2004 Chevrolet Impala Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2004 Chevrolet Impala Base 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Practical

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with this car since I bought it.

General Comments:

This car is big, roomy, comfortable, fast when you need it to be, and very economical for a four door sedan. The pick up is not as well as I would expect a V6 to put out, but overall it's a great deal for your money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2005

2004 Chevrolet Impala Sedan Model 3.4L SFI from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L SFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 kilometres
Most recent distance38000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

I love this car and will continue to buy this model for years to come

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

This vehicle is the best I've ever owned.

Great performance and much attention on the roads.

Both interior and exterior present a family yet sporty look.

I'm glad to have a car that does not need to be repaired monthly and I'll never buy a Chrysler again.

An added bonus is being invisable to cops. Since I bought it whenever I pass buy a cop they raise their hats thinking I'm one of them. Sweet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

26th Sep 2005, 22:15

Hey, don't put down Chrysler because of a single model. You probably got one of those Intrepids that had a 2.7L engine.

Sorry, I hate it when people say "I'll never buy from this company again" because of a single car. IMO, that's bad logic...

3rd Oct 2005, 16:46

'92 Jeep Cherokee just didn't have an air conditioner after I had it for three years. tired of spending the money to get it fixed. rolled the windows down for a week before I traded it.

'98 Dodge ram V-8 got a new rear end at 30K miles. because the original one just mysteriously went out. interior was constantly falling apart.

2000 300M rarely played CD's after 50k, and the passenger side window would roll down, and then not come back up around 60K.

Now, my Crossfire has been back to the dealer AT LEAST every other month with too many problems to list.

I'm thinking about an Impala for my daughter.

And... I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER AGAIN.

2004 Chevrolet Impala Base 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired179 miles
Most recent distance5243 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A nice traditional full sized sedan

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This car was a replacement for my lemon 2004 Malibu. To date, I have had no problems with this car, granted the miles are low as I only drive it on the weekends and long trips.

It is a smooth riding car, well isolated from the outside world, a quality that I like.

The base engine gives more than adequate acceleration for around town driving and highway merging and passing.

The brakes are very effective on this car, providing smooth, consistent stops each time. The only downfall is the car nosedives on hard braking.

The air conditioning could be a little more effective here in South Florida. It does not compare at all to the wonderful A/C in my 94 Tempo.

It does have 9 fan settings and driver/passenger temperature controls, which is a plus.

All controls are very well placed, though the turn signal control stalk is a bit busy with both the wiper controls and the cruise control on/off switch. The other controls for the cruise are located on the steering wheel itself, sort of an odd arrangement. The headlight switch is the pull switch type. However, it is not needed as the headlamps come on automatically at night.

The interior is very comfortable. This car has the very rare "Regal Blue" interior. Most cars these days have either gray or tan, so the blue was a refreshing change and looks sharp with the Silver exterior. The seats are the 60/40 full bench arrangement, with the gear selector on the steering wheel, where it belongs:)

The optional 200 watt CD player is nice, though better midrange control would be a welcome addition.

Gas mileage around town leaves much to be desired, right around 20MPG. I have measured as high as 33 MPG on the highway with the cruise control set on 77.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this car. To me, it is a throwback to the strong, comfortable cars GM built in the late 70s/early 80s.

Most people consider the Impala an old folks car. but I have always loved large American cars. I am in my 30's and I hate the fact the the full size American car is fast becoming a thing of the past.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2005

14th Jul 2005, 03:04

Yes, I definitely have to agree with you on the fact that the Auto Makers are downsizing our big cars. I loved those big steel boats from the 1980's and down. I was driving through a gas station parking lot yesterday in my 98 Lumina, and I noticed a little old lady filling up a 1980's Caprice or possibly Impala coupe, and the car looked great. Even though that model wasn't as large as some of the 1960's and 1970's cars, it was close. It made my Lumina (which I refer to as large) look rather small and whimpy! My favorite "big boats" from the past days were the coupes. I think they looked great!

The Impala and Lumina today are Chevrolet's biggest cars I guess. What a shame! My mother owns an '04 Impala and it's nice, all except for the poor, shoddy, cheap interior plastics and other cons. I was driving her new Impala and I lost my brakes and almost had an accident. Also, the steering is poor.

What ever happened to those big boats from the past! Wish they still made em'.

17th Jul 2005, 19:14

I really agree with your comment that the gearshift belongs on the steering column. It makes the front seat area seem roomier and frankly looks better n my opinion. Many of these plastic center consoles with gear shifts, cup holders, coin holders, armrests, and everything else they can fit look really terrible and definitely make the car seem smaller.

26th Jul 2005, 19:43

I don't care for the gear-shift in the column. A console shift is a lot more sporty.

8th Oct 2005, 22:45

I feel better with a true emergency brake in the console. I lost my brakes in my Ford, and hit someone. If I had the console, I'm sure I could have stopped. By the time I get my left leg up to the pedal type parking brake, it's too late.

10th Feb 2011, 01:15

I LOVE my 2004 Chevy Impala, It handles nice at high speeds. I don't like that the computer stops the engine from going over 112 mph. I love the fuel economy, and I love the power of the 3.4. I am going to upgrade to a 2004 Super Sport Supercharged 3.8, 2004. But this is a very nice ride. I like everything about the Impala, and I think it is cool it starts itself. I bought my car at 50,000 miles, and I am at 110,000 and running strong.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 25 reviews