1988 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Very good old-grandma never-breaking cruiser

Faults:

I had to replace the wiper lever.

New tires.

General Comments:

This car is just great, I love it because you can ride 2000 miles and still feel good.

The car doesn't feel like the 170hp, and 255 torque. It's sluggish at almost all ranges, though it's a good cruiser, and you can do some little burnouts. I think the problem is the 4 speed auto, the second and third are just too high.

Gas mileage is nothing to boast about: 17-18 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Caprice Royal Brougham LS 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

I wish they made the exact same model in 2000

Faults:

I changed the alternator once.

General Comments:

A 1988 Chevy Caprice Royal Brougham. Dark blue leather interior, full white vinyl top, and an engine to back it up.

This is possibly the best vehicle ever manufactured. I can depend on this car to go anywhere and everywhere. Through the snow and mud, through mountains and deserts. I love this car. It's my best friend.

The loud purr of the engine, and the feel of the heavy momentum in the free way, is a comforting feeling and you know you can go anywhere in America. I have had so many road trips on that car. To Mexico and then back to Canada, and then to Reno, 100 miles per hour 20 hours a day, this car is unbeatable.

Nothing feels better than a full tank of gas in the Caprice Classic, because you know you can go 500 miles before stopping for gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

20th Oct 2002, 17:37

Yeah these are really good cars, I am considering purchasing one myself. One with the 5.0L automatic.

4th Oct 2005, 17:11

I own a Caprice and know what you mean about filling it up, it goes a very long way on a tank of gas. It can often be expensive considering the capacity of the tank, but it's nice to be able to go long distances without worrying about the next fuel stop. Very useful if you often go on road trips or vacations.

7th Feb 2006, 09:44

I have had my 1988 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Brougham for over 10 yrs now, with 350,000 km (220,000 miles) on the odometer and she still runs like a dream. Even on the coldest day of winter she's flawless. Best car ever made!

7th Feb 2006, 16:14

I owned a 1988 Caprice Classic Brougham with the 5.0L V-8 and achieved as high as 620 miles on a tank of gas. After the 1991 redesign, my Caprice buying days were over.

1988 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Brougham 5.0, 305 V8, 4 bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0, 305 V8, 4 bbl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance106500 miles

Summary:

Great luxury car with performance to match

Faults:

The only problems I have had have been routine maintenance.

The brakes had to be replaced.

The alternator had to be rebuilt.

General Comments:

The 305 produces plenty of power, especially with a K&N air filter. This Caprice handles better than any car I have ever driven, and rides like a dream.

It's amazing to think I only paid $1000.

The exterior lines are clean and unbroken, and the interior has the same treatment. The leather is still in perfect condition.

In addition, the gas mileage is reasonable for such a tank... as long as you stay out of the 4 barrel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

28th Sep 2003, 14:34

My 88 Caprice is the best car I have ever had, it has 289000 miles and has never been rebulit just one transmission.

11th Nov 2005, 22:15

I bought a 1988 Caprice Brougham new for around $17,000. The car was absolutely awesome. I regularly achieved 30 MPG on the highway with the 305 4-barrel. The ride and quiet was second to none. The only issue I had with the car was the paint was "egg-shelling" on the trunk and hood. I believe GM had a problem with the primer they were using during that time. We traded it off for a 1993 Dodge Grand Caravan, and, to this day, I regret that move. I wish Chevrolet would bring back a car comparable to the big Caprice.

11th Apr 2006, 19:49

I believe they switched to basecoat/clearcoat paint that year which might explain the paint problem. My '87 has acrylic lacquer and it still looks great. Polishing compound works wonders with this type of paint.

12th Apr 2006, 11:07

The four barrel carb was abandoned in 87 for the throttle body fuel injection. This should give about 17city 25hwy and a great whooping sound should the air cleaner assembly be turned upside down and re-installed. For scientific purposes only, of course.

Mine had a 85mph speedo with the '55' highlighted in blue.

For numerically challenged folks, I suppose.

Ah, memories.

12th Apr 2006, 20:54

As the poster who bought one in 1988, the throttle-body injection was available on the 4.3 V-6 and became available on the 5.0 in 1989. The 5.0 was indeed carbureted in 1987 and 1988. Check out the specifications.

1988 Chevrolet Caprice Police Pursuit 350 4-bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 4-bbl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance223000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Ride in a Heavy Chevy that HANDLES like a 'Vette!

Faults:

Oil changes, brake pads, spark plugs, wipers, thermostat, regular maintenance items.

Other parts were EGR valve, distributor ignition module, and tires (this car will BROIL them off it).

At 185,000 miles, I had to get the CAT replaced (it was plugged).

General Comments:

This ex-police car is FAST. I can out-handle Hondas with this boat (unbelievable until I take you off the circular exit ramp at 75-80mph). Those beefy sway bars and Eagle GT+4's really DO make a difference.

The interior is unscathed, and I get regular oil changes at 3-4000 miles. The car never has to have any oil added.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2001

12th Oct 2002, 18:08

I have one of these cars, too. Had exact same experiences right down to the EGR valve needing replacing and a plugged CAT at 175,000. Powerful car and amazing handling with the GT+4 Good Years.

2nd Feb 2003, 11:37

I have a caprice too, not a police spec one, but I would like to have it handle better- what is the difference in suspension between a standard car and police spec?

27th May 2003, 09:16

I have owned two caprice classics one an '86 and one an '88

LS. Both were low maintenance cars. The '86 had 567,000 km on it before an accident ended its life. The '88 has 319,000 km and still going strong.

26th May 2005, 10:23

Wonder if this dude has since hit a concrete abutment taking exit ramps at 75-80 mph?

8th Dec 2008, 13:54

I have recently acquired one of these Police Pursuit Caprices, and I have a 1980 Buick Regal Sport Coupe, I am going to swap the suspension and drive train out of the Caprice into the Buick; the Buick is about 700-1000 pounds lighter than the Caprice; it should be a kick in the a**

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews