2003 Chevrolet Corvette Anniversary Coupe 5.7 Liter V8 from North America


A must have, even if once in your lifetime


Manufacturer recall for steering lock problem. Dealer corrected problem.

Power window motor (passenger side) stopped working. Replaced under warranty by dealer.

Goodyear (run flat) tires have gotten extremely noisy even with lots of tread left.

General Comments:

This car is a rocket with wheels. The handling is superb. The braking is incredible. The gas mileage is incredible. I have gotten 29mpg on the road on a recent 3000 mile trip. The heads up display (HUD) makes driving a dream. The styling draws attention at every turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2006

27th May 2008, 18:47

I too, have a 2003 50th Anniversary Corvette and I agree with all of his positive comments. My car has only 14,000 miles and the only problem I have had is a leaky rear axle seal which I had replaced under warranty. (I was smart enough to buy an extended warranty). Otherwise, the car is a marvel---scary fast and great on $4.50 premium gasoline, at least on the freeway.

8th Feb 2009, 15:54

Hi, I'm looking for a Corvette C5 right now. Can anyone tell if the 2003's "magnetic selective ride control" really makes any difference? Thanks!

2003 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 5.7 from North America





General Comments:

Before my Z06 I owned a 2002 C5, and the Z feels like a completely different car. I purchased my Z with about 13000 miles and now have about 16500 on it. Only things changed on the car was I had the dealer lower the suspension. Not a big job, I guess they take some slack out of the suspension bolts, lowered the car about 1/4 inch and actually looks a lot better. NOTHING has gone wrong with this car. My old C5 had its share of mystery lights coming on, must have built on a Monday? As far as performance goes, AWESOME! Everyone has their favorite brand, bottom line is how can anyone not enjoy 405hp. Only things that irritate me about the car is the skip shift and the trunk does not fully pop up when you want to open it. Otherwise, for what these cars cost to buy and maintain, it's a win win.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2006

11th Dec 2009, 18:10

So funny you had a S2000 prior.. I just sold my 2002 Honda S2000 and I just bought a 2004 Z06 haha... good times.

12th Dec 2009, 05:04

The Z06 does not have a trunk as it is not a convertible. I also have a C5. With a trunk requires a roll bar as well. The coupes have hatches. You can buy a skip shift aftermarket eliminator for the 6 speed transmission as well. A simple mod.

25th Jan 2010, 00:23

Ummm... the Z06 has a trunk. My dad owns 2002 Z06 and it clearly has a trunk. But yeah the skip shift can be annoying, but with 405HP who can't drive it slow and easy? I know I can't, so when I shift the revs are high enough so it will let me hit second. The more aggressive you drive it, the more it will let you hit second. And unleashing the 405HP is amazing. He also owns a 1988 Porsche 911 Turbo, which he has built up to almost 600HP... it smokes the Vette... but the Vette is still good fun.

23rd Feb 2011, 15:58

Yes correct, the Z06 does indeed have a trunk. The Z06 is made from the "FRC" corvette... fixed roof coupe. There is NO factory Z06 convertible...

2003 Chevrolet Corvette from North America


Quick, but oh so comfortable


The drivers side window motor wasn't working when I purchased car. No other problems as of yet.

General Comments:

I've owned sport cars in the past. I've had a Z28, and a Mustang GT. I recently had a Dodge Stealth, but had to sell it, to help with my down payment for Corvette. The Stealth and GT were powerful, but not very comfortable on long trips. Even at 36, I still like acceleration, and a lot of it. My Corvette is Jet black, which looks good, but it also gets very hot in the sun. If I had to do it over, I'd have gotten a lighter color. Unlike the Stealth and Mustang, the acceleration is extremely smooth. If you work the clutch properly, you will not get that rugged whiplash feel. The seats are a dream. I took a 300 mile trip non-stop, and I felt like I had been sitting on a nice recliner the whole time, when I got there. Very comfortable ride. The stereo, is the best stocked sound, I've ever heard. Only thing I added was a JL audio 350 watt amp, and the sound is very crisp, loud, and has plenty of boom boom, even without a sub.

For those into the speed thing, I would like to add a few comparisons with the Vette. You will eat up any of those pocket rocket wanna-bes Japanese cars. In fact the only import under $35,000, that comes close to keeping up is the Nissan 300ZX Turbo. The lighter Vette, will still take the Z anytime, and easily. I have read the closest thing to compare with is a Porsche 911 Turbo, giving the Corvette the edge. A standard Dodge Viper is only slightly faster, and that's saying a lot. Going hard into 4th and 5th gear, produces a awesome deep growl to kill for. The only repairs, I've had to do was fix the window motor, which wasn't cheap. The Corvette is not the quietest car on the road by far, but very comfortable. For those who want the best of both worlds, (power and comfort) can't go wrong with this car. The next time that smirking guy pulls beside you in his GT, just rocket yourself through the 1st three gears, then back off. He'll get the picture!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2005

2003 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 5.7 V8 from North America


The Z06 is will run with 911 Turbos any day of the week


My only complaint to date with the Z06 is that the rear truck lid can occasionally not open enough when using the key fob open function.

General Comments:

The ZO6 offers simply outstanding performance, and has been a real thrill to drive daily. The thing really eats up the road, yet is comfortable enough to be a daily driver.

Handling is simply awesome, with great predictability, razor sharp steering, and excellent road feel.

The cabin is a bit loud at times, like a real sports car should be. The exhaust note is very muscular, and sounds great at full acceleration as well as in between gearshifts.

Ergonomics are generally good, although some of the interior bits are a bit dated in appearance.

The HUD feature is a must-have, and once you have driven with it, you will not be able to live without. It is great for keeping your eyes on the road, where they should be. Interior lights can be dimmed completely at night, leaving just the HUD for guidance - a great feature.

The Z06 surely gets it's share of looks also - it is a classic design, and looks great from almost any angle. My only suggestion would be to lower it to help the muscular appearance and reduce the wheel gap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2004