1987 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1987 Chevrolet Camaro RS 2.8 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 FI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

A high performance car that needs regular maintenance

Faults:

Recently, in 2001 the intake gasket blew, putting antifreeze into the oil.. Otherwise, it has been great.

Replaced the alternator and brake discs.

Had some electrical problems, loose wire was fixed.

Find a good mechanic. Needed some idler arms and a transmission service once.

General Comments:

Love the car, it had some Toyota Camry syndrome that robbed it of power for a few years, but I had a good mechanic fix that and the car could well exceed its 85 MPH speedo limit for years after.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

25th Feb 2001, 02:08

I had one of those 2.8 liter V6 "BadBoyz" and it hung with the best of'em. I raced it almost every week. I had some performance work done to it, such as full intake system, exhaust, plugs, wires, ignition, turbo transmission, racing clutch, Posi-Trac, and had plans for nitros in the near future until the car was stolen. I raced everything from Vipers, Supras, and Saleens, to Civics, Preludes, and Probes. I haven't won them all, but it's been a very dependable, fast, and fun car. Every little bit of performance work helps...

1st Oct 2002, 11:26

I'm from the Turks and Caicos Islands, in the Caribbean. I had a 1987 Camaro with a 305 V8 in it and it ran strong against all the Mustangs on my island. But I didn't win all the races.

I now have a 350 V8, four bolt main, four barrel carb, a shift kit in my manual transmission along with headers and of-course Bosch plugs and wires. My k&N air filter will be on the island in a few days, but for the past six months no mustang on the island can touch my 'stang killer. Getting performance parts for vehicles over here is expensive due to shipping costs, but for me it was all worth it.

8th Mar 2003, 16:14

Hey. I'm going on seventeen and bought my very own 1987 Camaro RS—only 109,000 miles on it. She runs with perfection! No engine problems thus far; in fact, no problems at all. Only thing is, it has a squeak in the engine which I can't figure out. But, hell, I wouldn't trade it for anything. She was hard earned and well worth it.

Mark B

LaPlata Maryland

March 8th 2003

AGE 16.

30th Mar 2003, 12:05

March 30, 2003

I recently purchased a 1987 camaro with a 305 four barrel, automatic tranny. It was driven daily for years before I got and it still runs strong. Other than using a little oil (typical for a 16 year old vehicle), it's a great car. My first camaro, and probably not my last.

Phil Craft

Raleigh, NC

28th Jun 2003, 01:10

What is the toyota Cam syndrome.

1987 Chevrolet Camaro IROC 5.0 tuned port injection from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 tuned port injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Drives like a Ferrari :-) with the reliability of a Chevy ;-(

Faults:

Minor problems here and there, but nothing major, it's just that the rear tires keep wearing out!!!

And it's bright red, so the cops don't like it.

General Comments:

Some performance mods like headers and a chip made it real fast. I like to poo on Mustangs with it. Excellent handling, great acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

11th Apr 2008, 14:37

"I like to poo on Mustangs with it."

That is a neat trick.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews