1984 Chevrolet Citation II 2.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

If I could keep her running forever, I would never buy another car

Faults:

The only major problem I have had with this car is overheating. Replacement of the radiator and the water pump fixed my problem for quite a while.

I have replaced my battery, alternator, and belts.

Shocks need replacing, but after 30 years I think that is more than acceptable.

General Comments:

My Citation has been extremely dependable and fairly easy to fix. I love the four door hatchback. Perfect little family car, with plenty of power for playing as well.

The only drawbacks now are it's too old for most mechanics to find parts easily, and not quite old enough for a classic car restoration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2014

22nd Feb 2014, 10:47

You are extraordinarily lucky to have gotten a good one. The Citation and the rest of the X car class are infamous for being among the worst junkboxes that GM ever built.

24th Feb 2014, 14:34

Notice that this review is an 84 model year; by then the problems of all the X-cars were resolved, but its reputation was already tarnished.

25th Feb 2014, 15:32

Chevrolet tried to overcome that reputation by borrowing a tactic from Ford (who, coincidentally, had previously used the name Citation as the top model of the Edsel in 1958-59): in 1984 the "Citation" became the "Citation II".

1984 Chevrolet Citation 2.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable and cost efficient

Faults:

Other than the required maintenance, nothing really went wrong on this car.

Only thing I had to replace was the alternator, and the starter.

I think it was worth the $1500.00 I paid for it.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable goes great in the snow, very reliable work car.

The car gets 24mpg on the highway, and 20mpg in the city, not bad for a 20 year old car, with a V6.

I plan on restoring the car, replacing some of the body parts, try to make it look sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

18th Nov 2004, 15:37

Sounds like a nice car! Aint seen one of those in a long time. The "X" body! From what I remember they were well liked, but had some kind of a weakness with the brakes. I could be wrong. Have a good one!

19th Nov 2004, 20:07

I have an 85 (last year for the X) Buick Skylark, and mine gets about the same mileage as yours. Even though GM apparently fixed the rear brake problem, my 85 still exhibits premature rear wheel lockup, especially when cold. I'm currently trying to sell it and not having much luck. Junkyards won't even take it because it's too old.

1984 Chevrolet Citation X-11 2.8 V6 from Mexico

Summary:

Excellent reliable car

Faults:

Nothing out of the normal for a 20 year old car. The following wasn't working when I got it:

- Speedometer

- Windshield wipers

- Exhaust system

- One head of the engine was broken

- Klaxon.

The following are parts that I replaced or rebuilt:

- Distributor pick-up coil

- Major tune up

- Hoses

- Control module

- Clutch

- Brakes

- Speedometer

- Light here and there

- Changed the X-11 wheels for the Z24

- Engine was rebuilt

- Klaxon

- Windshield wipers module.

General Comments:

I'm very pleased with this car, it had never let me stranded anywhere and has alway taken me anywhere.

I had stored the car for a full year and it always starts at the first time.

Engine it's very powerful and feels like a real car.

Although paint and interiors are falling apart on me, someday I expect to rebuild them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

17th Oct 2005, 18:01

What's a klaxon?

8th Jan 2006, 22:00

A horn!! :P.

1984 Chevrolet Citation CL 2.8L V6 from North America

Summary:

The smartest thing I have ever bought

Faults:

My wheel bearing had to be replaced.

The front oil seal had to be done.

The rear motor mount had to be done.

The seats are starting to look worn and torn.

My headliner is starting to sag.

General Comments:

I have had this car since I was 16 I bought it for $1000 Canadian from a auction. I have had many cars while I had this one and it is the best car I have ever own, i have taken it across Canada 4 times and to California and it has never broken down on me leaving me stranded it has a lot of power and handles great.

It always makes people look when I hammer it to the floor and it peels out and takes off like it's on steroids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003