21st Aug 2005, 14:49

"It's silver in color, if you look closely the bumper is different color compared to the rest of the car."

You obviously have never looked at some Camrys... especially the tan or blue ones... take a look at those, and then try to complain about the paint on the Cobalt.

21st Aug 2005, 18:09


I know for a fact, the paint finish on a Toyota Camry is superior to a Chevrolet Cobalt, I don't drive a Toyota but I can tell you quality control on a Toyota is much better than Chevrolet's. My friend works at a body shop and he can tell just by looking at the finish. You must be a Cobalt owner or from a Chevrolet dealer, I respect your purchase decision, but I am entitle to my opinion.



13th Oct 2005, 21:30

I agree with the reviewer. Cobalts are absolute garbage, and as usual, GM can't deliver, and still makes sub par junk.

26th Oct 2005, 08:57

Or, one could make the argument that decades of staunch union labor practices, in a way, have led to the financial debacle that GM and Ford are now in. Are the unions totally to blame? Of course not--but the UAW often puts unfair demands on the company that EMPLOYS these people.

"Is this a Republican web site"? No, it's a public forum for automobile owners. Even a Democrat should understand that.

24th Mar 2006, 22:34

The Chevy Cobalt is just another prime example of how General Motors is flushing itself down the toilet. I wouldn't trade my Toyota for 3 of these steaming piles of poor engineering.

25th Mar 2006, 10:39

The union argument (that they "forced" American companies to become uncompetitive) is ridiculous if you consider Henry Ford essentially created the American automobile industry WHILE doubling prevailing wages for his workers (yes, I know he later tried to destroy the unions blah blah blah).

So if nearly 100 years ago Ford could make huge profits WHILE offering a decent wage why can't American companies today?

It all comes down to the accountants who haven't a clue about branding or quality and just want to make money in the short term. Well, American car companies have had decades of warning and they STILL haven't woken up.

The Cobalt is the epitome of American small cars? Too funny.

26th Mar 2006, 09:16

I disagree. Comparing rental cars is probably the best way to compare makes since the cars are generally abused and they demonstrate how a single model survives under varying conditions.

I've had rental Neons with 4000 miles that felt like they were going to die on me and I've also had rental Hyundais with 15,000 miles that felt solid.

26th Mar 2006, 13:38

But there are too many variables. That neon could have been taken into the mountains (i don't know where this is, but just saying) and beaten hard there and maybe seen some dirt roads. While maybe the Hyundai was more of a city or around the airport car. You can't compare those two fairly and say the Hyundai is the better car since it didn't go through the same situations, drivers, and maintainance as the neon.

27th Mar 2006, 10:02

Give me a break. My family owned a Toyota Tercel that went through everything from New England and western New York winters to keg runs at college. It was bulletproof reliable and came back asking for more. Same thing with my Civic Si and other cars I have owned.

Plus, rental car companies allegedly perform all required maintenance.

In this day and age cars aren't these fine jewels that shouldn't even be out in the rain.

27th Mar 2006, 14:35

Now there is a valid comparison. Same driver with usual same maintenance, that's how to compare cars.

Rental companies do not keep up with maintenance. It's a do it when you get around to it thing.

14th Apr 2006, 07:30

I am the original reviewer - the Cobalt and Corolla I drove had probably less than 100 KMs on the meter, they were probably brand new - I know I am comparing apple to apple here. BTW, I brought myself an 1985 Volvo 740GLE - it has been a great experience - it has been extremely reliable & comfortable, my theory is why spend $30K on a brand new car -if you can drive an older car for fraction of the cost?

16th Apr 2006, 19:58

Please don't let the opinions of the vehicle owners here to sway your decision in buying a certain automobile. A car is man made, one will never be perfect. Oh and to the one who said his cobalt gets the looks from the ladies. Remember they're looking at the car not you...

17th Apr 2006, 09:30

Yes, no car is perfect, but some are more perfect than others.

The Cobalt already has problems (as evidenced by reviews here) and will end up being a typical Chevolet - mediocre quality with horrible resale value.

Already dealers can't give these cars away. Not that they are bad, but they are discounting like mad since no one really wants them. In fact, when a friend of mine was looking at an Aveo, the dealer had none in stock, but kept wanting him to buy one of the 30 Cobalts he had on the lot.

So if you buy a Cobalt be prepared to keep it for a long time since, unlike a Toyota or Honda, you will take a bath if you go to sell it.

What I don't understand is why Chevy, with this golden opportunity, didn't make the Cobalt SUPERIOR to the competition instead of just an also ran. After all, why should I root for a competitor that won't even try to win?

26th May 2006, 00:36

I've never driven a Cobalt before, but I do know that there are a lot of people out there complaining about how awful the car is. I work for GMC as a fleet salesman, and don't understand why the Cobalt was such a horrible car. Our vans and trucks are bomb proof, many of which go over 300,000 miles before being traded in. GMC has got to be the strangest automaker around. I'll stick with my European junkers. At least I know they're crap.

26th May 2006, 17:21

"I admit this car is a huge improvements from Cavalier, but it's still a long way from Toyota Corolla."

I don't think this is true at all. Sure, the Cavalier is a little coarse compared to the Corolla, but the Toyota is absolutely, 100% souless. Who wants to drive around in an appliance?

20th Jul 2006, 22:48

I bought a Chevy Cobalt brand new. It was back in the shop a month after getting it.

The radio clock kicks off the CD player sometimes - says there is no CD in it when there is.

They put cheap hubcaps on that squeak.

They had to put a steering shaft part in, then another shaft, and now my car steering wheel shakes when you brake.

They turned the rotors down which should not have need to be done after 11,000 miles.

It stopped for a few days. Now it is doing it again, so my 2005 is at the dealership right now.

24th Jul 2006, 00:33

"A car is man made..."

Actually, they're mostly put together by robots.

15th Aug 2006, 18:01

So what if foreign auto-makers have a larger test market to perfect the design? The point is that they often DO perfect the design. Chew on this: yes, you can buy a seemingly comparable Chevy for less than a Honda for example, or a Toyota, but the point is, if you maintain the Honda, then you will most likely still have it long after the Cobalt has gone the junkyard. So, in other words, you can spend 30,000 once in 10 years, or 20,000 TWICE in ten years for the 2 Chevy's that it will take to add up to the life of one Honda. You do the math. Besides, Chevy has clearly tried to make the Cobalt look like a foreign car, and has failed. Do you really want to drive that car?