1981 Chevrolet Citation Reviews

1981 Chevrolet Citation X-11 V6 from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great first car or a run around car

Faults:

Great car; handed down to me from parents, 66,000 original miles.

Clean interior.

New tires.

General Comments:

Got this car handed down to me. Some people are asking me if I want to sell it. I am trying to find the sale value of this car, so I can get rid of it. Anyone know where to look?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2010

1st Dec 2010, 22:17

There are X-11 enthusiasts out there, believe it or not. I'd say you might get around $1,500 from an X-11 nut just because of the low miles. Otherwise the value is very low, due to the infamous reliability issues they had in the '80s. Not as bad as a Vega, but still.. Check out the Yahoo X-11 Club, autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/chevycitationsforever

3rd Dec 2010, 02:29

Since the value of these cars are starting to rise up, I would recommend selling it for $2500-3000, since they are really hard to find, and they're one of the best performing vehicles of the early 1980s; even the Camaro's/Firebird's of that era couldn't come close to matching the performance of the Citation X-11.

1981 Chevrolet Citation X-11 H.O. 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission H.O. 2.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

An awesome car, one of the best!

Faults:

I've only had the car about 10 months so not too much.

The alternator went out at 133,000 miles.

Water Pump went out at 139,000 miles.

When I bought this car, I had to replace almost every gasket as oil was slowly seeping out of any possible place.

Brakes had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I am a big fan of Chevrolet and an even bigger fan of x 11's! I bought this car in February 2003 for 500$ cash, I took the time to see the difference from a regular citation to a x 11 and these are the differences.

The x-11 has a working cowl induction hood, along with a spoiler, and x-11 graphics on the bottom of door, and hatch.

It has a 140HP H.O. 2.8L v6, and was a very fast car for its day.

But there is something about this car that is even good to modern comparisons.

I owned a 1982 corvette, and I swear an x-11 would totally out corner it, if the tires are pumped up right it can take corners like a Ferrari!

I also love the styling of my x 11 it is a truly awesome car for its time, and if a ricer wants to give you a run for his money, he might get you off the line, but, if you find a corner, its over...

My 81' X-11 is in good shape for its age, the interior is GREAT, and there is very little rust on the body for an Ohio car.

All in all this car is worth every penny, the poorest of the poor would have a blast being able to afford one.

I recommend the Chevy X-11 to any sports car enthusiast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

26th Apr 2005, 12:13

I absolutely agree with your review.. I also have a X-11 of my own and I am head over heals in love with it.

6th Oct 2005, 18:29

I just got an '81 x-11 myself, and I'm quickly becoming obsessed with it.I'm trying to fit a 3.8L V6 under the hood, but I'm having a hard time with the transmission.

1981 Chevrolet Citation CL 2.5L I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98781 miles
Most recent distance109450 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

An economical car that never leaves me on the road

Faults:

The engine valve cover gasket is bad and requires replacement, it leaks oil.

The headliner is sagging badly, I put thumbtacks in it to keep it up.

The air conditioner does not work at all, I will probably just take it out, I like windows better anyway.

The brakes are terrible, they need immediate replacement.

The battery is draining for some reason if I leave it connected for a few days while I'm not driving it, it will die.

The paint was almost halfway gone from peeling when I bought it. I have repainted it for 100$, and it looks great now.

The interior needs some work things fall apart, like the knobs on the radio, and the windshield wiper knob.

Steering column is stripped, The previous owner said someone tried to steal it. That's OK with me its one less key to lose.

The window seals need replaced they leak water.

The parking brake is rusted in place.

The dashboard is very poorly lit at night.

It has the original spark plugs in it and they are rusted in place, they won't come off.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a man for 100$.

I already have a 1988 Chevy Eurosport VR for the summer, I use the Citation in the winter.

This car has some problems like I listed, but I really like it. It gets insane gas mileage for a 22 year old car, I hardly ever have to fill it up.

The seats are extremely comfortable, they are like a couch, and the power steering is excellent. I can turn the car with one finger.

The one thing I don't like about the car is performance. The four cylinder engine has no balls, it is very slow to acceleration. It will go about 100mph on a highway though.

I also like the way it is shaped, everyone else said it was ugly, but after I painted it, puts neons in it, chrome hubcaps, a wing, an x-11 hood, and gold trim, people love it.

If you want a nice economical car that is comfortable get a Citation, if you don't care about performance you'll like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

2nd Oct 2003, 19:25

Wow!! Another Citation lover!!

From reading this review, I'd say that you have beat the crap out of the engine. Those Iron Duke engines start leaking oil after a few years, but as long as you keep putting fuel in it, it will NEVER DIE!!

Yes I own a Citation, a proud 1985 4 door hatchback and it's blue. (see "what a wonderful car!!) Has the same engine and transmission, and the other day I mixed spark plugs 2 and 4, and IT STILL RAN! (of course it backfired and etc)

Congratulations on your Citation, and it might be a good idea to go to www.chevytalk.com and register. It is free, and you can get many answers to problems, as well as help others in the forums.

Good luck!!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews