1996 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews

1996 Chevrolet Caprice 9c1 Police Pack 4.3L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Esteem

Summary:

Takes a beating and comes back for more!!!

Faults:

New stabilizer bar end links.

Tune up to be done.

Window regulator needed work.

General Comments:

This car is amazing!! The last of the big boats. I really wanted a Police Pack, as it is a much stiffer suspension with all the other HD parts. The car rides like a sports car, and doesn't seem "floaty".

Even though the engine is a 4.3L, it is amazing how peppy and reliable it is. It hasn't let me down.

There are small little things to fix here and there... after all it was a police car, but other than that, it handles like a champ!

These cars were meant to take a beating and keep on going, and that's what this car does every day. I recommend this car to anyone looking for a HD work-horse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

10th Nov 2008, 19:59

Right on, brother! I have a '96 Sports package Caprice 4.3L sedan. In the city, it's almost as fast as the 350. Pretty snappy passing slower traffic too. Keep up with the maintenance (especially fluid/filter changes) and they'll last a long, long time. My '91 just keeps getting better...

Keep smiling and have fun.

1996 Chevrolet Caprice 9C1 350 - LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 350 - LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

This is a great car, and I would not hesitate to buy another

Faults:

Cooling fan controller broken.

Fuel pump malfunctions when below a 1/4 tank.

Power steering gear box leaks.

Slight oil leak from crankshaft position sensor.

General Comments:

This specific vehicle was an ex-police car and was clearly driven hard. However, since I have owned the vehicle there have been no major problems.

The interior is spacious and comfortable. The size of the vehicle makes it a formidable sight, while the LT1 engine can put most any car in its place. Like many full size American cars, the vehicle has severe under-steer. Handling aside, I cannot give enough praise to this piece of American history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

1996 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 9C1 5.7 V8 LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired116140 miles
Most recent distance116200 miles

Summary:

A Caprice is the best boat you could own

Faults:

I have not owned this car long enough, but I know the brakes were replaced not too long ago.

Driver seat slightly cracked.

It has random holes in the interior, but this is because it was owned by the Virginia DOT.

General Comments:

This car is great for its size. It handles like a much smaller car should and is great on the highway and starting from red lights.

It's decked out with extra police package features; the suspension is amazing, 4 wheel ABS stops on a dime, and runs quiet with an extra silencer after the air intake.

Extra roomy with a huge trunk, which makes parking difficult, but the great steering keeps it managable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2005

30th Mar 2005, 11:23

An informative and comprehensive review.

NOT.

1996 Chevrolet Caprice Classic LT1 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission LT1 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired57308 miles
Most recent distance57308 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A great all around car with great performance!

Faults:

Just recently purchased this gleaming beauty from an older woman, but will have to flush the cooling system and replace the thermostat as it is not putting heat out. Car looks and drives like it just came off the showroom floor.

General Comments:

This is my second fully loaded Caprice and by far my most favorite car that I have owned. The performance of this 2-ton automobile is unbelievable. I love putting the gas pedal down and feeling this car jump. Between both Caprices I have owned, maintenance has been minimum (i.e., oil changes, tire rotation...). It also gets great gas mileage, which I average around 26 on the highway. And a person can't beat the comfort that the Caprice offers as well. This Caprice will be kept as a collector car; preserve it as a piece of great automobile history.

Any good recommended websites to purchase spare parts?

Sad that GM discontinue the Caprice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

1996 Chevrolet Caprice Classic LT1 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission LT1 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

The last of the best!!!

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this car is that little old lady that pulled out in front of me.

TOTALED!!!

General Comments:

This car is (was) an Impala SS in Caprice Classic dress. Has all of the SS performance mods already bolted to it. Leather interior, full power, brakes, tranny are flawless. This is basically a cop car for the chief. Great car, makes the city cops around here jealous. Love this car, damn shame to have seen it go to the yard to be chopped.

By the VIN #, this car was the very last 1000 ever built!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2003

24th Nov 2004, 12:19

Why was the Caprice stopped from being made.

8th Dec 2004, 07:35

The Caprice was halted for production due to the increasing demand of SUVs and the downward sales trends of the fullsize sedans. Glad I found a fully loaded Caprice with the LT1 to put away!

4th Jan 2005, 11:22

Pooh. There are tons of Impala SS and 9C1 Caprices for sale everywhere. There's no shortage by any means. 30-40 years from now, maybe...

27th Jan 2005, 12:28

Hi, has anyone heard about the new Chevy Caprice 2005? Yes, the 2005.

Thanks

Tom.

27th Jan 2005, 13:04

Checked out the 2005 Caprice sold in the Middle Eastern market as mentioned in previous comment. Looks very similar to the Impala being sold in North America. Couldn't tell whether it was fwd, but appears that it would be. It does have an SS version that comes with the 5.7 liter V8 (but then so does the Lumina SS).

Wouldn't hold my breath waiting for Chevrolet to ever start selling in the US though--not as long as the emphasis remains on suv's, and now "crossover" vehicles!

If and when Caprice ever returns to

Chevrolet's US lineup, hopefully it will be rear wheel drive, V8 powered, and incorporating "retro" styling a la the Chrysler 300! A two-door version would be cool, but probably too much to hope for!

11th Jan 2007, 23:47

The Chevrolet Caprice sold in the Middle East isn't an American car, it is a re-badged Holden from Australia. It is rear wheel drive and has a 5.7L motor.

AM

Australia.

12th Feb 2009, 00:38

What would it be like if GM redesigned the Caprice to compete somewhat with the big BMW and Mercedes. Redesign the suspension away from the old body on frame design to a four wheel independent suspension and uni-body construction with a big strong gm v-8. How would that kind of a car do? I had a Caprice and I loved it, but it was a boat. You drive a big BMW or MB and it's not a boat. We're not all going to want a Volt.

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews