2004 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2004 Chevrolet Colorado ZQ8 Crew Cab 3.5L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 kilometres
Most recent distance8000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Excellent Mid-Size Truck

Faults:

Water leak in fire wall, dealer repaired under warranty after several visits.

Nothing else has gone wrong with the truck.

General Comments:

Unbelievable smooth ride with ZQ8 (Sport) suspension.

Traction control is great during Winter driving, highly recommended options.

Good performance from the 3.5L In-line 5.

Excellent handling and cornering with ZQ8 suspension.

Cabin very roomy, but the dash is very plain and cheap looking, dash should be more refined for the price of the vehicle.

Sound system could use a little more volume.

Excellent truck for the money, good gas mileage & performance, roomy, excellent ride, and good looks.

Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2005

16th Sep 2005, 14:20

Great truck. It has a smooth ride and plenty of room. The dash does need to be redesigned though. And maybe a better center console.

2004 Chevrolet Colorado Z-71 LS Inline 5 Cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Inline 5 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Good price, great performance, good comfort

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the vehicle. Only 8000 miles on it, but so far everything seems to be real tight and see nothing starting to go.

General Comments:

I think the Colorado is something that Chevy has needed for years to compete with the Ford Ranger. Even though the Ford had more room than the S-10 Pickup, I would not buy the Ford as I am a genuine GM fan. I purchased the

Z-71 Quad cab and really like it. I think they could put a little more thought into the interior, seats, etc, but overall I would recommend to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

10th Jan 2007, 15:13

For one, you shouldn't have anything wrong with it with only 8,000 miles. And Chevy HAD something to compete with the Ranger, The S-10. The Colorado is no comparance to the S-10. The S-10 blows the doors off the Colarado. And your theory bout the Ranger being larger than the S-10, I don't think so.

I drove a parts truck for Lee Auto Parts, we had S-10's and Rangers, when you're the new guy you get the Ranger because no one wanted it. I drove it for a while till I got an S-10. It felt like I was hanging out the driver window when I was driving it. It felt like a clown truck. The Ranger truly was a Little Girly Truck. When I got the S-10, compared to the Ranger, it felt like a Cadillac with all the room.

2004 Chevrolet Colorado Z71 Extended Cab LS 3.5 I-5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 I-5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Good design, lousy execution

Faults:

The power steering pump failed.

Seats starting to wear badly.

Misc. trim pieces have fallen off inside and the interior is of poor quality for the "top-of-the-line" model.

The body side molding has started coming off.

The "Skid Plate Package" that was listed with the Z71 package I paid for did not come on the truck. Chevy's response was that "we reserve the right to change or improve the product without notice". Or refund either, I assume.

One alloy rim was bent from the factory.

The drivers running board self destructed.

The doors leak air and have been adjusted several times.

The battery failed and was replaced.

The blower fan failed.

The engine computer needed to be reprogrammed.

The extra cost yellow paint is very thin as to see the primer in some spots.

General Comments:

The truck is a very good design let down by shoddy materials and poor workmanship. I hope GM will learn to build more reliable vehicles some day. When the truck is running right, its performance, ride and fuel economy are excellent.

Mileage is 23 city, 28 highway.

The engine has plenty of power.

The ride and handling is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

2nd Nov 2004, 07:01

I smell a class action lawsuit...

11th Nov 2004, 16:49

If you had so many problems, why the smiley face?

29th Jan 2005, 10:52

I bought the Colorado z71 and have put almost 50,000 miles on it (long distance travel) with no problems at all.

31st Mar 2005, 14:14

My wife and I both have the 2005 ext. cab Z71 4x4's and we love em. Great on gas, comfortable, and priced right.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews