1998 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 Liter V8 from North America


A defective piece of garbage


Rotors warped at less than 25,000 miles of easy, highway miles.

Transmission and torque converter had to be replaced after 54,000 easy, highway miles.

General Comments:

I have owned a 1986 base Camaro which I drove over 130,000 miles in and never had to spend a dime on repairs. I owned a 1996 base Camaro which I traded in at 25,000 miles and had absolutely no problems with for my current 1998 Z28.

I am severely disappointed with the fact that I had to spend $2,500 to replace the transmission and torque converter in a vehicle with only 54,000 easy, highway miles.

I am absolutely disgusted with General Motors for failing to allow me to voice my complaint and request for partial reimbursement of the cost of repair.

I would not even consider buying a General Motors product ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

14th Jan 2002, 14:01

I also own a 1998 camaro. My rotors also warped after a short time. They were turned for free. This is not a particularly unusual problem on any car with antilock brakes. I bet not all of those miles were "easy" highway miles. Why on earth did you not buy the extended warranty? To say that you would not buy ANY GM product after this is just ridiculous.

I also had to have the pinion bearing and seals as well as the side bearings replaced. I still love the car.

1998 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7L from North America


Absolutely the best bang for the buck on the market


Pinion seal leak at 28,000. Covered by the warranty with no questions asked.

Front rotors warped at 29,000. Caused a slight shutdder below 20 MPH and above 80 MPH. Had it fixed at 43,000.

General Comments:

The LS1 engine is a masterpiece. I could talk and compare all night as my brother owns a 99 TA WS6 and my wife a '96 Mustang GT. In stock form the car performs awesome, especially at top end; it will do every bit of the speedometer's 155. There is also a great aftermarket now.

The lowest points I can think of are the low ride and poor handling in wet conditions. Of those 2 low points I say I have no problem with the low ride nor admitting that the car has too much power in certain weather... just informing you of all the possibilities. Also suspension doesn't handle bumps very well, like potholes or RR tracks. The car is simply a bad-ass, head turning, beautiful machine even at 47,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

26th Aug 2001, 02:13

Just bought a used '98 with 19,696 miles on it for $14,988. Nearly loaded, immaculate condition, auto, 5.7 liter, did I say immaculate? Modified exhaust, leather, I also suspect the car's chip was modified too... hauls a-- off the line. Haven't had it long enough to notice any problems. So far it hasn't leaked anything although the brakes do squeak. Hope the rotors are not warped! Also, mileage sucks but what do you expect with a car that exhales 330 hp (manufacturer's 305 hp rating I hear is underrated)!

A true "intimidator" on the street, other cars stay behind me, and don't seem to want to pass me when they're in an adjacent lane. Insurance not bad either, pray no tickets! Tricky to drive in the rain, you can swing the rear end out easily if you apply too much throttle... luckily it doesn't snow here. So far so good, and I absolutely positively love this car!!! Just hope it stays that way... and if you can, buy an extended warranty just in case. Drive safe...

1998 Chevrolet Camaro V6 from North America


I bought my Camaro brand new in 1998 from a dealer in Fort Worth, Texas. I agree with the concept of "problem child" - though my 1974 (still owned) and a 1986 (sold) run great!

This current Camaro has had the rotors turned twice, four pinion seals put in, three housings, two rear end gears (awaiting a third), seepage in the rear axle area (supposedly fixed), an oil sensor replaced, the cluster removed and repaired and only has 17,000 miles!

I would only buy another car from Chevrolet with a Buyer Assist.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

8th Aug 2004, 12:24

Sorry to break the news to you dude, but you just got a lemon. I know the '98 Camaros to be quite reliable.

8th Jan 2007, 15:46

I have a 98 convertible that I bought brand new. It has 109,000 miles on it now and the only thing that has happend is one of my head gaskets had a leak. If you treat you car with respect and use good quality fluids and change them regularly, it will last you for ever. I traded in my 1988 IROC for it and the same thing went for that one. The only problems I had with that one was a leaky head gasket and a new clutch. I had it for 9 years and had 107,000 miles on it.

1998 Chevrolet Camaro Base Coupe 3.8L from North America


Another problem child from Chevrolet


Warped brake rotors since new.

Pinion seal in rear-end replaced.

General Comments:

Rotors have been warped since new and 75% of the cars sold in 1998 have this problem. Unless you want to replace with aftermarket rotors at your own expense, steer clear of 1997-2000 Camaro's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

8th Aug 2004, 12:28

I have never had that kind of luck with my rotors for one. Two, rotors aren't really considered that expensive if you're changing that often with stock rotors anyways, so it would be saving money in the long run to buy aftermarket rotors. And three, the only time that I have ever warped my rotors, is when my rear brake pads wore down to nothing and the calipers were the only thing grabbing the rotors. And I can't say that you should hate everything from Chevy, and everything in your car just because you have the continuous rotor issue.

1998 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe 3.8 V6 from North America


Evap harness leak at fuel tank harness. Other than that, slight wind noise. Both problems fixed under warranty in one day.

General Comments:

This car has really surprised me, despite what is generally said about the Camaro. The 3.8 has enough power for most people. The car handles very well, just be careful in the wet. That said, my next car will be a Camaro Z28.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999