Chevrolet Classic Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Chevrolet Classic 2.2 Ecotech from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotech Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance39300 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Basic transportation, without being too basic

Faults:

Strut replaced under NYS Lemon Law (minor issue)

Soft, thin vinyl covering on the doors that tore very easily.

General Comments:

1. Poor rear visibility due to head restraints and high trunk (many cars have same problems)

2. Seats uncomfortable. Too hard especially the side support.

3. Soft vinyl trim on door panels tears very easily!

4. Separate windshield wiper stalk is unnecessary, it's better off on turn signal stalk.

5. Center plastic console is a waste of space and breaks easily. (common problem)

6. Service Manual electrical schematics are terrible. Spread all over the huge thick manual makes them hard to find and follow an electrical path.

7. No transmission dip stick/fill hole.

8. No RAP for the power windows, just the radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2007

9th Jul 2007, 00:29

Another plus; it doesn't have that "electric" steering the Malibu has (or whatever it is called).

9th Jul 2007, 08:54

While I am not a fan of Rap on the radio, why would you need it for power windows?

2004 Chevrolet Classic 2.2 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

The Classic is an excellent American mid-size car

Faults:

The engine noise is a tad high. Ummmm... that's about it.

General Comments:

The Classic is a very good used car bargain, since it's no longer produced anymore.

It is very comfortable to drive. The engine is very peppy for a 4cyl., and gets really good gas mileage. In winter driving, it gets around really good in the snow. Look for one with ABS brakes- they were optional. All around handling is very good. I feel really safe in this car.

Very roomy front seats- head room is tight in the back seat if you're tall. The trunk is spacious, but the back seat doesn't fold down like the '97-'03 Malibu's did.

The 5-spoke aluminum rims make this car look sharp, and the exterior design of the car is nice- yes it blends in, but it's a pleasing design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2007

2005 Chevrolet Classic 2.2L DOC 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L DOC 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24998 miles
Most recent distance25267 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

It's fantastic!!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this fine automobile.

General Comments:

This mid-sized sedan feels like a larger car, and handles very well in traffic.

The 4 cyl. engine has a LOT of pep to it!

The interior is well laid out and I have lots of head-room (I'm 6'2" tall).

I went from an SUV to this sedan, and haven't regretted a single mile of it!

Chevrolet makes one great car, in this Malibu Classic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

2nd May 2007, 15:47

Where can I buy a Malibu Classic?

They were only sold to rental fleets so they are hard to find.

Also what years were they made in? 2004 - 2006?

8th Feb 2009, 21:47

I just bought a 2004 Chevy Classic... I'm very happy with it... I think it's a good car, and it's quite fast and responsive.

1st Jun 2009, 20:23

If you can get to a GSA auction in your area (sale of government owned vehicles), they have tons of them. Go to GSA auction website.

2004 Chevrolet Classic Base 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9176 miles
Most recent distance17211 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Nice basic transportation

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car to date.

General Comments:

I needed an economical yet comfortable car to travel back and forth to work in. This car is the former Chevrolet Malibu sold only to rental fleets. It was priced very inexpensively and seems to be a good value so far.

Even with the four cylinder engine, it keeps up with traffic well and averages 27mpg. It has all the creature comforts of my Impala, which I still own, and rides as nice as a larger one.

I am hoping that the four cylinder model will prove more reliable that the sixes that everyone has problems with.

So far, I have had no issues with any of the known trouble spots, such as the brakes. Keeping my fingers crossed, but bought the 5/75000 extended warranty just to make sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 19:06

Please define "problems" with the V-6's that supposedly "everyone" has. This is too far of a generality to prove, and without sufficient statistical and objective evidence, I am wary of this review's comment on "V-6 problems."

22nd Nov 2005, 20:03

Read the comments on all of the postings for the 1997-2003 Malibus. The many negative reviews of those cars tend to be the ones with 6 cylinder engines. That is what I based that upon. I am wary of your intentions, especially since you can't use spell check.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews