1978 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews

1978 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

This car cannot get any better

Faults:

Engine replaced at 40k miles, because previous owner stuffed it in a storage and forgot about it.

Carb was rebuilt (and still acts up if not fully warmed up)

New paint job.

General Comments:

This is a great car, it has served me well and even provided me a place to sleep on some dark and foggy nights.

It doesn't have the greatest handling, but it gets the job done.

The power of the engine is a head rush every time you step on the gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

1978 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 350 5.7L V8 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Most recent distance139000 kilometres
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

One of the finest American made cars ever produced!

Faults:

Mirror on driver's door broken inside unit. Heater not working since purchase.

General Comments:

Best car I've owned so far, a true high-quality GM!!! It's not only a terrific and reliable running car, the jet smooth 350 isn't cheap on gas, but makes up the cost on excellent dependability!

Suspension isn't too soft like a Cadillac, but would certainly please the Queen if she rode in this top-of-the-line Caprice Classic!

Mechanically it is a marvel with all it's anti-pollution hardware. Regardless, with prpper upkeep the car doesn't leak any oil, and no work is required on the brakes, transmission, or any other component on this my Caprice.

All she needs is a fresh new two tone paint job, and a new stereo, and it'll be the perfect cruiser~! Chevrolet... A-ok!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

1978 Chevrolet Caprice classic 4 door 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance238000 miles

Summary:

Great!

Faults:

The usual... gas tank, radiator, brakes, rotors, turn signal spring, tie rods/center link, shocks.

General Comments:

I also owned a 78, bought it from my dad with 196k on it. It was totaled when I had my temps at 16. That was at about 185k on it. Sold it still running good at 238k. Original Engine and trans, carbuerator and valve gaskets were never touched, body was still in decent shape for Wisconsin, but finally the frame was getting really rusty on the rear end and I stuck my finger through it under the trunk. Decided college was just about over, and upgraded to a 91 caprice. Boy, how I wish I had the 78 back. Never complained about the gas mileage for this beast. I averaged about 12-14, which meant never more than 270 on a tank! Only left me stranded 2x in 5 years. 1 of them was a flat tire, the other was a leaky gas tank. Just fed it oil (burned about 1 qt/2000 miles, same as the 91 with 70k on it). Other than the ugly green color, it was really a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

1978 Chevrolet Caprice 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The American Dream on Wheels

Faults:

General Maintenence i.e.: Tires, Brakes and regular oil changes.

General Comments:

I bought this car in 99 from a little old lady who used to drive it back and forth to church on Sundays, and bingo on Wednesday nights. It has a V8 350 and a 4 bbl Quadrajet in it. I'm not quite sure what she needed that much power for.

In December of that same year a drunk driver plowed head first into me. If I were in any other car I would have been killed. To show my appreciation I rebuilt the car from the ground up, and gave it a top of the line paint job.

It still has all of its original components. (Engine and Transmission)

It even survived going from the Roanoke Valley up to the Mile High city for a year and a half and back down again.

I would always trust my life in a Caprice. My wife has a 95. My sister has an 84. My mother had an 80 with over 400,000 miles on it, and my grandmother has a 95.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

3rd May 2006, 13:45

This little old lady was called Granny Flash and she was a Senior Citizen's Top Fuel Champion.

1978 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 350-4V from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350-4V Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 kilometres
Most recent distance199500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Van

Summary:

Good, honest, reliable car

Faults:

New radiator at 170000 KM.

Original starter failed at 190000 KM.

Both front brake hoses and calipers at 197000 KM.

Alternator belt let go at 199000 KM.

Routine maintenance (brakes, tires, tune-ups etc. don't count).

Non-functional air conditioning (no freon in the system).

General Comments:

1978 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 4-door sedan:

This car does not get the best fuel economy (16-17 MPG city, 22-24 MPG highway) but I feel that its excellent reliability more than makes up for it.

This car still has its original ball joints, tie rod ends, brake drums and rotors (new shoes and pads though), and of course, the original 350-4 barrel V8 and 3-speed automatic transmission; evidence of good care on the part of the previous owner.

The car has its original white paint, and green velour-like interior (though the right front fender was poorly repainted after a minor scrape-up).

Major options are: power windows and locks, in-glass antenna, tilt steering, and air conditioning (non-functional when I bought the car, and haven't bothered fixing it). It has an after-market stereo radio cassette player.

And of course, the 350 V8-4 barrel.

This car is easy (and cheap) to get parts for, and is easy to work on, if you do your own mechanics (cheap if you take it to a mechanic).

The car is quiet on the road, and comfortable for long trips and it handles reasonably well for a 3800-pound car. Despite its size, it is fairly easy to park in close quarters. The performance is pretty good for an emissions-choked 350 V8, with brisk but not quite neck-snapping acceleration. The brakes do a fairly good job of stopping the car, but in panic stops, it can try to skid to one side, if one were to lock up all the wheels. Good accident avoidance ability, though (I should know, I had to do it a couple times!)

The only modification I made was to add a rear anti-sway bar to the rear suspension to smarten up the handling a bit. I would also consider trashing the single (restrictive) exhaust system and go to a dual (freer flowing) system. The tires on it now, 215/75/R15, are adequate, but one size wider, 225/70/R15, for example, would aid in hard-cornering maneuvers.

I am satisfied with this car in general, and except for the fuel economy issue, would be THE ideal family car.

Now, if only I can find a '78 Caprice in that nice 2-door body style...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2001

3rd Mar 2002, 00:10

I have a one of those nice two door 78 caprices. I am in love with it.

18th Dec 2004, 14:24

I also have a 78 caprice 2 door I brought it a year ago the transmission just went out of it. I do plan on fixing it. It will take a long time before I can finish it.

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews