1992 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews

1992 Chevrolet Caprice Brougham 5.0 from Estonia

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

So good

Faults:

Waterpump started leaking at 178,000 km.

New rear suspension and whole brake system (discs, drums, pads, lines) at 155,000 km.

Had to change the thermostat and oxygen sensor every year.

General Comments:

One of the smoothest rides I've ever owned, so comfy, so good, oh man, oh man.

Had to sell it because life plays tricks on you sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2011

23rd Jun 2011, 15:28

"Had to sell it because life plays tricks on you sometimes."?

What "trick" could possibly necessitate selling a 19 year old Chevy?

28th Jun 2011, 13:05

To the above poster - you've obviously never had to work for a living. Sometimes being poor drives us to unfortunate, desperate necessities, and the grand or two this fine old car could net could save a fellow from homelessness in an extremity.

1992 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0L (305 C.I.) V8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0L (305 C.I.) V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

The greatest car ever!!!

Faults:

Water pump.

Wheel cylinders.

Thermostat.

Left rear window motor, due to age.

Left rear window sash clips due to forcing up in extreme cold.

Left front window sash clips due to forcing up in extreme cold.

Engine temp. switch.

Horn switches.

Starter.

Cruise control module.

Center armrest, due to previous owner letting her daughter climb from the back seat to the front seat.

General Comments:

The 1992 Caprice has been one of the best cars I've ever driven.

Although at speeds higher than 100 mph, she pulls to the left just enough to steer itself through a wide turn.

She rides like a dream, and can go through a medium-sharp turn at 60 mph with little effort; more than that and she'll start to lift enough to make you think it's gonna roll over.

I've put this car through some tough tests of my own including, 1/8 mile drag racing, emergency maneuvers, emergency braking, and forceful loss of control. After these tests, I can say this car is a beast and in the right hands, this is an excellent car in terms of control, and speed.

The interior is very roomy, has comfortable seats, and has a great dash layout.

Since I've had this car, I've installed a stereo unit, speakers, a window lock switch, and a truck open switch from a 1993 Caprice Police Interceptor. And all installs have been easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2008

1992 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 305 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The most dependable car ever made!

Faults:

Brakes and alignments are constant.

General Comments:

The chevy 305 is one of most quietest dependable motors ever made. But is slow as Christmas. The 4.3 and 5.7 are much quicker.

Heavy car; eats up brakes.

The 350 should have been standard.

Smooth riding car.

Does not consume any oil between changes.

Bad on gas in the city. Excellent on the highway though!

The only thing I don't like about the 305 is the take off speed. I wouldn't mind if it had more horsepower. Too slow.

I think probably the most dependable car ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2007

1992 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 305 5L V8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 305 5L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres

Summary:

The most amazing car in the world, nothing is like it!

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this beauty is that the transmission takes a while to stick in reverse (due to my Grandfather never using it). I'm getting it rebuilt before December.

General Comments:

I've driven many cars (Caravan, Cavalier, Neon, Civic, Golf, Taurus, Jimmy, Escort, WRX, Sierra, all friends cars), but nothing compares to the feel of my Caprice; it's like making love.

The car is my first and I love it. I don't think that I've ever loved something so much! No word of a lie I actually dream about it!

I love the way it looks, it has class not like some Honda or Toyota. Sure they may be a little better on gas, but I'll take a classic North American car over them any day.

There is more than enough power under the hood! The 305 5L V8 is surprisingly good on gas in the city. Highway driving is even better and rpm's are relatively low. The power that is kicked out of the rear wheels makes you feel like you are being pushed forward by a rocket when you mash the gas.

Inside is huge and comfortable! The power bench seats in the front feel like a sofa, not to mention the back seat as well! The trunk can fit 4-5 bodies with the spare wheel.

Currently I have a stock system in it and I do not see any reason to change it. Sound is great and the stock Bose amp in the trunk provides more than enough power.

Handling is just about what you'd expect on a large car, but it can still race around, you just need to take it a little easy on corners.

I love this car and I wouldn't trade it for the world. I laugh when I see little Hondas racing around thinking they own the streets, but when I'm driving it's a different story. This car changes you, it makes you feel like The Boss, and you've got the sound and power to back it up!

Please GM make another Caprice Classic, but keep her classy, allot of old with a little bit of new technology!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

14th Oct 2005, 22:48

You've got a '92, the last year with the fender skirts in the back, I don't know why they eliminated them. Glad to hear you're enjoying it. I own an '87 myself, great cars.

4th Mar 2007, 21:39

It is a nice car. I have only had trouble with the ABS light staying on even when there is no problem.? It drives like a dream more than 15 years later. The only thing closer to it as ride goes for me is a Caddilac.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews