2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt 145hp from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 145hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired330 miles
Most recent distance530 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Fantastic car! Could not ask for more!

General Comments:

Just got the car this past weekend and absolutely love it. Dollar for dollar, you cannot beat the price for a 145hp engine, an engine which is as smooth as silk.

The care is well made throughout and this is obvious.

Two downsides I can see at the moment (very small) : seats could be more comfortable, and the manual choice in window opener which I have, hits the maps in the pocket below when you open and close the window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

27th Jul 2005, 21:17

I agree. The Cobalt is the best car in the class.

28th Mar 2006, 13:47

Just bought a new Cobalt LS Coupe 2 days ago. It has auto, power locks, ac, cd, tilt/cruise, and rear spoiler. paid 13999. Love the ride, and how quiet the car is. Having windows tinted and undercoating put on this week to make the car even more quiet. Love the base stereo system and the info center as well as the auto headlights. This car is an awesome value. Will keep you updated as the miles go up on it.

3rd Oct 2006, 15:06

I switched from Ford back to GM in 2003 and was blown away by how far GM has come in terms of ride, power, smoothness and reliability. We now own 2 GM cars (a Pontiac and a GMC) and one Ford (Ranger truck). Although none of our American made cars has ever required a repair of any kind, the quality of the newer GM cars is great. I'd buy a Cobalt in a heartbeat if I were in the market for a car now. I drove one and was very impressed. My family has owned Mazdas, Hondas and Toyotas, and none of them came close to our GM cars in terms of build quality and reliability.

9th Oct 2006, 22:24

To 15:06, very funny, write back when you have a serious comment.

10th Oct 2006, 10:52

I understand that all of you like your cobalts and all, but calling it the "best in its class" is ridiculous.

The Honda Civic is a much better vehicle that has much more quality then the Cobalt does. That is why the Civic is outselling the cobalt even if the Civic is being sold at over sticker prices.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 from Puerto Rico

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Great car for the cost. Great performance, acceleration and looks. Big upgrade from the Cavalier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2005

3rd Jul 2005, 21:00

I think in a years time the cobalt could be a great entry level car (good power, build quality, ride etc) but first year cars are always the guinea pigs. Whenever you have a new frame, underpinnings, electrical etc, there are going to be design and/or building flaws. I am much more of a Ford fan than Chevy, but I can even tell you that the first year the FOrd Focus came out was a NIGHTMARE. There was something like 7-10 recalls and all kinds of little nitpicky problems. Squeaks, leaks, rattles, stalls you name it. Hang in there and hopefully it can be fixed easily.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews