1999 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Chevrolet Lumina Std. 3.1 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

Buyer beware

Faults:

Manifold gasket failure within 2 weeks of buying car at only 47,000 miles on 3.1 engine.

General Comments:

GM knows full well that this is a chronic problem with these engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

5th Nov 2004, 11:35

There is no problem with the engine, it is all how you drive it. We have one with 136000 miles in it and we have had no problems, It is all original.

16th Oct 2006, 12:49

Bad Gasket! No donut!

Mine went out at 52000 miles, and cost 550 to fix.

16th May 2007, 20:55

Guys, I have a 99 Monte Carlo, which is practically no different than the lumina. I have the 3.1 L V6 automatic, and it has almost 167000 miles on it. The only problems it has had that I know of, was the alternator going bad, That's IT. NO major problems, and not every vehicle has the same problems, just because your car is a POS and blows a head gasket, or has issues like that happening, don't mean they will happen to other people. I know you might be warning them, but still, not every vehicle will have problems. My car was driven over 50000 miles in 9 months, still runs great. I love this car, and I know the lumina is not different.

3rd Jan 2010, 00:26

GM switched over to their fancy DexCool antifreeze that ate the stock gaskets. They could never afford a recall because the problem is in 30 different cars in all their brands (the 3.1 and 3.8 engines)...just imagine fixing 20 million cars at $500 a pop.

1999 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

The car is a very nice family/work sedan - Too bad GM does not back this up with service

Faults:

Have replaced Water Pump at 115,000KMS and am now looking at options to replace NOTORIOUS Intake Manifold Gasket and this motor now has Lifter problems too!!

General Comments:

After owning a 1990 Lumina with little trouble, I thought I would step up to something newer and bought a gently used 1999. After I purchased it, I found out about the notorious Intake Manifold Gasket problem with this engine. I have had this car for a little more than 1 year and put high KMS on it with my job - I change the oil every 5,000KMS and never drive it more than 120KMS/HR. I am not hard on my vehicles and have always taken very good care of them. It really disappoints me that a problem that was so well known and documented by GM, wasn't voluntarily fixed past the standard 60,000KM warranty. I contacted my local GM dealer when the car had 65,000KMS on it and was told I was "on my own". I can't believe that this car has lifter problems already - probably as a result of the bad Intake Gasket?? I have always owned GM products with pretty good success, but after this ordeal - I can see that GM really doesn't care about me at all and I will definitely rethink my next vehicle purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

15th Mar 2005, 06:25

I agree with the Oil leak problem as mine does have that along with the singing lifters. I have also put 17 sets of lifetime brakes pads on my car... this is not a good thing and not backed by GM as I was told it was my driving.. amazing how I have never done this with any other vehicle I have ever owned in my 30+ years of owning vehicles... Other than these two items the car has been very good.. with the exception of it's swaying now at 111,000 miles and I haven't figured out that problem yet.

8th Jun 2009, 22:29

It's not the lifters making the noise, it's the pistons. My '98 does it too, as did 2 '97 Lumina's and 1 '01 Chevy Malibu we checked out at various used car lots. Go to www.pistonslap.com. It's a widespread factory defect on late-model General Motors vehicles.

1999 Chevrolet Lumina V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60500 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

This is an inexpensive, roomy car that is not holding up well for the long haul

Faults:

Most recently, the service engine soon light comes on about a block away from the mechanic's garage. And so I return for more work. This time, they worked on a fuel injector and replaced a leaking gasket on the intake manifold.

Last time, two weeks ago, when having an oil change, I mentioned the above-mentioned light was on. The computer did not show what was wrong. I ended up getting new front brakes, though, which were needed.

They also changed the transmission oil, and then a plastic part on the cooler line broke suddenly a day later. Needless to say, transmission fluid gushed out like blood from an artery. The mechanic saw the lake of fluid under the car when he came in the following morning and found it back for more. Fortunately, he is very honest and fixed it and cleaned the goop off the engine and belts.

This car leaks constantly. There are various drips and stains on the driveway floor at all times.

It is starting to demand more oil, MORE OIL. I put in a quart or two between the usual 3,000 mile or three-month changes.

General Comments:

I like the size of the interior. My teenage kids and their tall friends can fit into it with little problem. The trunk space is strange, though, because the hinge arms come down crushing things and taking up space when the trunk is closed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews