2017 Chevrolet Impala 1LT 2.5 four cylinder from North America

Summary:

I could live with this vehicle, as long it remained reliable over the long haul

Faults:

This car has a loose interior; over large bumps the whole interior shudders, almost like a single unit; you can hear it banging back and forth against the car metal.

The video display reacts slowly.

There was a bothersome rattle from the driver's side door innards.

General Comments:

Consumer Reports said this car was among the best-riding cars they've tested and among the quietest. I found the latter is true, but IMHO the former is not. This Impala LT (50 series rubber on 18" rims) has a superficially smooth ride over average-quality roads with lumpy/segmented pavement, but sharp bumps crash through with a flimsy shuddering sound (loose interior pieces) in the passenger compartment. The roar from coarse pavement is not well suppressed and resonates in the cabin. The engine is well-muffled (electronic noise cancellation) and can only be heard as leakage from outside through the closed windows. Wind noise is almost totally absent, as well.

The 4-cylinder engine has an amazing amount of power and smoothness; I never wanted for the V6. The handling was poised, with no discernible sway/lean/dive/squat, and the suspension's performance was unflappable on the curvy, wavy stuff. I just wished GM used 60 or 70 series rubber to take the edge off of those sharper bump impacts.

The seating was supportive and comfortable over the long haul, at least for the driver's seat with its power-adjustments and variable lumbar support. Entry and egress for this tall person, were vastly superior to the late model Passat I tried. With the driver's seat elevated as far as it would go, I didn't have to squat much to enter the car. With the driver's seat in its elevated and rearmost position, I could sit in the back seat with at least 3" of space between the driver's seat back and my knees. However, my head bumped into the ceiling unless I ducked or slouched.

The driver's outward visibility was strictly average, the rear-view camera display is an essential tool to avoid a collision with another parked car, as the mirrors have a limited field of view.

In summary, I admired the neutral drivability and serenity of this vastly improved Impala, I consider it the best performing value among its peers (Chrysler 300, VW Passat, Toyota Avalon) and could recommend it with comparatively minor reservations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2019

18th Mar 2019, 21:45

You've only put 52 miles on it?

No wonder it's so reliable...

19th Mar 2019, 18:12

I actually spend more time waxing my cars for car shows than ever fueling them up annually. Quite a few others I know do as well. No issues either.

24th Mar 2019, 04:03

Nice review.

The basic Impala chassis is a polished product. It drives well.

And the base 4 cylinder engine seems to provide decent acceleration.

As you say, hopefully it remains reliable.

24th Mar 2019, 18:06

The 4-cylinder engine has "an amazing amount of power" yet the reviewer gives performance a 5/10 rating, go figure.

31st Mar 2019, 03:47

This car runs an 85 MPH 1/4 mile. 1/4 mile terminal speed is a good indicator of horsepower at the wheels. While that time is very average these days, there was a time where only the hottest vehicles could turn those times.

I'm talking about the Mid/Late 70s. Examples -

- At the low end -

-- 1975 Ford Granada (250 I-6) = 62 MPH

-- 1975 Buick Century (231 V-6) = 62 MPH

- At the high end -

-- 1977 Pontiac Trans-Am (400 V-8) = 82 MPH

-- 1977 Dodge Monaco Police Pursuit (440 V-8) = 88 MPH.

These days, most vehicles run the 1/4 with a terminal speed of greater than 80 MPH. Mid-80s ain't bad for a entry-level family sedan - especially when you see where we came from ;)

2017 Chevrolet Impala LT 3.6 from North America

Summary:

The Impala reborn for greatness!

Faults:

Check engine light came on and the purge valve solenoid was bad. It was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

I was in the market for a newer car, so after a couple of weeks of searching, I had my eyes set on the Impala for a few main reasons: price, cool styling, large size, and value for what you get out of this car.

I'm not easily impressed by things, and honestly, I've been wary about GM cars for a long time, but in the last few years, they have seriously upped their game and this Impala is proof of it.

I purchased this car lightly used, with low miles, so the car is pretty much new.

One major plus about the car is the massive interior and interior quality; sure the interior has plastic, but the plastic is very sturdy to touch, and not flimsy like other cars in this class. The car feels upscale, and more like a BMW than a Chevy. The stitching on the dash and door panels with aluminum inserts are a nice touch compared to the majority of midsize cars in the lineup. I drive for Uber and Lyft, and many riders have complimented the car on numerous occasions saying things like "Wow, I had no idea this was an Impala, it looks and feels much nicer than I expected".

Also the seats are nice, a little too firm at times, but they have great thigh support which is a plus for tall drivers and passengers.

So in a sense, the Impala of this generation is borderline luxury, it's nothing like the Impalas of the past whatsoever, this is an entirely new platform that was designed in Germany, the Epilsion II which is shared with the Caddy XTS and Buick Lacross. I have the LT model which comes with the 8 inch touch screen and Apple Carplay, Android Auto, and other nice features.

The car feels weighty and solid to drive; you don't get that tin can feel as the ride quality benefits from it.

Although I have 18-inch wheels on it, and the tires are only a 50 series, the car rides very good for the most part, and the car is also very very quiet to drive, with absolutely no squeaks or rattles.

Living in CA, in San Diego County we have extremely bad roads and freeways that are in horrible crumbling conditions, so ride quality is important to me. Out of all the cars I test drove in the mid-size car segment, the Impala had the most stable, quiet, comfortable ride for the price. The Impala drives nicely for the most part, but on the really rough and coarse pavement, the ride does get a little choppy and rough. I mean I don't know what else could ride smoother unless someone steps up to like an E-class Benz or Chrysler 300.

One issue that I have with the majority of FWD cars, is the lack of wheel travel and front strut suspension. This type of suspension doesn't allow for much wheel movement like a short arm, long arm suspension you see on RWD vehicles, so the ride quality is bouncy and jarring on bad streets.

Overall the car is awesome, it has great power from the 3.6 V6 engine, the car doesn't have that jackrabbit punch when you hit the pedal, the power is more seamless and smooth like a premium car should be. One problem that I don't like is that sometimes the transmission can be funky, it has a slight delay and lag when it upshifts, it's a little slow to respond, but other than that, the powertrain is amazingly smooth and silent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2017

23rd Aug 2017, 22:10

Almost anything is nicer than a 90s GM interior, so I suppose I can see this feeling nice next to a Fleetwood. Otherwise, it's hard to call it anything more than average.

24th Aug 2017, 16:22

True, but nothing rides as smooth and steady like the Fleetwood. Certain GM interiors were pretty bad in the 90s, but I really miss the sheeny thickly padded vinyl on some of them like the early to mid 90s Toyota Camrys, which were nice and sturdy. Now days, most car interiors are matted and lack any sheen whatsoever. The sheen added a richness and luster that newer cars can't match. Some of the plastics are actually worse in quality in a car built in the last several years compared to 90s imports; the door panel plastics are one area for example.

24th Aug 2017, 16:33

The Impala is much more than just being "average". This car has a lot of value going for it; I believe the impala is heavily under priced and under valued in the mid-size car market. You get a lot of car for your money with tech features that surpass most brands.

These are great cars. The previous gen Impala was a joke; you can tell GM really put a ton of effort into this gen for sure. It's a night and day difference. Just like the 17 Malibu, which is another awesome car.