1988 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews

1988 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0L 305 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L 305 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired214000 kilometres
Most recent distance243000 kilometres

Faults:

Fan blower vibrating due to a bad bearing.

Transmission slippage. (overdrive)

Headliner.

Driver seat does not recline due to bad back.

Wiper motors scream very loud at low temperatures.

General Comments:

Good strong car, bad mileage.

I'm 21 years old, and I've tried to beat the crap out of it... still runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2009

1988 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon 5.0 (307) from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 (307) Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88197 miles
Most recent distance138068 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

This is one of the best cars I have owned

Faults:

Only bad thing that happened to this car that was major was, the power seat switch shorted out, starting a small fire in the left front door. That was New Years Eve 2003/2004. I repaired that and cleaned it up. No problems since.

General Comments:

This has been a great car. After 138,000 miles it's still tight and very solid. I drive it everyday to work and on other trips I take.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

1988 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0L 305 V8 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The usual, windshield washer motor, water pump, new tires.

The car has a hesitation that I cannot get rid of. Every time I accelerate, without exception, there is a brief hesitation as the car pulls away. It doesn't matter whether its cold or warmed up. O2 sensor has been replaced, fuel injectors cleaned, timing set, etc etc etc. Many garages have been visiting, much time and effort spent to correct problem, but won't go away. Car has 305 V8 with throttle body fuel injection. Anybody have any suggestions or ideas on how to correct it, advice much appreciated! Otherwise a fantastic great American car.

General Comments:

Other than continual hesitation upon acceleration, car performs and runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

26th Jan 2005, 00:01

There was a problem with camshaft wear on these if the oil wasn't religiously changed at the recommended intervals. Likely the hesitation is due to excessive wear on one or more of the cam lobes. Replace cam and see what happens from there - these have hydraulic roller lifters, so unless the lifters are obviously worn, they shouldn't need replacement with the cam.

9th Mar 2006, 20:26

Sounds like a worn camshaft.

1988 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 305 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance37982 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

American made, American power

Faults:

Upon purchasing the vehicle, the transmission was shot.

The exhaust system was virtually non-existent.

The brakes were on their last legs, and caused the car to shake violently when applied.

The right ball joint was cracked, or as I liked to say "dislocated" making turning a very dreadful task.

General Comments:

When I bought the vehicle I was skeptical, though it had only been purchased for $300, I felt as if it were a money pit.

I was amazed to find that most general repairs to the car were affordable and several were able to be done at home with the assistance of my father.

The Brougham picks up like you wouldn't believe, this car can fly and fly fast! That antique 305 four-barrel under the hood still works like a charm!

The seats (and interior for that matter) are like your first dorm-room couch, or your favorite t-shirt: a bit dingy, but comfortable as all get out, and roomy to boot, I've had upwards of four average-sized people in the backseat at one time.

My only complaint is that the gas prices in Chicago (which can reach ranges of close to $3.50 on a good day) severely try my patience for this car, being that it is summer, I have hooked up the air conditioning, and because of that, I find myself getting a whopping 15 miles per gallon (granted it is a 20 gallon tank, but then again, it costs upwards of $40+ to fill it up).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2004

1988 Chevrolet Caprice 9C1 Police Package 5.0L LG4 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L LG4 305 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

9C14ME2

Faults:

Replaced the engine when the oil pressure got low. Previous owner had run it out of oil due to the fact it had a leaky (bent) valve cover and leaked oil, and didn't pay attention.

Normal maintenance items such as brakes, ignition, tires etc.

Replaced the carburetor at 130,000 miles when the EEC valve blew and caused the carb to be filled with charcoal from the canister.

General Comments:

My only complaint with the car is that it could use about 20-30 more ft. lbs. of torque from the engine. Having said that, it's a car I have wanted since they became available and the one I have even has a 120mph speedometer!

As has been said here, many times, it is truly the last great American automobile and I plan on having this car for the foreseeable future. I might upgrade the engine to a 350 though. ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

3rd Jan 2006, 00:37

You may get some negative comments about the engine, but I'd replace yours with a late 70s Oldsmobile 403. You'll have all the torque you'll need and still be able to meet emissions compliance!

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews