2000 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 LS1 5.7L V8 from North America

Faults:

Nothing major, repaired leak in differential under warranty.

General Comments:

"The best car I have ever owned"

Great performance, cargo space, handling, and (relative) economy. Have gotten 30 MPG and average 23. Ride may be rough, but that is by design to provide adequate road feel. RWD {conventional) platform provides excellent control and feedback for driver. General Motors has abandoned the affordable 4 passenger enthusiast market, leaving only the Imports and Ford to offer V8 RWD performance vehicles. FWD has always been a compromise and will never match RWD in evasive and other performance maneuevers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

13th Jan 2006, 00:49

30mpg and 23mpg average!!?? Wake up! There's no way in the world you can get that kind of real-world mpg in a Camaro v8.

23rd Jan 2006, 20:56

30 MPG highway is not crazy. Neither is an Avg. of 23. I get 18+ MPG all city driving in my Camaro SS. Considering that my driving is "spirited", and that I almost never use overdrive, 23 MPG is certainly attainable. Most LS1 owners report getting at least 20 MPG city. Many of the import guys will rag on the domestics because they're "gas guzzlers", but if they put 300+Hp into their Civics, they probably wouldn't be getting much better than 20 MPG city.

24th Mar 2006, 10:42

2000 LS1, Auto.

I keep track of every gallon of gas I put in my vehicle. I am amazed that my average.mpg is 20-21 plus! This is mostly city driving and I am not easy on the gas.

When I go on extended trips - it typically is 23-25.mpg with my best being 26.8.mpg.

This is with an auto - the 6 speeds get better mileage than this.

Wow - let's all go get hybrid Accords that get 27.mpg as was just tested in April 2006 Motor Trend. Imports are so over rated!

2000 Chevrolet Camaro SS 5.7 from North America

Summary:

A great all around sports car for a reasonable price

Faults:

My SS had serious transmission problems shortly after I purchased it. The mechanics at the dealer could not explain why it happened and said that they had only seen it happen a few other times. (Planetary gears locked up and I had to replace entire transmission).

General Comments:

This car gets the power on the ground with no hesitation at any speed. I have yet to find a car that can keep up with me. I absolutely destroyed a turbo charged Eclipse.

It makes every trip fun and I can't wait to drive it. I get plenty of looks while driving around. Not much cargo and the insurance can get pretty expensive. Sound system and muffler both sound good. The alarm system is nice. A great all around every day driver as long as you don't have a big family and it's not snowing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Camaro SS 5.7 LS1 V8 from North America

Summary:

This SS is fast and gorgeous

Faults:

The t-tops leak around the windows.

There is a bad connection in the driver's side window. Sometimes the window won't move.

General Comments:

This car is unbelievably fast! With few modifications it has outrun cars nearly twice it's cost.

It's beautiful. The ram air hood and spoiler really turn heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7L LS1 from North America

Summary:

High power, low price

Faults:

Front rotors needed to be turned at 30000 miles.

Has a vibration in the front end on right turn accelerations. The dealer has no idea why.

General Comments:

If you want speed, this is the car for you. Freeway on ramps will never be the same. I have not taken this car to its top speed, but I am sure it will do every bit of the 155mph speedometer. 0-60 in just over 5 seconds and the quarter in around 13. Not bad for a car straight of the lot and nothing added.

T-tops are awesome. Open up and let the air in.

T-56 six speed is a lot of fun to drive, unless you are in rush hour traffic in Seattle. Skip shift stinks though. Always wants to come on when you are accelerating up hill. Talk about bogging down. Chevy could have left out that one thing.

Traction control is a nice option, especially on rainy days, which we seem to have a lot of in the North West.

Front seats are OK, could use lumbar support and a better headrest. Back seats are somewhat useful. I cannot sit back there, but my wife has and says it is not too bad. Best only for kids.

Do not even think of going on a trip where you will bring more than one bag. The "trunk" is very small and is only a hole between the wheels in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003