2004 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2004 Chevrolet Colorado z71 4x4 crew cab 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tahoe

Summary:

It's a great truck with great body lines with a aggressive stance

Faults:

The headlights had water in them the dealer replaced.

The radio clock goes to 12am often!

General Comments:

The cab of the truck is quiet.

However the door armrests are not padded.

The truck gets about 23mpg on the highway and about 18 in town.

There is no ashtray for your change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

14th Jan 2011, 17:56

I purchased a brand new Colorado in 2004, and had nothing but trouble; wheel sensors, engine sensors, tire wear excessive, fan blower motor and relay, cold weather limp mode, seat belt, radio speakers, most of these problems were x 3 or 4, and some as many as seven times.

The engine light was on for most of the first 2 years. I had no dealer satisfaction, and no affordable recourse.

I did find the main mechanical systems to be quite good, and the gas mileage was 27 hwy and 20 city, even with the 4x4 and 3500 engine, but overall I was extremely disappointed in the truck, Chev customer service, and the local dealership.

I would keep looking if I saw one for sale.

ray7413@gmail

2004 Chevrolet Colorado LS Inline 5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Inline 5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired105 miles
Most recent distance5574 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Solid, fun to drive truck!

Faults:

Driver side power mirror stopped working, dealer replaced it with no problems. Seats wear poorly as well.

General Comments:

The Colorado is a solid truck. I have the 220hp, 3.5 L, Inline 5 and it gives me more power then my Ford Ranger work truck that has a 6 in it. The Colorado has a great, smooth ride and road noise is very minimal. The truck is a joy to drive and handles good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

2004 Chevrolet Colorado LS 5 Cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Truck could be great once they work the kinks out

Faults:

Cab has leaked 4 times.

Light bulbs keep blowing out in running lights.

Seat wearing badly.

Vehicles low battery light keeps coming on while driving.

Vehicles low traction light comes on while driving on dry roads.

Vehicle have a slow cranking during start or sometimes doesn't start at all in the cold weather.

After start the headlights are dim and the wipers have very slow movement.

General Comments:

This truck has been back to the dealership 8 times with in a year and the electrical problems are still not fixed.

However the manufacturer says that the vehicle is running to their specification's .

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

19th Aug 2005, 19:47

Thirteen months ago I was in the throes of researching what conveyance to procure to meet my motoring needs. For various reasons not applicable to this particular discussion I had narrowed my choices to Chevrolet pick-up trucks.

Multitudinous reading on the Web and in magazines, personal visits to dealerships to crawl under, over, around and within the various Chevy pick-up models and discussions with mechanics who work on the truck brand led me to shun the Colorado. All indicators pointed to purchasing the Chevy full-size Silverado pick-em-up-truck.

Though the Colorado was bright and shiny and unique in appearance, there were too many indicators pointing towards a lack of reliability. Additionally, there was the fear of buying a new model vehicle that has not been around enough to have the inevitable bugs worked out.

I predict with utmost confidence that the Colorado is going to be a "hanger queen," constantly needing repair and that many owners will be trading them in quickly for a more reliable vehicle.

21st Jun 2008, 21:53

It definitely sounds like your Colorado is having major electrical issues, or should I say many small electrical issues. Too many problems for a truck within warranty, but at least they are not driveability or safety related for the most part. Maybe your Colorado in particular is just one of the "made on Friday" trucks, or perhaps these are known defects of the Colorado. I need to do more research. I would be annoyed though if I were in your situation. I've noticed that many full-size Chevy pickups and SUVs driving around with burnt out driving lights. It's got to be a defect of some sort either of the factory bulbs or electrical system. I see too many like that and they are all of the '98 and up body styles.

27th Feb 2009, 17:32

Yah my wife and I play a game called "light out." When driving on the freeway whenever we see a Chevrolet, or GMC, Silverdo, Sierra, Yukon, etc that has a burnt out daytime running light we yell out "Light out" and by the time we get to our destination whoever has the highest shot outs wins. It's not unusual for us to see 10-15 on a 70 mile round trip.

11th Jun 2010, 21:46

Interstate batteries kill other batteries for winter startups. They keep and keep and keep. Like roaches... Only better.

And as far as the lights going out, maybe try a different brand of headlamp.

As far as seat fabric; get some waterproof seat covers. We have them in every single car we own, brand doesn't matter, but they rule. :)

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews