1984 Chevrolet Chevette Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1984 Chevrolet Chevette diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Most recent distance350000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

Great car wish they would bring it back

Faults:

Clutch at 200,000

Alternator at 250,000

Timing belt 230,000.

General Comments:

The best vehicle I have ever had, this thing was like a tank indistructable. The diesel engine gave me incredible millage and the last two year I had it I was putting 1000 km a week on in all highway driving Barrie to Toronto every day. Regular maintenance and oil changes all it needed. The reason I sold my vehicle was because my family was growing, and I was running out of space, the person who bought it drove it for 4 more years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

16th Aug 2004, 14:04

You rated a diesel Chevette a 10/10 in performance?

As Dr Smith from "Lost in Space" would say, "Oh the pain, the pain!"

1984 Chevrolet Chevette 4-door 4 cylinder-gas from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder-gas Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carPontiac 1966 Buick Lesabre

Summary:

Good, but stay off the highway @ 70 mph

Faults:

Two timing belts broke!

Alternator went out.

Water pump went out.

Massive Oil Leaks.

Crankshaft pulley warped.

Rear springs worn out @ 80,000.

General Comments:

Chevettes are great around town, but not on the expressway.

No problems with the car until I started an hour commute on the 70 mph highway. After six months of that - major oil leaks lead to the timing belt breaking. The oil coated the belt and weakened it.

The good part on the timing belt is it's simple to replace.

A good car if you are nice to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2002

17th Mar 2005, 07:30

Ahh yes, but what about those who have the 3 speed auto?

17th Apr 2005, 17:52

I know nothing about cars. I'm only reading these to do a school project.

8th Jan 2006, 00:28

I used to have one of these cars with the automatic and I had the same problems on the highway, I never had a tach, but the engine raced at 70 mph. I think the manual had a different gear ratio than the automatic, if I remember right mine was a 3:36 rear end. This is probably the reason the manual works better on the freeway.

28th May 2008, 00:57

Remove the 4 screws in the dash corners, then pull it forward, unclip the speedo cable, then unplug the harness. The cluster will come out, then just switch the burnt out light. It will be a 194, whole job only take about 10 minutes.

30th May 2008, 11:45

Yikes, 70 mph for a Chevette? They were meant for optimal cruising at 55 mph. I hope you have a 5 speed or a 4 speed so you don't damage anything too seriously.

1984 Chevrolet Chevette CS 1.8 diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200134 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

A car Dr. Diesel would be proud of

Faults:

I changed the timing belt when I bought the car, it was original and I didn't want to risk damaging the rare engine.

Clutch replaced 2 weeks after driving, turned out to also be a stocker.

Replaced the front seats with those from an 86 Z-24 Cavalier, much more comfy, and the seats actually adjust now.

Little things have gone wrong here and there, but nothing else major.

General Comments:

This car just doesn't die.

It merrily chugs down the road, making the obvious diesel sounds, which always attract attention, just slowly sipping down its diesel diet.

With a new set of rims and higher performance tires (195/60r14's), the car handles like its on a set of rails, remarkable for an econobox.

I'm 6'3" and can fit somewhat comfortably in this car. The interior room is remarkable for such a small package.

Easy to park, and easy to navigate in traffic.

All in all a remarkable car for 200 US Dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

7th May 2004, 13:57

I bought a new 1984 Chevette Diesel, on the window sticker it said that this car was part of the Diesel Day's Promotion, without a doubt the best car I ever owned! And only paid 4500.00 for it! Please GM. lets do it again! Art...

1984 Chevrolet Chevette 2-Door base model 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13764 kilometres
Most recent distance13832 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A very practical and economical car

Faults:

The doors rusted out at the bottom.

Brake shoes are too small, but this goes for every Chevette made.

General Comments:

I love this car. There is just something about it that intrigues me. Perhaps its utter simplicity in a world where todays cars are so complicated.

I have put this car away with 13 000 kilometers on it, and don't really plan to take it out anytime soon. I still have the window sticker.

Although there is no rust (anymore), and the paint is perfect, I think as soon as it gets some use, rust will get the better of it very quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

27th Feb 2005, 20:01

I am 14 and my brother owned one of these babies when I was 6. The floor was completely gone and it was supported by 2x4s. He had a manual transmission and at one point, the clutch was so burned out that he could stop at a red light in gear and the engine wouldn't stall. The car broke down, sadly. Something internal... the piston,i think, the last cylinder this car was running on got messed up and the car was unable to move anymore. For about 2 more years, the car sat there in our driveway. My bro let me and my friend play in it and we had so much fun! I am definately getting one of these when I'm 16.

1984 Chevrolet Chevette 4 door CS 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

A tough little car with a big little heart

Faults:

The clutch started slipping.

The oil pan gasket leaks.

General Comments:

Its a tough little car that really is surprisingly powerful.

It can achieve speeds above 85 miles per hour with only 65 horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2001

12th May 2003, 13:55

I am a fan of the old rear-wheel drive big cars, But When I needed a small gas saver, I got a Chevette. My mother had one for years & years and I know that a more durable and easy to repair car for the money can't be found. Most people think they were front wheel drive, But the simple rear drive chevette (& Pontiac T-1000) drive line are as reliable and cheap to fix as a moped! I just wished that Chevy had other body styles on that platform (as Chrysler did with the Horizon/Omni design) There were Chevette notch-back Coupes and two-door wagons made in Brazil in that era. And the Isuzu Impulse was in fact on a modified Chevette (T-car platform) chassis. If only GM had let Chevy do some of these!

11th Oct 2006, 13:44

My Aunt had a Chevette back in the day, and it ran FOREVER. It got wrecked and totaled a number of times and it just kept on going. My grandfather had a Pontiac T-1000 and it was just as good. I recently came across a 1984 Chevette that runs pretty good and looks good as well for $100. I jumped on it fast, good running car and good on gas, hard to find these days.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews