1982 Chevrolet Citation Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1982 Chevrolet Citation LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership1984
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Worst car I ever owned

Faults:

Engine mounts broke at 14,000 miles.

This caused the water pump to break when the engine started torquing and striking it.

Engine would continually stall once engine warmed up.

After three service visits, it was discovered that the distributor cap was broken, allowing air to enter a crack after it opened after being heated by the engine.

Engine continually pinged and knocked when accelerated.

During first car wash, all the chrome paint peeled off grille.

The front door broke at 8,000 miles, preventing the door to be closed.

All the inserts identifying the radio volume, headlights, and other features fell out of the knobs within the first winter, (I guess the cold effected the glue used).

None of the wheels were balanced when I picked the car up at the dealership, so after my first trip, I had to return the car since it rode so badly.

General Comments:

I bought this car new with only six miles on it. How could so many things go so wrong so fast? I swore I would never own another Chevrolet, but I didn't learn. I bought a Suburban, and the same horrible lack of quality haunted me until the very day the six year warranty expired and I immediately traded it in.

I will never - ever - own another Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

22nd Apr 2004, 19:25

My mother owns a 1982 Chevy Citation. She is the original owner and has had the car repainted. She has also had the upholstery redone. This car has been garaged and is very well taken care of (sounds like I'm talking about a dog). Additionally, it has never been in an accident. It has low mileage. She wants me to sell it for her. What would the price be and who would be interested in such a car. It's very clean.

1982 Chevrolet Citation X-11 H.O. 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission H.O. 2.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

An underrated and under appreciated fun-to-drive car

Faults:

My carburetor needed some adjustments shortly after I purchased the car. That was the only time in the four years I own it that it was taken in for anything other than normal wear items (i.e. exhaust, brakes, tires, etc.).

General Comments:

I had wanted one ever since they came out with the H.O. V-6. Finally bought one in 1991 and loved it! Great looks and decent speed (impressive given the general level of performance for cars in 1982). The engine was always willing to rev, and pulled strong to red-line.

Handling was this car's forte - just as solid and stable as newer and more expensive cars I've driven. It surprised a lot of people who passed it off as "just" a Citation.

Decent room inside and comfortable for passengers front and back. Could have done without the vertical radio, but no biggie!

After a quick carb tuning right after I got it, I had no mechanical trouble with the car in the four years I drove it (putting 70,000 miles on it). None, and I certainly didn't baby it. I wish I had never sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

28th Jan 2004, 10:38

I had a used '82 Citation X-11 hatch-back, 4-speed manual. I too remember it fondly. It had impressive speed which I used frequently back in my college days. The hatch-back styling and interior room made it a great vehicle for traveling to college at the start of a semester. It could hold as much as some of today's smaller SUVs. I sold it when I graduated and got a real job (just because I had the means to buy a new car). I have often regretted getting rid of it.

1982 Chevrolet Citation II 2.8 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance298900 miles

Summary:

One of the few Citations that are good cars

Faults:

1. The head gasket blew at 40,000 miles.

2. Oil Leak.

3.Brakes went out at 85,000, and at 200,000.

4.Fuel Leak.

5.Many hoses and lines went over time.

6.Blew rod in engine in 1991.

7. Power steering failure.

8.Exhaust rusted out and fell off by 1990.

9.Transmission went at 135,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought the car brand new in 1982 for 4,995$

I wanted this car to last so I never drove it in the winter or during the rain, so thankfully the car has absolutely no rust on the body, however the under body had rust, and I got it completely redone in 1997.

I had the motor completely rebuilt in 1997 at 185,000 miles, I spent 2,000 dollars getting the car fixed up completely, its in great shape now, it runs like a dream.

Its never been in an accident.

I would never sell it, I love this car, and I'll keep it till the day I die.

I've raced it 4 times and have won 3 of those races (got beat by a riced out accord).

I'm thinking about getting it redone into a X-11.

The car starts up every time, its very reliable although I've had to do a lot to this car, what do you expect for a car that's gone nearly 300,000 miles?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

31st Jan 2003, 19:50

I have never heard of a citation engine and transmission failing under 200,000 miles!

Yes, I am a Citation lover and I am the proud owner of a 1984 and a 1985 citation. Neither had problems such as yours. The only problem with my 1984 is it has a STUPID vertically mounted radio. I'm wondering, can you fit a 1985 dash into a 1984 Citation?

12th Feb 2003, 18:22

Oh believe me I know what it is like that vertical radio is a pain, on march 16th I'm paying 400$ for the citation body to be redone into an x 11, I'm keeping the old radio, but getting a 1980 dash put in, the dash doesn't have a vertical slot, but a horizontal one. yeah the motor went probably because I used to be hard on the car when I was a kid. but this is no ordinary citation its in great shape and I love it, its always done a better than stellar job and I'm glad to see you've also got a great car, some of these cars aren't of the horrible condition there said to be.

20th Oct 2004, 20:34

I fully agree with you guys, citation engine leaks oil, but in general it is a wonderful car, I love it, I have a 1980 4 doors, I bought it last year from its original owner. Actually he parked the car for more than 15 years, it is in a BAD condition, but I'm working on it.

23rd Jan 2008, 02:08

I bought a new 1980 Chevy Citation in July 1980 and put over 350,000 miles on it before retiring it and using it for a parts car because the floors and hatch were rusted out- I live in Illinois with lots of salt. The engine and trans-axle were never opened and I used Mobil 1 oil and changed it every 9,000 miles. The car was running perfectly the day I retired it, but without a frame I thought it might eventually break in half. My biggest gripe was the cheap PP plastics that faded and cracked from exposure to UV. Citations certainly weren't all bad. Dave

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews