2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

I HATE this car. I am very upset that I have to drive it for another 3 years

Faults:

The battery was loosely plugged in. This caused my car to not start.

The key gets stuck in the ignition, the car cannot get turned off properly, and the key won't come out. You have to play around with the shifter and the brakes for it to work.

The driver's door wouldn't open or close from the inside or out.

There is no signal on the dashboard to let me know when I am out of windshield washer liquid.

The paint inside the car, on the panel chips off and gets scratched off very easily.

General Comments:

I have only had this car for 10 months, it is ridiculous that all these problems occur, especially since I am very careful with my car. The dealership wouldn't fix the problem with the ignition because they didn't know what was wrong.

I will NEVER again buy a Chevrolet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

5th Apr 2006, 08:42

"I will NEVER again buy a Chevrolet."

- In the near future, there may not be a GM to buy a chevrolet from!

5th Apr 2006, 09:04

The Chevrolet Cobalt should have never been made. It tells you one thing about Chevrolet, not meant to make "import wannabees". If you want something that has the import look, buy an import. Any import on the market will last much longer than any domestic car, and parts are much easier to find for an import. Sorry to hear that your stuck in it...

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt 2.2 ECOTEC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 ECOTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Ford F150

Summary:

GM work on fit and finish issues and you have a great car

Faults:

Rattle in Steering column

Brake Light flashes on/off once a month.

Rattle when you shut driver side door.

Trim tearing; door trim cut too short replaced twice.

General Comments:

Other than the problems I have had and yes it can be annoying the Chevrolet Cobalt is a nice car for the value. I have no MECHANICAL PROBLEMS engine or other wise with the car that stands out more than anything for me. The gas mileage is great; the car rides nice. For a few rattles that were fixed by the dealer it sounds great. And the engine runs quiet. I have over 16000 miles on my 05' Cobalt base with LS amenities. I can live with a few minor fit and finish as long as the engines runs good and it doesnot leak fluids.

About Toyotas and Hondas. The Cobalt is safer than the Corolla and Civic. Both cars are nice but look at the noses on the front one bang and your gone. Don't totally believe that foriegn cars are great they have their problems too but are not reported. One of my friends' 2002 Honda Civic's engine blew on it. Yes rare for a Honda but it does happen.

I like em all American and Foreign but The Cobalt is a nice car and overall improvement from the Cavelier and can compete with the best of them ie. Toyota and Honda entry levels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

30th Mar 2006, 08:13

I'm sorry, but I have owned over 20 NEW Japanese and German models from a Toyota Tercel to a BMW 5 series, and NONE ever had anywhere near the problems this poster's Chevy Cobalt has had in its first year.

The only time I have known about a car being unreliable is when it is American or made in America. My 1993 Honda Civic Si, made in America, was in the dealership EIGHT times for the same problem.

Funny, my Japanese-built 1988 Civic and 1989 Civic Si were bulletproof.

And if you read the posts on this board, you will see 10 complaints for every one of your praises.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt 2.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired780 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The biggest waste of 15k ever!

Faults:

The radio won't take a CD half the time, and the buttons are chipping on the radio.

The car is leaking coolant at an alarming rate.

It chugs every time I start it.

General Comments:

When I first got the car, I loved it. It doesn't have the horrible GM power windows, and it was good enough on gas mileage.

Now, I wish I never bought it. My car overheated, when it was 25 degrees outside. I took it home to see what was wrong with it, and the car was out of coolant!?! In the owners manual, it says "the coolant in your cobalt should last you 150,000 miles, or 5 years" well that's a huge lie, because the car has 4500 miles, and I've only owned it for 3 months!!

The interior of the car is cheaply made. The radio buttons are chipping, and the fabric on my passengers side door is peeling.

Also, my radio, won't take a CD half the time, and every once in a while, the radio "on/off" button won't work, and when I open the door it won't go off either. So I have to wait for it to go off on its own after the normal 10 minutes!

All in all, I don't see myself ever buying another GM product!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2005

21st Nov 2005, 18:06

I don't see why you bought it if you seemed to know you'd hate it so much. Personally, I love Cobalts. I own a 2004 Cavalier and am very satisfied, as I have been with every GM product I have ever owned.

6th Dec 2005, 10:29

To the original reviewer.

Your car is under warranty. Have you taken it to the dealer to fix your problems? It's not surprising it would overheat if it's leaking coolant.

But you make it sound like it's continuing to leak coolant. You should be aware that this issue needs to get corrected.

29th Mar 2006, 21:24

I recently rode in a new Cobalt (Friend, but not sure if 05 or 06) and I thought it was a wonderful car. I like the styling of the car and it rides nicely. It has good zip also. The inside was OK, but I never really been picky on insides as much as the ride and power. I like things that I would like to drive daily. But more to the point the problems the owner is having with this car seem to stem from one problem that is never taking care of.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews