1981 Chevrolet Citation Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1981 Chevrolet Citation 2.5 liter 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Tough winter car

Faults:

Since I have owned the car I have replaced brake lines and welded the frame. Except for damage cause by time the car is in good shape.

General Comments:

I think my Citation is the best winter car you can buy. It isn't very fast, but with a standard transmission and front wheel drive it goes through just about anything. I bought the car to use as a winter beater and it has not let me down. For cheap reliable winter transportation I would highly recommend this car. It always starts (after a few tries) and the heat works really well too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

27th Nov 2005, 22:36

I'm glad to hear that you've gotten really good luck on your Citation, I think that the Citation and its front wheel drive siblings (Buick Skylark, Pontiac Phoenix and Oldsmobile Omega) are under-appreciated cars and they deserve greater respect than what they get, you don't see a lot of Citation's with the standard transmission at all, it's a pleasure hearing owners say good things about their Citation or its sibling, I'm a big fan of the early 80's X-body cars.

1981 Chevrolet Citation 4dr hatchback 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14500 miles
Most recent distance46500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Best reliable cheap transportation ever!

Faults:

Driver side axle went out of it also had to replace all of the belts, because they were original.

General Comments:

Car runs great put 32,000 miles on it in one years time it still runs great, only put $100.00 into it since I bought it.

It rides nice handles great.

I upgraded the air conditioning blows ice cold.

The heater will burn you out, in the coldest of winter.

Still has the original alternator.

It's my second car didn't have to do anything major to it yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

24th Feb 2004, 21:06

You give it all perfect 10s yet you won't buy another GM or Chevrolet? I am confused...

9th Dec 2004, 12:22

Wow, I can't believe there's still one of these on the road. My parents had one 20 yrs ago and I was mortified to be seen in it as a pre-teen!

26th Jan 2006, 04:35

Sure wasn't a lot of miles on it when you bought it, how'd you score that? Good deal!

1981 Chevrolet Citation II V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Needs too many repairs

Faults:

Modulator plate (mechanic said this was common in early 80's GM vehicles).

Radio never worked right.

Turn signal never worked.

Warning lights never worked.

Air conditioner went out at about 75,000 miles.

Horn was replaced three times and then I gave up on it.

The electrical system on this thing was horrible.

Oil leaked radiator leaked.

Steering was a pain, the wheel was really hard to turn. The mechanic said it was fixable, but it would have been more money to pour into this car.

General Comments:

It started in the winter. Other than that, it spent most of it's time in the garage in the four years I've owned it and it wasn't driven hard, in fact it was babied.

It gave me four years of service and died one day after I bought my '92 Mercury Topaz GS. It was OK because it had plenty of cargo space, but Chevy could have done better with it by making it more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

1981 Chevrolet Citation II V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Good around town, but not reliable on the highway

Faults:

The air conditioner.

Modulator plate.

Muffler.

Electrical system.

And last but not least, the radio had a short.

The car always started, but it would stall on the highway sometimes and it leaked a lot of oil.

The only reason I gave it a six for reliability is because it started in the dead of winter, after that, it was up to the car if it wanted to run or stall.

General Comments:

I bought this car with little time because I needed transportation right away. It ran for a while, but it cost a lot for parts and had to have work done at least twice a year on expensive parts. The person we bought it from said it had minor problems even when it was a year old and her husband was a mechanic. I went to my own mechanic and he said these problems are common in these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews