1998 Chevrolet Corvette Reviews

1998 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

I'm having a real problem with batteries in this car. I am now on my 4th battery in five years. I just recently changed the battery again and we found out that the battery had been leaking and was about to destroy the electrical harness below it. It is now in the shop getting the harness totally replaced which would have cost around $3,500 if it had not been under warranty.

The tires are also a complaint. I'm on my 3rd set of rear tires, with only 33,000 miles on the car. I'm not a tough driver (I don't think), but the Run-Flats don't last long. They also cost around $1,500 for a set. Just with battery and tire replacements, I've dumped around $2,800 into this car. I didn't have to change any tires or batteries on my BMW for 4 years.

I love this car, but after this last battery and wiring harness mess I'm ready to sell it. It's a beautiful car, but it's a drain on my American Express card.

Has anyone else had any of these problems also? I'd like to know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

15th Jan 2004, 08:02

Yeah, that's right, you are "definetly" not suited to own a sports car. Imagine, paying what a new Corvette costs and expecting that you were going to get reliability? What were you thinking?

20th Jan 2004, 05:04

Good point. I had the same problem with the battery. A hole was rubbed through and all the acid leaked out. I just washed the acid away and replaced the battery. Never thought about getting rid of the car. My tires don't last either, but I admit it. I run the hell out of mine. ;)

1998 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A high performance bargain. I eat Ferrari's and Rice Burners for lunch.

Faults:

Service Traction Control message showed up one time. But went away. Dealer can't find problems.

Seats rocks a little.

Stock GoodYear tires are junk. Throw them away ASAP!

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick stock.

The base suspension is too comfortable and needs to be firmer.

The most comfortable seats I have ever being in. My bad back love the seats.

Upgraded the suspension, brakes, and engine to 450HP and still dead reliable and drivable.

Now the car is quicker, but I want 500HP and 650HP on Nitrous. Got beat by a700HP Vette.

Very low Maintenance car, coolant at 100k, oil every 6k, never on transmission and differential, 100k on plugs. You really don't have to do much at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

10th Jun 2003, 10:14

You don't own a corvette. And if you do its not the corvette that you just "reviewed." First of all you change the oil every 3k or you have problems, second you don't have 450 bhp on a c5 without a blower. Nice try buddy.

21st Nov 2003, 17:45

450 on a non-supercharged, air-breathing LS1 is not only possible, it's relatively cheap to obtain. What you'll have to do is a stroke-out to 378 cubic inches and replacement of the exhaust system behind the catalyzers.

6000 miles between oil-changes is not harmful; I think the manual recommends either 5000 or 7500. On mine (not the original poster), I change the AMSOIL synthetic oil every 15,000 and when the engine was torn down at 150,000 miles, there didn't seem to be any unreasonable wear. Keep in mind that the car was not babied by any means. The LS1 is a good, tough, efficient engine that has a lot of good engineering in it.

10th Jun 2009, 07:43

I have 50k on mine. New Magnaflow and Kumho run flats. O2 sensor.

Beautiful Sebring Silver Convertible. I keep the top down always. I will never sell mine and hope to give to my son someday.

If you buy one, a garage is a must with any convertible. Mine never goes out in the rain and is show quality, but driven as well

7th Sep 2009, 18:09

Corvettes are good as long they don't come near a Porsche 996, and they hide once the 911 Turbo shows up.

9th Sep 2009, 16:11

18:09 untrue. The Porsche 996 Turbo. 189 mph 0-60 4.6 seconds. Corvette Z06, 205 mph 0-60 3.6 seconds.

You typically see the 600 hp class models compared with Murcielago, Mercedes SL65AMG, Viper and the Vette, not the low hp Porsche models. Still, it's a fast car that we can enjoy in the rear view mirror. In the new 376 cu in 638 hp Vettes.

1998 Chevrolet Corvette Pace Car 5.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carCadillac Allante

Summary:

Amazing performance for the price of a mini Mercedes

Faults:

The leather seats seem to be wearing prematurely. It has occasional electrical problems, gas gauge mainly.

General Comments:

The car performs fabulously. The brakes, steering and handling are amazing, considering the cost. It remains fun, attractive and the focus of attention, yet it's parts are available from any Chevy dealer. The convertible top is cleverly designed and stows better than any I have seen. The car is four years old, yet has none of the rattles associated with convertibles. Chevy did a fine job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

23rd Oct 2007, 23:20

I really, really like my Corvette. It puts a smile on my face every time I drive it! The high torque is the grin factor. You don't have to go fast to have fun. Just push the peddle and feel yourself mashed into the seat! My only nit-pics:

1. The 6 speed is very notchy. It takes more effort than a car like this should. I wonder if the Z06 is also plagued with notchy shifting?

2. I also think a true sports car convertible should have Roll-Bars!!!

1998 Chevrolet Corvette Targa Coupe 5.7 liter LS1 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter LS1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6200 miles
Most recent distance23300 miles
Previous carFord Mustang Cobra

Summary:

Best bang for the buck sports car made

Faults:

Front rotors warped 4 times.

General Comments:

Gotta love this car, definitely the "best Corvette yet" and every year they come out with a few more additions to the C5 making it even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

27th May 2001, 23:47

The warped rotors were most likely the result of improper lug bolt torquing. Alloy wheels deform easily and the newer lighter weight braking components will warp with them. Often, the warping is permanent and must be machined out or have the discs replaced. Dealer service techs improperly torquing wheels on Corvettes years ago lead to so many rotor warranty claims that GM revised it's rules across the board. They now only replace rotors which have been machined past their wear limits. When I get tires mounted, I bring my own torque wrench and do the job properly.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews