1984 Chevrolet Citation II 3.8L V6 Prototype from North America


The restoration of this car was well worth the time and money


I have changed nearly everything I can think of to make it faster and more reliable whether or not it was going wrong.

Needed new radiator and water pump recently.

Gave the car some TLC when I first got it.

General Comments:

I have put so many performance parts into this vehicle that it has been racing Japanese Import Cars and is know to be a very feared car.

I look at it and see one of the last true American Muscle Cars in my area willing to travel without fear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2003

18th Jul 2003, 23:21

Yet another happy Citation owner!! I am always so happy to see many people who own/owned a Citation or another GM X-Car and loved it!!

Keep it running as long as you can. Oh and keep in mind.. GM used a type of carpet that will not let moisture through and dry the metal on the floor. The result??? A wet floor allows rust to start!!! I lifted the carpet and saw that it has a rubbery backing on it and the floor was wet!!


18th Jan 2006, 14:06

I just bought a 1984 Citation II (1/16/2006). It is a one owner, and believe or not, by a little old granny!. The service records go back to 1999. It is immaculate, inside and out, with original everything. Even the dash clock works! The only problem I see is that the rear brakes sound like a rivet dragging on the drum. Very load and irritating. Has anyone else had this problem? On inspection, there is no apparent problem. It must be the material the shoes are made of maybe??? Other than that, It drives like a new car.

26th Apr 2006, 08:11

Your brake drums are too tight!

26th Apr 2006, 15:33

Yes, if it sounds like the rear brakes are dragging, inspect the brake drums for grooves. You may need to have them turned down (machined). When you inspected the shoes, there weren't actually any rivets showing above the rivet holes? Perhaps the shoes do need to be adjusted so they don't ride against the inside of the brake drum. On most cars with brake drums, there is a slot in the back with an elongated rubber plug. That gives access to the sprocketed wheel that lets you adjust your brake shoes. Turn it one way, and it forces the pads against the brake drum. Turn it the other way and it relieves the pressure, so the brake shoes can float away from the inner surface of the brake drum. Also, if the brake drum has been worn down too far, the brake shoes may have worn a broad groove into the metal, and the side of the shoe could be rubbing on the drum.

1984 Chevrolet Citation 2 2.8 liter V6 from North America


This was and is my first car, and I love it


The muffler needed to be replaced.

The headliner fell.

It runs hot.

The control module went out twice.

General Comments:

My father was worried about me getting it, it actually had a lot more pep than he thought it would have.

It is a easy car to drive and very comfortable. It allows me a lot of hauling room because of the hatchback and fold down seats.

This car did 0-60 in ten seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

18th Jan 2003, 22:06

If your car runs hot, then try replacing the thermostat. The thermostat is easy to replace and I can replace mine in 20 seconds!!

Make sure you have lots of anti-freeze in the car too.

1984 Chevrolet Citation 3-door 2.5 Liter 4 cylinder from North America


Worthless junk!!!



Brake rotors (twice within 10,000 miles).

Water pump.

Master cylinder.

Leaks from every door and window seal possible when it rains.

Ugly as hell, with rust to go with it.


Instrument panel layout sucks!!

Wiring problems.

1. Wipers come on by themselves or don't work at all.

2. Dash lights fail a lot.

3. Constantly blows fuses.

4. Heater controls work once in a while.

General Comments:

The engine is the only thing on this car close to being reliable, and you can thank Pontiac for building that! My grandpa pampered this car, and it still is a worthless piece of crap that always breaks down!!!

Seats are comfy, when not soaked with rain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

13th Dec 2002, 02:13

You say that your grand pa pampered this car? Give the readers a break. Leaks from every door and window seal possible when it rains. With rust to go with it. Any person can tell that this car was poorly maintained in the first place. Need I say more? P. S you say the 2.5L L4 (151CID) engine was a better engine then the 2.8L V6 (173CID) engine? HAHAHA.