2004 Chevrolet Impala Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2004 Chevrolet Impala 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

Overall, a good value for the money

Faults:

Temperature switch lights failed in dash.

General Comments:

The Impala is a well designed and executed car in general. Interior space and comfort, and trunk space are the minimum that I can personally live with, but probably better than most in it's class.

Engine performance is excellent considering the average fuel consumption of 27.5 mpg. Transmission responsiveness is distinctly inferior to similar cars by Ford, of my acquaintance. Electronically limited top speed of 105 mph is unsurprising, but disappointing as it feels as if it has another five to seven mph in it.

Handling is excellent. However the front suspension needs another inch of travel and ten percent more compression damping, as it bottoms frequently and easily. The only serious negative in this department is a notable inability to accelerate from a stop on crowned snow covered roads without sliding into the curb or ditch.

Braking is impressive, even without anti-lock, though the rotors seem to warp easily.

Now the bad stuff. The car is rotten to the gills with all manner of electronic froo froo and gadgetry which runs the gamut from asinine to annoying to occasionally dangerous. Every electrical system in the car is under the control of the computer, and whoever programmed that thing is some sort of neurotic nerd who should probably be working at a drive-thru instead of designing cars. Recently while hiking in the mountains I met a young man from Detroit who had worked as a designer for GM. I asked him point blank if he was responsible for this situation. He replied in the negative, however the look on his face when I asked the question spoke volumes.

If GM can get away from such silliness and build cars that people like me can really appreciate they may survive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2007

13th Jan 2008, 15:04

What types of electrical issues? I've seen none in my 3+ years / 50,000 neglected miles.

7th Nov 2008, 12:34

I bought my '04 Impala in July of '08. It's been a great car, no complaints at all. It gets great gas mileage and handles reasonably well for the type of car that it is.

2004 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Is a safe, reliable and powerful car.

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car runs great and has a comfortable.

Is elegant and able to handle daily short and long trips as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2007

2004 Chevrolet Impala Base 3.4 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance47315 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A very good family car for the money

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The interior of this car is much roomier and comfortable than that of my old Mazda 626.

The 3.4 Liter V-6 in the base model actually provides more than adequate power, and the transmission shifts smoothly.

This Chevy Impala has a much softer ride than the Mazda which had a very harsh ride over bumpy roads, although the Impala has worse body roll than the Mazda.

This car makes for a decent family car with plenty of luggage space in the trunk.

From a standstill to full throttle this Chevy has very brisk acceleration with the engine making a lively growling sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2006

2004 Chevrolet Impala Base 3.4 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Chevy Impala, a Win-Win Situation

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I purchased this car to replace my "gas-hog" Ford Expedition. I knew I would be giving up size, comfort and no doubt security as my expedition felt like a "Sherman Tank."

I absolutely needed a "Full Size Vehicle."

One competitor was the Ford 500 which I feel hasn't been around long enough to establish a good history. Another competitor was a handful of Chrysler full size cars.

Chevy Impala was the best choice I've made in a car so far. Compared to the Ford 500 it has a long successful history with a better than average amount of fans.

Compared to Chrysler the Chevy Impala's gas mileage is more-than-wonderful also with a sporty and stylish Chrysler-like-appearance. I mean c'mon we all know that Chrysler has the best looking cars on the road.

I am ultimately pleased with Chevy Impala's comfort, drive-ability, handling, quickness, speed, gas mileage, exterior and interior looks. Also Chevy has gone above and beyond with the amenities considering it's a base model.

The only thing I would change is the low-riding experience. Like one review stated I definitely hear the scraping sound when I pull upon an incline. I did go look underneath to see that it was a plastic piece under the front, kind of like a warning signal. The car has sustained no damage from this.

Final Statement: This car is a great value! Low price points and high-quality that has sustained many years of production and an ever-increasing amount of consumers.

I hope this helps in making a decision or dispelling any potential buyer-remorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2006

22nd Jan 2009, 19:48

Hello,

Thanks for the review. I am seriously considering getting an Impala as my first car because of its' safety and how cheap it is to insure compared to other (especially Japanese) cars. I am a poor college student and would really hate to have a car break down on me (often). Is this a car worth getting for me? I will be using it to commute to school and maybe getting around the city. Any tips or advice are welcome. Thanks very much!

Mark

24th Jan 2009, 07:06

Mark, definitely go with an Impala. My brother has owned 3 over the past 19 years and none has ever had a single problem. His 2004 got 33 mpg on the highway, which is better than many compacts.

I'd strongly advise avoiding imports. We've had 3 and all were total disasters. Honda was the worst and never made 100,000 miles. The Toyota was better, but nowhere near as reliable or inexpensive to maintain as our Fords and Chevys.

The Ford Fusion is also a really good car, and the old Crown Vics are solid as a rock if you don't mind getting 15mpg.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 25 reviews