2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Base Sedan 4 door 2.2 gasoline from North America


Decent car and a great value


Power steering went out - fixed by recall.

Some parts probably should have lasted longer (brakes, shocks, struts, O2 sensor).

A/C water leaked on the passenger side floor.

General Comments:

I bought it new. After over 9 years, I still own the car. My wife's dad was a retired GM employee.

The Cobalt is decent transportation at a very reasonable price. I will keep it as long as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2014

26th Dec 2014, 21:13

I made the original post above. I would like to add that regular fluid changes (oil, radiator, transmission) are the best advice, as my engine, radiator and transmission are perfect after over 9 years. And warm up the car a bit on cold days.

29th Mar 2015, 19:23

Updating my 2005 Cobalt post. Original owner, 61,300 miles. Maintenance yesterday was synthetic oil change, radiator flush/fluid (every 5 years), and first spark plug change. Running well. Keeping this car for as long as possible. Regards.

3rd May 2015, 12:49

I am the author of the original post. 10 years and 62k miles. I just bought a Nissan. The Cobalt was a decent car, but a lot of parts should have lasted longer, and the recalls on the Chevy as well made me switch brands.


15th Oct 2016, 19:15

Greetings. I am still the original owner of this 2005 Cobalt. It now has 73,600 miles. I am now using the Chevy as a second car. I have recently replaced the entire exhaust, entire fuel line, and the alternator. It's a decent no frills car. I feel that a lot of parts failed too soon. It is almost 12 years old, paid for and I know it has been maintained. I like my Nissan better but it still runs. Best regards.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Base 2.2L Ecotec from North America


Worth the cash, and would buy again


At 79K 5/15/11, the catalytic converter went out, due to a rich running condition. Replaced 4 plugs and coil pack to the tune of about $375. Dealer covered the cat under the emissions, stating that it was covered for 8 years or 80,000 miles, whichever came first.

General Comments:

Great, gas efficient car. I have owned at least 20 cars over the years, and Chevy's took up a good part of that list.

Now, as with the other reviews on this site, know that the car isn't going to win a beauty pageant, won't come in first in the Daytona 500, and probably won't be in any showroom anytime soon, but if it runs, DRIVE IT.

Our Cobalt has required ZERO maintenance other than tires, brakes, oil and air filter changes, belts and gas. Have not once replaced suspension parts, transmission parts, or any internal engine parts.

Bought it with about 42K already on it, and it wasn't maintained by some little old lady who only drove it to church.

The car has good acceleration, and handles fine for me with Firestone Touring tires on it ($418 out the door), and gets me from point A to point B.

The engine is loud, which is fine; it's no louder than any other car its size, spinning at 5,000 RPM while really on it. The car tops 115 easily and with minimal effort.

All the other reviews on this site are an opinion of the person whom wrote them, and that's fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2011

28th Dec 2014, 13:14

Any updates on your Cobalt? I still own my 05 and continue to be a satisfied owner. Thanks.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Base 2.2L 145hp from North America


Spend the extra few hundred and buy something better!


Approximately 3 months after getting the car, the A/C went out. The compressor was okay, but there was a crack in the main housing that holds the A/C unit itself. Sounds somewhat cheap, but it was still going to cost me $1,000+.

Steering wheel would lock every so often while in.

Push button on driver's side broke off, so I have to lock/unlock the driver's door from the outside.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage. Nothing else.

Very, very base model. No power locks or windows.

Thin-feeling seats.

I'm not rough with my cars at all; this is simply a very cheaply made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2011