1983 Chevrolet Citation Reviews

1983 Chevrolet Citation X11 2.8 high output from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.8 high output Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

Turn the key, and to hear the car rumble made my hair stand on end. Exciting, adrenaline rush

Faults:

Broken dog bone motor mount.

Rear hatch supports did not support the hatch.

Water in spare tire compartment.

General Comments:

Being my first car ever, I thought this car was flashy and different. First car that can whip my head back to the seat head rest in the blink of an eye.

Cornering is breathtaking.

The engine had untapped power. I was clocked doing 140+mph. The state trooper needed to see what I had under the hood.

The ride was very good at high and low speeds.

Fuel was very fair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2011

1st Apr 2011, 09:27

Was this car stock? 0-60 in 9.2 seconds is hardly a neck snapping event. Also, stock top speed was around 123, so it is virtually impossible to be clocked at over 140 MPH unless the equipment you are using is seriously mis-calibrated.

I had a Z24 with the larger 3.1 engine, which had 5 more hp and 40 more lb. ft. of torque, and it was quick for its class, but nothing earth shattering. I had the 5 speed manual with a 3.61 axle ratio. It was fun, but I quickly got over it when I traded it for my second 5.0 Mustang!

1st Apr 2011, 18:19

No Citation was ever described as breathtakingly fast. My buddy's father had one when I was a kid, and it was a breathtaking lemon. It was always in the shop. There must have been major engine modifications, or the reviewer is exaggerating.

17th Mar 2014, 09:52

Chevrolet had a history of publishing under rated specifications for their cars. The truth did not come out until several years after they ended production. Some theorized this had to do with keeping insurance rates low. The X11 would certainly do better than 125... 140? Maybe not. Similarly, the Beretta GTZ would easily exceed GM's published specs.

1983 Chevrolet Citation X11 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles

Summary:

Beast

Faults:

Lost second gear of automatic transmission, auto windows broke, leaked oil, other old car stuff.

General Comments:

My first car, kind of a moody gal. But drove very nicely. Fun to put the gas all the way down while your going 45, and watch the reaction of the people in the car. Cornered like a dream. Holds a special place in my heart. Later found out there were only 1,900 made in 83. cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2006

1983 Chevrolet Citation 2 2.5L L4 Engine from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L L4 Engine Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 kilometres
Most recent distance149000 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap ugly car, but aweome first car

Faults:

Cooling fan doesn't go on.

Engine would over heat easily.

General Comments:

This car is a great bush bomber I love it.

This car is a good first car.

Cheap to buy and cheap to run.

Only has three gears which sucks because you can't go fast at all only goes about 130kph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

7th Jan 2006, 21:35

This is in response to your overheating problem. Try replacing your cooling fan sensor, and relay. I had a 1986 Buick Century with the 2.5L Iron Duke four cylinder engine that always had annoying problems with these particular parts. The fan sensors would be either out of temperature range, or would not work. The relays would sometimes fail, or stick causing the fan to keep running when the engine is shut off. The relay should be mounted on the pulley side of the engine compartment on the fender. It is about the size of a deck of cards, and has a bunch of wires coming out the end of it. The fan sensor is on the front right side (transaxle side) of the engine block on the cylinder head. I recall it's a single wire sensor. Do not overtighten it! Dispite the problems, otherwise great motor! Good Luck!

1983 Chevrolet Citation 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Fairlane

Summary:

GM GARBAGE

Faults:

The car ran but did not shift properly and used up transmission oil. When the weather started warming up it started running hot. Never did fix the problem, turned out to be a cracked head. Not worth fixing.

General Comments:

Bought the car for $200 from the high school auto shop. Was owned by a local little old lady, so the car was in like new condition, but that didn't hold it back from being a serious piece of garbage. Car ended up dead and in the junk yard a year after buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

28th Dec 2003, 19:57

I totally agree with the previous commenter.. A cracked head is no problem to replace on a citation.. I've changed the head on a Citation engine before and believe me, it is no problem and it is for a low cost too..

You could have gotten many more years of service out of it had you not been so ignorant about your car..

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews