1979 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1979 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.7L V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I love my car

Faults:

Interior is wearing out: the safety belt is cracking and warping, upholstery is tearing, dashboard cracking due to age.

Slight body rust appearing on hood, window sills and inside doors.

General wear and tear such as brake pads, shock absorbers, radiator hose etc.

General Comments:

This car is a huge lumbering lump of steel which makes it slow to pick up speed, slow to stop and difficult to park.

My car is converted to Liquid Petroleum Gas...$5 worth of normal gasoline (petrol) only takes me to the corner shop and back!

The seats are so comfy I could fall asleep driving!

She sounds beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

1979 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.7L 350 V8 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Nothing beats a Caprice

Faults:

Water pump at 250000.

Heater core at 200000.

Radiator at 180000.

Signal light switch at 260000.

General Comments:

Absolutely amazing automobile.

Car was given to my Dad for $400, by someone who wanted the eyesore off the property.

Dad drove it for 6 years, gave it to me.

Now with 300000km (180000 miles), the 79 Caprice has never stalled, hesitated, or missed.

It has started and run flawlessly for over 100,000 of ownership, not bad for a 26 year old car.

Only problem I ever had was engine pinging at low altitude, turns out to be a vacuum leak, replaced the hose myself!

The most reliable, dependable car you could ever ask for.

Good on gas, 19mpg in city, 26 mpg on the highway, not bad for a 70s car.

Wish like heck this car would live forever, but rusting out like Canadian cars tend to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

13th Sep 2007, 14:49

Nice review. Although I should point out that the 1979 Chevy Caprice was built in the US, not Canada. ;)

17th Jun 2008, 11:48

I have a Chevrolet Caprice 1979, made in Venezuela. It's the the best car of all after 30 years, better than Daewoo, Mazda, Toyota, and Ford. It's big, luxurious and powerful on the highway. The other cars in Venezuela are called alligators, even with open mouths.

1979 Chevrolet Caprice 5L V8 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 5L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired290000 kilometres
Most recent distance320000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Driving this car is like being a King in a Castle!!

Faults:

The engine just kept shutting off after 1 hour. This was a former taxi and right before our family got it, a mechanic had worked on it.

General Comments:

This was my first love. The first I car I learned to drive.

It truly felt like you owned the road. Like a shark gliding through water. The front bench seat, seating three people, and the quality of the stock speakers, awesome.

However, I was only 17 at the time, and didn't know anything. Therefore I had never taken it to the shop, no oil changes, service or anything, and it being a former taxi, is the reason why it just kept shutting off after 1 hour of driving.

I was a fool for letting it go. I am definitely looking for another one, though it seems impossible to find one here in Toronto.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2005

18th Jan 2005, 01:38

Your title about feeling like driving one is like being king of a castle is true. Keep looking, there's a lot of good deals to be had on these out there. The regular Caprice's are a lot better appointed than the taxi's as you probably know. You might want to get a coupe, I have an '87 Landau and it's been an excellent car.

10th Feb 2005, 20:52

Thanks for the input. After reading about the 9C1, I am seriously considering getting one. The only one I'm able to find is 9hrs away from me, though I think it'll be worth it. Don't plan to use it as an every day car but just something to cruise in.

10th Feb 2005, 21:43

A GREAT WEBSITE for Chevy enthuiasts is www.chevytalk.org.

You will find the most experienced techs and meet lots of new friendly people here!!

Happy motoring! :D.

25th Aug 2005, 20:07

I ended up getting the 9C1 89 Caprice. After having to explain to the girlfriend, and everybody else why I was intent on getting it, with the trouble of having it shipped here from the US (it was impossible to find one here in Canada) it was all worth it. Though there is a slight vacuum leak possibly causing the car to stall after heating up and putting it in reverse, the ride is as superb as I remember it. Its not just about getting to my destination, it truly is about the journey as well.

Not to mention, everybody that's been in it thinks definitely cool (it is in very good shape for its age)

1979 Chevrolet Caprice Sedan 5.0 2brl. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 2brl. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

A creative minds sanctuary

Faults:

Amazingly the only thing I have replaced is the windsheild.

It might sound rediculous, but I don't think anything has every mechanically failed except a battery or two.

General Comments:

Caprice's...i don't know what to say, they are big.

Use too much gas.

Steer poorly.

I have decided the only way to make this 79' caprice decent is to paint it black put on a white vinyl top, and tint the windows to match.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

7th Oct 2005, 20:51

A caprice is the best car especially a 1979, why aren't they classics yet?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews