1979 Chevrolet Caprice Classic from North America - Comments

31st Aug 2008, 21:47

14:49.

I do not think the reviewer was referring to where the car was made, but where it "lives." Having visited Canada many times, I definitely understand that Canadian winters, while wonderfully scenic and fantastic for winter sports, are very rough on cars.

2nd Sep 2008, 05:27

This review reminded me of a story - I used to find cars for friends of mine who needed something cheap, and I found this one guy a 1979 Caprice Wagon. Well, it cost only $250, but looked like something in a junkyard - very dirty, but all there.

Anyway, he took it home and broke the ignition somehow so he couldn't shut it off, and it being about 8:00 PM and no repair shops open he just let it idle all night till eight AM the next morning! He said it used no more than 3/8ths tank of gas, and was idling just fine when he jumped in it and took it to get the ignition fixed. The fellow drover it for a couple of years after that, too.

I don't know if that one had the 350, the 305, or the 307, but the junkyard man said it was a 305.

5th Sep 2008, 13:47

Correct - my friend knew absolutely nothing about the mechanicals of automobiles. And the great thing about even a $250 Chevrolet Caprice was - he had no need to! Wonderful, wonderful cars.

7th Sep 2008, 15:48

No need for luck if you drive a Caprice. But the thing about $250 cars is they are, after all, disposable.

24th Mar 2010, 23:20

When I read this review, it reminded me of my ownership experience... until I realized I I wrote this review 5 years ago!

In the past 5 years, the car has been to Mexico and to the Arctic Circle and is now approaching 400,000 km. The body and chrome are falling off, doors are rusted out, looks like hell, but the car runs like new and has never let me down. -40c in winters to +40c in Death Valley, this car always goes.

Other than front end work, new timing chain, and a blower motor, nothing has gone wrong with this car.

And YES this car is CANADIAN! Made in Oshawa, Ontario in Cctober 1978. The powertrain is almost entirely made in Canada.

I've got a 1979, 1988 and a 1990.. the 1979 is by far the best.

7th Jan 2011, 22:19

I have a 79 Chevy Caprice 350 motor, I really need it to do my job, and run it about 120 miles daily. I have doing this since four years ago without any problem; thank God for this car.

8th Jan 2011, 20:26

Nothing beats a Caprice, I agree.

These cars have never let me down, always bought them for really cheap, and have driven them across Canada and the US to both coasts. I've never had one of these fail on me, ever. This is a car built like a truck! These cars were designed to take heavy abuse for Taxi and Police fleets.

They run very high mileage too, cannot kill these cars!

I have 2 of them now, and I'm planning to buy a 3rd one, a 1988 Brougham LS, just because it's in excellent shape.

I owned a lot of used cars, then I got my first Caprice finally. Now I only drive Caprices, I've never went wrong with those.

Even if I spent 10 to 20 times as much on a newer car. It would not feel as comfortable or luxurious as my Caprice.

These cars are not that bad on gas either, excellent on the highway for sure. 27-28 MPG on my fuel injected 305 V-8.

1990 Caprice, and 24-25 MPG on the carburated 305 V-8 in my 1981 Caprice.

Either way, I am more than willing the pay the extra dollar or 2 a day to use it for my daily commute. I explained it to coworker like this : I can get a cheap fast food coffee every morning, or I can spend an extra dollar or 2 to get a quality latte or something. I always buy the better coffee, because it makes the day better.

Same thing, I could spend 2 hours of my day commuting in a cramped compact economy car to save a few dollars. I could also spend 3 hours on public transit a day to save some money, but money is not an issue, quality of life is more important.

I don't understand why so many people drive their ugly, generic front wheel drive commuter appliances.

A lot of my friends have Honda's, Hyundai's, which are always cramped and uncomfortable for passengers, I find it completely takes the joy out of a road trip.

I would rather ride in a living room on wheels, sailing the roads in a land yacht. With a good sound system to boot, I'm never afraid of rush hour or traffic jams :)

9th Jan 2011, 14:25

That's why SUVs are so nice as well. I rode 30 miles in a 2004 Civic EX, and even with 15 inch tire, its thin seats were awful. I was beat up and sore.

4th Jul 2011, 20:09

This particular 1979 Chevrolet Caprice was built in Oshawa, Ontario, Canada. Although there may have been other locations as well.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site