1990 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 V6 from North America


Decent first car for a high-school student. Not a family car


When I first bought the car, I changed and flushed all the fluids, 4 new tires, new wiper blades, Ball joint and a tune. It was OK.

Engine knocking was bad from the get go as I am the second owner of the car. It's old.

Electrical just went and I Have no speedometer or interior lights. Very Frustrating.

Radio doesn't work that well and cassette player doesn't work at all.

Transmission is squealing like mad and the power steering doesn't work very well in cold weather.

General Comments:

Very comfortable on the highway... nearly the only reason I would keep it.

Fuel economy is very poor.

Power is decent and almost fair at times.

The Wife feels quite unsafe in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

1990 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America


There's nothing better than a Lumina!!


Replaced Fuel Pump at 105 000 kilometers.

Driver's side door handle broke.

Replaced Struts at 124 000 Kilometers.

General Comments:

This car is the most reliable vehicle that I have ever drove.

It is also one of the most exhilarating cars that I have drove.

My 1990 Chevrolet Lumina has encountered some serious acceleration, but she handles accordingly.

She's a very comfortable ride and I love this car with all my heart!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2005

2nd Oct 2005, 20:26

Luminas are awesome. I have a 97 and it's truly underestimated!

13th Dec 2005, 23:55

Underestimated because GM made the body so ugly. Look what they did to 2006 Impala. Othervise, it is a reliable car.

22nd Mar 2007, 20:08

I have a 92 Lumina coupe. Its just a base model, but it has every available option on it. The V6 strong and gets very good gas mileage(26 high way)the 3 speed tranny is responsive an down shifts at all the right times when you need to pass some body. The brakes are very good (after you replace them). The car handles very well even though it only has 14 inch tires on it. I was very surprised to find that these cars have very little body role in turns even when you push the car the body does not lean that much. The ABS system works very well I have put it to the test a couple of times in wet weather. The Cruise control and A/C work fine. This car is the best $700 dollars that I have ever spent. It is relable and VERY cheap to fix and it also very easy to work on. The only thing that I have to fix is the passenger side power window switch you have to push it hard to get the window to go down. I guess I will have to take out the switch and try to clean up the contacts.

1990 Chevrolet Lumina EURO 3.1 from North America


Awesome Little Car


Driver side window falls off the track (and GM can't find the part to fix it).

Tranny Leaked from the side and bottom gaskets.

Struts have went out twice-once because my dad drove it into a ditch, and messed the front end up.

Oil leaked, it was leaking from a known problem.

Does not hold value very long.

General Comments:

Good acceleration, I've taken a Chrysler Concord with my car.

I love my car, and plan on driving it for another 100,000 miles.

Great Stock sound, lots of Bass.

I would recomend this car to anyone looking for a dependable car, or a first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

8th Jul 2004, 09:15

What is a known problem with the oil leak? I know one guy was changing an oil pan gasket, but it was still leaking. I have a Euro too and it leaks oil and transmission fluid.

19th Dec 2004, 22:48

It leaks from the old distributer cover, it's a silver cover under the throttle body. It's a long deep cap. It must be carefully pulled up, and high temp silcone must be put under it, then placed firmly back into place.

13th Dec 2005, 23:52

He is talking about oil shaft. I had a Lumina before and once it got cold, it was losing half of a quart a week. There is an oil ring on 3.1 engine that have to be changed. It cost less than a $1, but the labor is close to a $100, because you have to move coolant lines, throttle body, fuel lines to get to the place. Silicone was put on the cap that covers the oil shaft. After that was done I was not loosing a drip of oil.

I loved that car, but one day the timing chain started to skip gears and that was an end of my car. The problems with Luminas that it dies without any warning sign, but it is a dependable vehicle.