1985 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews

1985 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5 liter 305 V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5 liter 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This is a WONDERFUL car. All of them are!

Faults:

The power steering pump went out 26 years later at 118000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a great running car, and is in excellent shape.

I love this car, and it's my 6th Caprice. I've owned a 69, 77, 78, 83, 85 and a 91.

My favorite was the 69! These cars are SO reliable it's ridiculous, and parts nowadays are very cheap.

Gas mileage on mine is very good, which surprises me a lot, but I think it has to do with the over drive transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2011

11th Aug 2011, 20:47

I have said it before and I will say it again, the Caprice is the best car ever made.

I have owned a ton of cars from all different brands, and nothing compares to a Caprice.

Unstoppable reliability, low maintenance, cheap parts, easy to fix, amazing build quality, attention to detail, beautiful classic styling, not to mention to most comfortable interior ever put in a motor vehicle to date.

As well, no blind spots, easy visibility, super safe and solid on the road, and an absolute pleasure to drive with the cushy suspension, V-8 power, and effortless rear wheel drive steering.

The only issue is gas mileage, but even that is not so bad. I am willing to pay an extra $10 a week to drive a huge comfortable sofa to work instead of a tacky plastic front wheel drive sardine can.

I love the Caprice, it is everything a car should be, a REAL car, a car that puts a smile on your face every time you drive it. I make excuses just to take mine out all the time!

14th Aug 2011, 03:22

I couldn't agree more, except to say that I slightly preferred the twin of the Caprice - the full sized rear wheel drive Oldsmobile Delta 88, made up to 1985. I've owned about 3 Caprices and about the same number of Olds 88s.

The car was nearly identical to the Caprice (along with the Buick LeSabre) other than some trim details, except for the 307 Olds engine rather than the 305. Each of these engines had their better and worse points compared to the other, and I think it is a matter of personal preference - I happen to like the 307. Also the seats in my Oldsmobiles were marginally more comfortable than in my Caprices.

14th Aug 2011, 17:24

I couldn't agree more myself. Ahhhhh! The beautiful GM B-bodied full-size luxury tanks starting in 1977 were some of the finest cars of that era. Even though horsepower dropped in the early 80's, it really didn't matter because these cars were meant to cruise in comfort. I learned how to drive in my father's 85 LeSabre 2 door; some day when I can afford a toy (a second car), I would love to find a LeSabre just like it.

30th Aug 2011, 23:32

I am currently shopping for a 77-90 Caprice, since I made the mistake of selling my last one to buy a work truck :(.

They are pretty hard to find these days; if you find one, keep it and maintain it well, they are built to last, and they don't make cars like this any more!

1985 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance288815 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

After 22 years of ownership, it is still going strong

Faults:

A/C stopped working in 1989.

New suspension in 1992.

New headliner in 1993.

New starter in 1993.

New exhaust in 1995.

New hood and trunk shocks in 1999.

Rebuilt carburetor in 2001.

New headliner again in 2003.

New suspension again in 2006.

New paint and vinyl roof in 2008.

New exhaust system again in 2009.

And a new fuse box earlier this year.

General Comments:

So far, after 22 years of owning this car, I can't complain. I have loved this car since the day I bought it, and I don't plan on ever getting rid of it. It is a good full size 4 door that is perfect for me and my family, and is a good car for long trips.

The interior in this car is extremely comfortable, and although it is on its third headliner, I have no complaints.

I never had the air conditioning fixed, because I like driving with the windows down, and the light blue paint doesn't make this car get too hot.

It has a dark blue full vinyl top and a dark blue clothe interior, which makes this car look good.

All in all, I love this car, and have loved it since the day I bought 22 years ago today. Happy 22nd anniversary Caprice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2010

21st Sep 2010, 02:24

Yeah, the Caprice is a great car. People ask me why I drive a Caprice, it's because I won't feel safer or more comfortable in another car. I never have to worry about being stranded on the side of the road. It's a very well built car even by today's standards.

23rd Sep 2010, 00:18

Keep it and it'll go for 500,000 miles easy.

These cars are becoming more rare and are hard to find that aren't hacked up or beat on by kids. I've owned several, including 2 station wagon versions. They are solid, safe, and reliable.

I've also owned two '85 Olds Delta 88's which is the exact same as a Caprice with different name and styling. Those were favorites of mine. The Pontiac Parisienne is also the same car in disguise; as well as the Buick LeSabre from that era.

I'd recommemd one of these 'ol tanks to anyone. Plus they are extremely comfortable, like driving a couch. I really miss mine. Happy motoring!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews