taken to make the inside and outside look nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2001

27th May 2004, 15:54

I have recently purchased a 1987 Camaro Berlinetta and I would have to agree with your comments. I have the same engine and transmission as the car you reviewed, and I have to say, the power is nice. I am in the process of replacing the front brakes, and I noticed the tie-rod ends are shot. That may be something to look for in a Camaro of this age, although I must also note that the car had 93,000 miles upon my purchase, as opposed to 50 some-odd. Another thing to be suspicious about is the weather proofing around the T-tops. Even though it's not a big job, it's an expensive job, and just locating the correct weather stripping is a job in itself. But these are all the things you have to deal with in order to have a "cool" car. I give two thumbs up to the 1987 Camaro Berlinetta.

29th Jan 2009, 15:49

Let's be honest. The 305 V8 is very slow and not a good motor to upgrade. It only came with 170 horse power and a heavy body. I've driven those Camaros; even with the 350 it's still slow. 93 to 2002 is where the power is.

3rd Oct 2009, 01:02

It's a carbed GM V8... with the removal of the emissions equipment - new intake, carb and exhaust system you can net a good bit of power. Just be sure of what the smog rules are in your state.

If you keep the gearing in the rear end stock, you may even keep respectable MPGs, but it's a toy not a hyper-miler.

1987 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Good handling, dependable if taken care of

Faults:

Rear fitting from the intake manifold to the heater core broke, leaked antifreeze.

Electrical fan stopped running due to worn brushes at 203,000 miles, replaced fan motor for $20.

Fuel gauge stopped working, found a grounding problem, found that the ground wire is below the rear driver's side seat, and re-secured it.

General Comments:

Great handling car, very easy to service yourself if you know anything at all about a car. Needs care like any car to stay in top shape. Easy to work on for the most part, except for some parts around the transmission/rear of the engine.

Suspension can be tightened or loosened to your desire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

1987 Chevrolet Camaro IROC Z-28 5.0 small block 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 small block 305 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance57500 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A high performance caddy

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far, I love the 305 and it hasn't failed me.

The only thing that is wrong with it is that the power windows and door locks don't work, nothing major.

General Comments:

This is a great performance car and it handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

25th Feb 2006, 14:25

It is common to have problems with power windows in most 80's and early 90's chevy cars. The little actuators and motors meet their life expectancy and the lifting arms are poorly deigned.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews